We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative menu in a traditional location”
Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
Ranked #22 of 12,670 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Houhai
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
210 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Creative menu in a traditional location”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my favorite restaurant during a recent stay in Beijing because of their location in a hutong. The food was worth the trip, but be forewarned that several of the dishes that are shown as spicy are, in fact, nuclear! Be sure to order a Dali beer. Also, cab service for the ride back to your hotel is available just a few blocks away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    105
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great setting and lovely food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The Trippys before warned me that this place was going to be hard to find but the pin point on the map was actually correct! Doesn't happen that often, unfortunately.
The resaurant had a great set menu with of lovely combination of different Yunnan food. Price: just below Y130 for one person. House wine: Y200. The setting in a beautiful hutong courtyard was probably the best, though.
Chinese people often eat quite early, so if you show up at 21.00, there's usually no problem getting a table.

Helpful?
Thank Tomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

There is one menu only. Food is nice, though a little spicy. Atmosphere is nice. Lots of non natives. Unfortunate. Notice: easy to find if ypu use map. Rest OK.

Helpful?
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard but bad service”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food was good but I thought the restaurant suffered from fame. I was not even given any explanations on what kind of set menu options I had and I ended up being charged for a menu, which was pricier than what I was originally told of. The waiters basically throw the food at your table and just say the name of the food in Chinese even without looking at your face. It is an expensive restaurant for China standards and I was not too happy with the overall treatment. The only nice part was to be able to sit in a nice courtyard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BurcuBasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant is a real gem. We are foodies and this place really gets it. Yunnan cuisine done beautifully. The menu is prix fixe. We had seven courses. Mostly vegetarian, but with a whole deep fried fish. It's hard to find but well worth the trouble. It's definitely not fancy, but it's totally charming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed

 

Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing