We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good I don't want you to come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
Ranked #21 of 12,625 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good I don't want you to come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Fixed price and menu -- you eat what the chef decides to make that day. Multiple course of marvelous food. Try their special drink (just one) and enjoy the semi-open air dining in a traditional hutong. Get detailed directions as the taxi cannot drop you off by the door -- you'll have a short walk down a back alley to reach it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yohduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    102
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you decide to go to this place, make sure you have accurate directions. It is tucked in off the main road down a hutong and was definitely not where google maps told me it was. Getting there was worth the trouble though, as the food was good. The food was a set menu and my friend and I received 7 different things that the kitchen had made. All of the dishes were interesting and uniquely created. I really enjoyed most of them quite a bit and I definitely had enough to eat by the time we were done. Pretty much as soon as we got there they were bringing the food to our table. The only thing is that they did not ask how we wanted our food done. I was under the impression they prepared some of their set dishes to order (spicier, milder, etc...) but I was not asked or told about this at the place. Maybe it was just my fault for not asking... Anyways, this is a great place and I will look to go back the next time I am in Beijing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Keep going back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The atmosphere is totally charming and the food is always great. Service is very good and they are always professiona.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank KarenGrMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For a taste of something local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were here for lunch with our guide and let her order lots of small plates for us to try. The wok fried lemon leaves were like crunchy potato chips with a lot more flavor. The dried tofu noodles and beef had spices and flavors too complex to describe but delicious. Don't worry about the beef logs hanging on the tree in the courtyard. We ate some and it's an ancient way of making something like salami. The Dali beer was also terrific.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've lived in beijing for 4 1/2 years and this week was the first time to Dali Courtyard. Actually twice! A perfect place to bring out of town guests. I found the food to be delicious and the staff very friendly to us each time. Tonight was a massive thunder and lightening storm with flooding rains so it was like one big party with the waiters outisde running around with no shoes, pants rolled up. I look forward to going back often!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smyth-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed

 

Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing