We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flowering House Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,391 Beijing B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, good staff.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is located in one of Beijing's Hutongs, and pleasantly enough not one that has been made touristy, but is actually still a place where people live. There is a metro station not far away, and many restaurants in the area (the meat pancake place around the corner is great, the staff will recommend if you ask them). The rooms are designed well, and comfortable. The bathroom is a wet room with a western toilet and quite small, but this is more or less the norm in the Hutongs. The staff have quite good English and always try hard to please. The rooms are clean, and there is a small seating area in the courtyard. Decent place, worth a stay if you want to sleep in old style Beijing accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhMWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    28
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
13
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here based on a friends recommendatory and were pleasantly surprised. The hostel itself has a pretty laid back atmosphere with an open courtyard for lounging around, and wireless access for planning trips around Beijing. Aside from the hotel itself, the location was great. Touristy Beijing gets old pretty quick, so it was refreshing to stay in a more or less normal neighbourhood. In addition, a 10 minute walk brought us to an entire street with most any kind of food you could ever want, and at great prices (beer & lamb chuan'r for 1 kuai each. Hard to find that these days).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This wasn't a pleasant experience at all and here is the account of it.
I am not rating the place ( which looks nice btw) as we didn't have the pleasure of staying, I am only rating the management of it.
We are a family of 4, travelling with 2 small children of 5 and 3 yrs old. We booked a family room there 10 days before arriving and received a booking reservation. Having problems downloading the pdf sheet with our crédit card details, we gave the details by email, and again received confirmation that a room was kept for us. So we turned up at 23:30 on the date ( after a long 8 hours trip) and found out that no room was kept for us. As the form was not sent, they cancelled our booking without telling us!! Not a word.
Once there, they suggested waiting till 03:00am because a room would free up ( remember we have 2 exhausted kids?!?), apologised To us but no real effort were made to find a reasonnable solution.
We found another place ( thanks To internet and GPS), but no taxi would take us there as it was only 700m away, So we found ourselves at 01:00am on foot with 2 backpacks and 2 sleeping kids on the street of unknown Beijing.
Needless to say, it isn't a great experience and it cast big doubts on how the place is managed. Definitely a lack of communication (the basic respect/professionalism would have been let us know the room hasn't been kept).
I hope this review will help them not to make that mistake again. Also, if you intend to stay there, make sure you have fill the pdf form and faxed it ( the same info not on the form is invalid or So it seems), and if you arrive late, have a backup plan. That is my advice

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonCai, Owner at Flowering House Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Nelson,
I am Flowering House Hostel's owner.

However, what happened in that day bring you a terrible experience, I must say "I am really sorry for your family".

I can understand what your feeling is as your shoes. In deep night, you and your family took tired body to arrive in hostel, but no room is available for you. Even though our staff did all what we can do, for example book other hostel, wait for free up room and so on, but you were still both unacceptable and wrathful.

As owner, I am willing to bear this responsibility for the accident. If I can do something to make you forget the terrible experience, I would like to do it.

In fact, you really send invalid credit card information by mail, so that we cannot get your credit card AUTH, so that we cannot keep room for you until you check in according to our sale policy. We have indicated before the reservation, that your reservation is successfully accepted by our mail confirming, after we get your Credit Card Authorization. You should know it.

Although the staff sent a warning mail before 7 days, but you cannot give us any feedback. You only saw “I’ll keep room for you.”, but you never pay attention to “But I'm afraid we really need your authorization. So could you please just try again?”

Of course, I am sure that our staff passed both incorrect and unclear information so as to get a wrong understand. I think it is reason for the accident.

But all in all, It is our responsibility, that we should server our guest and make them happy, that we should provide good service to make guest enjoy a good experience.

By the way, I want to say,If you are willing to stay our hostel again, We can provide one free night in the future as compensation.

I am really sorry again. Please forget the terrible experience.

Everyone all make mistakes. Once make a mistake always bad management???



Best regards,
Yours Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights in February. I booked with this hostel because I wanted to show him 'Hutong' and courtyard, the traditional living environment of local people in Beijing. Not sure how much he's taken from it though, he he.

Overall we had a great time in Beijing and had a nice stay here. Reception/common area is decorated very Chinese with Beijing tourism info on the wall. Two mega cute kitty cats are living here too :) The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. The kitchen is quite small but I can see it's not used much by the guests probably because there are plenty cheap and yummy eateries out there! It was a bit too cold to sit in the garden in Feb, but in the summer it will be a great place to have a drink and chiilax, spacious too,

Our room was a cozy double facing the garden and reception room. It was a nice room with tea set, hair dryer, telly, tower and everything. We even had an extra heater, so the room heated up quickly. The only downside was that the en suit toilet/wet room was almost leveled with the room floor, so our room got a bit flooded every time we had a shower. It shouldn't be a big problem in summer though, as the shower will be much quicker..

Location was one of the best among all the Hutong hostels I looked into. Relatively easy to find, close to tube stop and a few attractions like Lama Temple and the famous Gui Jie - best place to eat in Beijing if you are a foodie like me ;)

Value wise, we paid about £40 per night for both of us, double en suit, cheap for western standard, not so cheap for Chinese standard even for 'off-season' price, but considering the room, the location and all the conveniences it brings, good value for money.

Room Tip: Apparently the cheaper double/twin rooms are in another shabby courtyard. I'd recommend paying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skywatcher320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Flowering House staffs are very friendly and welcoming. They tried their best to provide local information if you asked. Overall 6 nights stays were good experience at old Beijing house and it just can't compare to normal star class hotel. Especially wanted to thanks to one of the Macau Intern staff's Ah Fung for troubling her to request water, toilet paper and calling cab to airport. If ever come back to Beijing again and this is the best option for traveler. This house is under going some renovation and face lifting during our stayed; the next trip come back the appearance should be more refreshing.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are quiet and if you do not have budget constraints and suggest to go for bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DericKKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Me and my husband stayed here for 4 nights while we were visiting the city. It has some pro's and contra's:

+ really nice staff, who speak English well
+ very close to metro station and some nice restaurants
+ near some of the must see's like Confucius temple
+ nice and typically Beijing neighbourhood
+ it was quite cheap (something like 400 RMB a night)
+ good breakfast (not included)

- really tiny (we did have on of the cheapest rooms), the bathroom was hilariously small, you almost had to stand in the toilet to take a shower.
- a bit dirty
- a lot of cats, who can keep you up all night
- bed wasn't great (although I had worse)

We liked the experience, although it could have been a bit more convenient.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hostel is set up like a traditional Chinese home. It has a garden/courtyard area in the middle with the rooms around it. This is nice to experience, but it makes it a little noisy at night. Also, the floors were quite dirty in the rooms (i stayed in two) and the door in one room didn't seal to the ground, so bugs got in at night. The staff was helpful, but their English was not as good as some others I stayed at. Also, it is kind of far from the main road, which is part of the appeal, but bicycling makes it easier.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,432 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,609 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,439 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flowering House Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flowering House Courtyard Hotel

Property: Flowering House Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.23 Huageng Hutong, Jiao Dao Kou, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,391 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flowering House Courtyard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 5-minute walk to subway,a 15-minute walk from Nan Luo Gu Xiang, the charming Flowering House Hostel features beautifully designed rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TV. The hostel has a reading corner and provides car rental and laundry services. Hostel Flowering House is a 15-minute walk from Yong Ong He Gong Lama Temple. It is approximately 25-minute drive from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. Beijing International Airport is a 30-minute drive away. Flowering House’s air-conditioned rooms feature traditional Chinese décor. An electric kettle, a hairdryer and a work desk are available. The hotel’s 24-hour front desk provides luggage storage, while a tour desk arranges for sightseeing tours. A snack bar is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Flowering House Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing