We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to make decision - fixed manual in a funky courtyard”
Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
Ranked #21 of 12,643 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No need to make decision - fixed manual in a funky courtyard”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Sometime it is nice not to ponder over a maunal with few hundred items. At this place, the only decision is beer vs. wine. The rest just shows up and most taste great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rayski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    103
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Secret Hideaway”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Do note that this restaurant serves cuisine from Yunnan and not Beijing. Went through a dark lane to find this restaurant. No Menu. All the dishes are good - vegetable, prawn, fish. According to my friend, they change some dishes. Not cheap and as mentioned, many non-locals. Toilet - unisex, cleanliness - 2/5 stars. Reservation is a must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gooofygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found the place very easily, the taxi driver dropped us at the end of the lane way and you could see the illuminated sign from there. The food was really good though we where not too sure what some things where. But all very tasty. The service was excellent. Overall a good experience though a little more expensive than some of the local places around our hotel.
We then had the most frightening taxi trip back to the hotel. He drove one handed most of the way, while on his mobile and swerved in and out of the lanes. Had to have a drink when we got backs to calm our nerves.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micheal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden and lovely food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Went here for my last night in Beijing, and since neither of us had any allergies or preferences we just had what the chef decided to cook, and it was lovely!! the food just kept coming, and each dish came with a short explanation. The fried fish and the mushroom dish in particular stood out to me that evening.

For a special night out I'd recommend this place - and yes, it is tucked away down a little alley, but there are some great directions here on tripadvisor, so we had no issues finding it at all.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StineBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice place, many westerns, average food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've been here for the second time in a few years.
It's a chinese restaurant within hutongs with a western touch. Many westerns go there, both for the food quality and location, yard/garden accomodation, etc.
Food is good although not fantastic, depends on what that day the cheff has decided to prepare. Both experiences I had here confirm the food is avera/good.
Recommende as an eperience within hutongs and environment, not necessarily for the quality of meals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudygiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed

 

Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing