We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
Ranked #18 of 12,553 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Finding this restaurant is like finding the secret garden! The outside looks pretty drab, and then you walk through to the beautiful courtyard area! I would definitely reccomend booking if you would like to sit in the courtyard. We sat around the courtyard but indoors, which was fine.

The food is a set menu, which is great. There is also a reasonable wine list. The dishes are delicious, and the meal culminates with a beautiful fish dish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
Thank Anitac632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Meanwhile just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am going to that restaurant in last 3 years and atmosphere is declining. Meanwhile the restaurant is very full so it is hard to enjoy the nice atmosphere of the house. Last time I were there all the food were coming so fast that we didn't had time for to much talking. Now there are many others Yunann Restaurants as well so I would recommend to go to other restaurants

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
Thank Sebastian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unbelievably delicious Yunnan regional food. Fixed menu of the tastiest food, just keeps on coming. Make sure you are hungry. We went twice it was so wonderful and the variety of seating makes for a new experience each time. Once in a private room the in a open verandah overlooking the courtyard. On a warm Beijing evening with the fairy light, candles this can't be beaten for a unique experience. Have the Yunnan beer, perfect. I want to go back now.

Visited May 2013
Thank RoccococoSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
192 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Creative menu in a traditional location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my favorite restaurant during a recent stay in Beijing because of their location in a hutong. The food was worth the trip, but be forewarned that several of the dishes that are shown as spicy are, in fact, nuclear! Be sure to order a Dali beer. Also, cab service for the ride back to your hotel is available just a few blocks away.

Visited May 2013
Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great setting and lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The Trippys before warned me that this place was going to be hard to find but the pin point on the map was actually correct! Doesn't happen that often, unfortunately.
The resaurant had a great set menu with of lovely combination of different Yunnan food. Price: just below Y130 for one person. House wine: Y200. The setting in a beautiful hutong courtyard was probably the best, though.
Chinese people often eat quite early, so if you show up at 21.00, there's usually no problem getting a table.

Thank Tomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed


Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing