We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #61 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

An interesting place to say the least. You arrive in a busy street (Xisi St South) and then you have no clue where to go to. The hotel is in a Hutong, and you have no clue what a Hutong is. You find out by asking pleople around, who don't speak English by the way, that a Hutong is a narrow alley. Actually, I knew that but the impact was there nonetheless. You go inside this hutong, turn right, turn left and where the heck is the hotel? Someone less brave would not have gone all the way (it is quite safe actually). Then you see a door at the very end of the alley, I mean, Hutong, hoping you are at the right place. You ring the bell. Phew, yes. OK. You enter. Now things change. There is a warm welcome and the inside is quite nice, clean and comfortable, looking Chinese, with a very friendly staff, spearheaded by Mark, who speaks very good English. The atmosphere is of a bed-and-breakfast. The breakfast is continental style, simple but much better than eating noodles for breakfast (as, believe me, happens in many hotels). As some people say, you get a different experience as if you were in a traditional hotel. Now, location is very convinient, and the subway system in Beijing is excellent! Survival tip when you walk around Beijing (and other places): take your own toilte paper.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olecram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Kellys Courtyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here for several nights at the end of April. As the reviews said, approaching the neighbourhood at night gave me some reservations, but it was completely safe and you knew you were immediately absorbed in local culture.

Kelly'd Courtyard is clean, cozy and the staff are incredibly helpful. If you are lucky enough to have Mark there when you arrive, you are in for a treat. Mark welcomed us with open arms and helped me make the best of the trip.

Great location, walking distance to the train, tourist attractions and great local cuisine. If you want an authentic experience with all the comforts of home this is the place to stay!

Definitely recommend to all travellers. An amazing place that I will return to in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreyAnastasio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have spent a whole week at Kelly's Courtyard and wouldn't want to miss it. Bob and the rest of the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful and definitely made our stay in Beijing a pleasure. The few rooms they have at the Courtyard are very cozy and in a quiet area - a perfect sleep is guaranteed. It is located in a hutong and in between two metro stations - just a five minutes walk. On your way there you somehow can get a glimpse on how it must be feeling to live in a hutong.

So why are there just 4 stars instead of those 5? Well, compared to other places that are exceptional too, the pricing of Kelly's is rather high.

If you have the cash - this is definitely the place for you to stay in Beijing!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good and facing to a common "courtyard".
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We loved our stay at Kellys Courtyard, Beijing. Marc and the rest of the staff was really nice and helpful. It was very relaxing to come back to this place in the afternoon or evening after spending the whole day in the busy city of Beijing. We also enjoyed Marc's excellens English. We can really recommend Kellys Courtyard.
Anders Bruce

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from the 15th April 2014.
We were met at the airport by a friendly driver (prearranged via Kelly's), who drove us to the Courtyard. As no cars could get through the narrow hutong, we walked the last few yards, which was not a problem, although it was quite dusty.
From the moment the doors were opened to us, from the moment we said goodbye, we were welcomed warmly by all staff and treated as part of a family. The Courtyard itself was so pretty and decorated in typical Chinese style. We'd arrived early in the morning and were immediately offered a drink and breakfast. John, the owner, introduced himself to us and said a room was ready, although if we'd prefer to wait a while, they would prepare a larger room. We accepted his offer and were finally led to a pretty room tucked away; I think this is the best room as it doesn't directly face the courtyard.(no. 4). The bed was large and wonderfully comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. As said in previous reviews - yes, the shower does make the whole toilet area wet and the water does tend to have a mind of it's own with regard to the temperature, but if you're patient there's always enough hot water for a shower. There is no tea or coffee in the room, but it is available and you are not at a 5* hotel!
The breakfast was simple, fruit, bread, butter, jam, yoghurt and cake, but you could have as much as you wanted, so I cannot understand the reviews that stated there was not enough to eat.
There is a public room upstairs, with soft sofas, magazines, books and a computer (Wi-Fi) was free of charge. This led to a rooftop with comfortable seating, to relax when the weather permitted.
A fridge is amply stocked with wines, beers, soft drinks and water, where guests are invited to help themselves and trusted to write down what they have taken. The wine was extremely reasonable, around £3-£4 a bottle and pleasant too. There were also crisps etc offered.
Mark, the manager, was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. He arranged us a trip to the wall, we could have possibly done it cheaper but it was worth every penny. We had the same driver as had collected us from the airport and were driven in a clean, comfortable car. He ensured we understood where we would find him again after our climb. He actually met us once we'd come down and took us to a non-tourist restaurant for the most amazing dumplings and noodles we'd ever tasted.
Although the Courtyard was in a good location, we did get lost trying to find it on a couple of occasions. We tended to find our own way around the city, but on retrospect I would make more use of the local taxis - Beijing's a very big place!!!
If you want 5* luxury, avoid Kelly's, however if you want to experience the 'real' China, then look no further than this beautiful Courtyard with its beautiful people.
Would we stay at Kelly's Courtyard again? Most definitely! Our thanks to John, Kelly, Mark and staff for making our stay so delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizziesview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

After reading all the reviews I thought it will be great and relaxing place to stay at the end of our journey in China... I was mistaken. The hotel was in a good location, clean and uniquely design but the room was very small,there was a kettle and cups but no tea or coffee...this may seem as a small thing but we were expecting bit more for that price. Breakfast was average to poor (with mouldy bread being one example). The manager (when we were staying there) was very, very enthusiastic, however this quickly became annoying and uncomfortable. Our request for information regarding sights and trips was helpful but the manager could only give you information about things he had personally done and had little knowledge of other options. His price for the great wall trip was wildly overpriced and it soon became clear we could sort these things ourselves (we bought a great value trip to the great wall for a tenth of his price from Downtown Backpackers hostel).
We have stayed in many places in China that were much better value for money than this accommodation. Unfortunately we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivi_ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Loved the decors, the room and also the location

Price was really friendly on the wallet and there was a very nice breakfast as well.
The guide (Bob) was very friendly and helpful, speaks good english too!

Want to live in a traditional rustic yet convenient location? :) Here you go

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew_LimCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#100 of 6,531 in Beijing
427 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,531 in Beijing
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,531 in Beijing
504 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $59 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing