We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hostel and hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
P.LOFT Youth Hostel
Ranked #112 of 979 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was our first hostel in Beijing and it wasn't a great choice. Its near to the underground but its awkward to find down a few alleyways. Look out for signs on the wall. The hostel itself is very basic and the beds are very hard. We had a private room in what looked like an old slaughter house out back (Hostel anyone), and there was a weird perspex window in the ceiling. Very creepy. We had no real problems though and the food was just ok. Wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregmorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 105 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

Dont go there! We arrived at 2o clock at night (it is really hard to find.) And left early morning! Its not worth to pay for this hostel. We were there in Autum and the rooms are very cold and you could not turn the heater on. The room is moisty and has strange smell.

The bar has a creative look but looks kind of dirty. And internet wasnt working twice we tryied.

The staff were nice and even smoke english. But there are a lot of other hostels and same price with huge difference of quality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Um-die-Welt-Bummler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The rooms are really bad, but mostly clean and without cockroaches but the really need to be renewed. But the staff is very nice and the best is the food. If you don´t care so much about nice rooms it´s really nice there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I stayed in this hostel with my parents, so I saw both a private room and a dorm room. The private room was ugly, has a tiny window, a leaky sink, a bathroom with a curtain for a door, no TV, no cups, no towels, had an uncomfortable bed, and had bad insulation. My parents were awoken by the neighbors having sex the first night.
My dorm room was stuffy and uncomfortably hot, had the thinnest mattress I have slept on in over 3 years in China, and had almost no internet signal even though I was on the "network for my wing of the hostel." The bathroom was constantly wet and the hostel did not supply a pair of slippers for each person.
The hostel in general did not have a public kitchen for guests to use. The staff were always milling around, playing on their computers or chatting. No one was ever behind the bar, and often the front desk went unmanned.
I have stayed in hostels in over 10 countries and this was by far the worst I have stayed in. I suggest you stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinateagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Can't be bothered to cab down to Houhai or Gongti to get smashed? There's a bar at the hostel with free pool, an indoor basketball court and cheap beer. Located near the Yonghegong Lama Temple and in the middle of the hutong, expect lots of cheap Chinese food in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burabura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Crok T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#153 of 6,556 in Beijing
105 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ming Courtyard  Hotel
Ming Courtyard Hotel
#23 of 979 in Beijing
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hongdu Shijia Hotel
Hongdu Shijia Hotel
#15 of 979 in Beijing
87 reviews
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#5 of 979 in Beijing
406 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P.LOFT Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P.LOFT Youth Hostel

Address: No.29 Paoju tou tiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 979 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $12 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — P.LOFT Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your P.LOFT Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing