We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, helpful staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flowering House Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,406 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This place is in excellent location. From Forbidden city, it is within a walking distance. People are super nice. Everybody speaks English. They go out of their way to help guests. One thing you have to keep in mind is you have to reach this place before it gets too dark. Otherwise it might be difficult to find it, afterall Its China.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Flowering House Courtyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 105 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed in this courtyard hotel for two weeks end of October 2013. A lovely quiet place with friendly and helpful staff. My warm bedroom with a comfortable bed looked onto the flowering courtyard, hence its name. It's not far from the metro station while being down an authentic hutong with a lively market every day. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A somewhat pricey room, given the quality, but a good location, nice courtyard, friendly staff and not too touristy a location.

Breakfast was limited and only available until 10. The shower in the room didn't drain (double room, en suite bathroom), which was a shame because it was actually a nice bathroom. The room itself was pretty dark.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, but that's mostly because Beijing has so many other options.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I recently stayed here for 4 nights. This 'boutique hotel', in the hutong area of Beijing, gives guests the opportunity to stay in what was once an original typical Beijing house.. All the rooms are off a central courtyard and the one that I stayed in actually had a 'da-kang' - a huge bed with a mattress set into a stone base! The staff were great - very helpful and with time to chat.
One point: the hutongs are not really designed for vehicles and the address was difficult to find. Therefore, to avoid paying an inflated taxi fare, it's best to flag down a pedi-cab (a bike pulling a rickshaw) and let a local take you there.
The area is very safe, gives you a great chance to live as a 'local' and is very convenient for restaurants and the wonderful 'subway system' (ie the metro/underground).

Room Tip: Ask for the one with a 'da-kang'
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy-harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hutong is in a great location, it is within walking distance to the Forbidden city, Tianamen Sq and my favorite place NanLuoGuXiang Alley. NanLuoGuXiang Alley is a cool place for food and drink in the evenings with live music and all sorts going on.
I will say at the hutong the rooms were a bit small but I expected this already, you should be aware it is far from luxury but is clean and beautiful in its own way
The girls at reception are really good fun tho and are willing to help with anything you might need.

I would say however that if you are going to book any trips the hotel is really expensive, if you go to Forbidden City or Tianamen Sq you will be offered much better deals.

All in all it was the perfect place to stay for us and definitely recommend it!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANNYBOI83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel had a great location for accessing many different parts of Beijing. The surrounding hutongs are teeming with life, and you get a great taste of day to day living by simply walking around the area. It's a short walk to Nanluoguxiang hutong, and just a bit further to the Houhai area with several lakes and lots of bars and restaurants. There is a subway station within a 5 minute walk. The wifi worked well the whole time. The staff was friendly, and everyone spoke English well.

My room was charming but small, though I didn't need it for anything other than sleeping really. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but I didn't think this was such a bad thing. If you want a fancy room when you travel, then this isn't the place for you. If you're more focused on the location and activities available when you leave your room, then this place is great. I found the neighborhood much more charming compared to staying in a hotel closer to the Forbidden City, which I did for a couple nights after staying at Flowering House.

I bought a bicycle on the street after I arrived, and I think this is the best way to see the city. From the hotel, I rode to Tiananmen, the Forbidden City, Houhai, and even the Olympic Park. The courtyard itself was charming, and I spent several evenings drinking beer and relaxing at the tables outside.

Room Tip: My friend had the "comfort room" which was right next to my standard room, and his room wa...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I arrived there on Friday evening and I left on Sunday at 5pm. I stated in a single room by myself without a private bathroom.

In general: This place is nice and cozy. It is exactly what you expected from a hostel. People here are super nice, they speak English and they go above and beyond their way to make sure you are well accommodated. They will answer all your questions and even though I checked out at 9am on Sunday morning, they agreed to keep my luggage until 5pm, when I was ready to leave town. I checked my bag and everything was there, nothing was missing! While I was at the hostel I left my laptop, charger, etc inside my room and again nothing was missing!

About the location:
The first time that you are trying to find this place is kind a difficult. The hostel is located in between an alley and a street. If you booked this place, for the first time, please make sure you get there before it gets dark , otherwise you will struggle to find it. Also, at nighttime the alley looks a bit sketchy. However, once you are familiar with the location, this place is perfect! It is right on the middle of everything, and there are cool restaurants and bars around it. Once you arrived to the Beijing airport it will take you at least 1hr and 10min to get to this location (it is far from the airport). If you are planning on taking the subway make sure you arrived to the airport before 9pm, since the subway station runs until 11pm (you can take the airport express subway $25 yuan, plus $2 for the regular subway before 11pm). If you can’t make it to the subway before 11pm, you will need to get a taxi to this location and it will be over $100 yuan (make sure you get an estimate from the taxi driver BEFORE getting into the taxi, since some of the taxi drivers can be dishonest even when they are using a taxi-meter).

Finally:
My last tip, before you used the bathroom make sure that it has toilet paper (it runs out quite often). But if you go to the office and they ask them for more, they are more than happy to provide you with some.

Also they have a small refrigerator (and tiny kitchen area) where you can store your leftovers.

If you stay at this hostel, and want a cool place to hangout, you can visit a local coffee – bar around the corner called “Beetle in a Box”, nice, cool and very affordable for a beer or coffee.

I wish:
That they had provided with towels (I didn’t ask for them either so I am not sure If they had them at the office).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#141 of 6,531 in Beijing
175 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,630 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,930 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flowering House Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flowering House Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.23 Huageng Hutong, Jiao Dao Kou, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,406 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $27 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flowering House Courtyard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 5-minute walk to subway,a 15-minute walk from Nan Luo Gu Xiang, the charming Flowering House Hostel features beautifully designed rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TV. The hostel has a reading corner and provides car rental and laundry services. Hostel Flowering House is a 15-minute walk from Yong Ong He Gong Lama Temple. It is approximately 25-minute drive from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. Beijing International Airport is a 30-minute drive away. Flowering House’s air-conditioned rooms feature traditional Chinese décor. An electric kettle, a hairdryer and a work desk are available. The hotel’s 24-hour front desk provides luggage storage, while a tour desk arranges for sightseeing tours. A snack bar is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Flowering House Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing