We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kellys Courtyard
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Baota Hotel(Beijing)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
        View Hotel
        Great 4.5/5
          Zhongyu Hotel(Beijing)
          View Hotel
          Good 3.5/5
            View Hotel
            Great 4.5/5
            • Free Wifi
            View Hotel
            Very Good 4/5
              View Hotel
              Good 3.5/5
                Reviews (247)
                Filter reviews
                247 results
                Traveler rating
                168
                69
                7
                3
                0
                Traveler type
                Time of year
                LanguageAll languages
                More languages
                168
                69
                7
                3
                0
                Show reviews that mention
                All reviewsrooftop terraceyogurtother guestsbed breakfastrooms facebreakfast simplewet bathroomglass ceilingregular hotelxisi subway stationrooms are smalltraditional hutongnarrow hutonghome away from homethoroughly enjoyed our staychinese experiencestayed longer
                FilterAll languages
                Updating list...
                99 - 104 of 247 reviews
                Reviewed January 21, 2014

                What a great find this was, tucked away in a little hutong in Beijing. Very small courtyard hotel with a fabulous Manager Bob who went the extra mile at all times, helping with tours, train tickets etc. We meet some fabulous travelers while staying here. The accommodation is fairly basic, but its all you need, would definately go back here

                • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
                  • Value
                  • Location
                  • Sleep Quality
                  • Rooms
                  • Cleanliness
                  • Service
                1  Thank nassarij
                This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
                Reviewed January 8, 2014

                We loved or time here. There were 9 of us in the group, so the central courtyard was great fro hanging out in. Bob was the best, very helpful with directions. It is very close to eating, subway, atms.

                If you're not used to Asia, you may feel a little apprehensive your first time in the back alleys, but there are no worries. we came and went at all hours of the evening and night with never a worry.

                It's a great place to stay

                • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
                  • Value
                  • Location
                  • Sleep Quality
                  • Rooms
                  • Cleanliness
                  • Service
                1  Thank Farmer1974
                This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
                Reviewed November 13, 2013

                This was my second trip to Beijing and staying at Kelly's Courtyard was a completely different experience to staying at a typical hotel. The experience is much more personal and I really felt immersed in the real Beijing. It was always a pleasure walking into the hutongs and through the front door to our home away from home.

                Bob and the staff really did want to help and make the stay a good one.Bob provided good advice on travelling around the city using the subway and pointed us toward some good restaurants. A local restaurant the Shaguoju in Xidan Rd that Bob recommended was outstanding.

                The enclosed courtyard was the centre of things and provided a very pleasant and social area for meeting other travellers. The light western breakfast was simple and exactly what I needed in the mornings. The rooms themselves are probably old style but that does fit with the feel of the hutong.

                This is where I will be staying the next time I visit Beijing.

                • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
                  • Value
                  • Location
                  • Sleep Quality
                  • Rooms
                  • Cleanliness
                  • Service
                2  Thank Lewis C
                This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
                Reviewed October 29, 2013

                After you go down the alley, you find a charming place to stay in Beijing. We are in our mid 60's and traveled with another couple. Most people staying there were in our age bracket. Although the rooms are on the edge of the courtyard, it was very quiet and relaxing. The location is excellent and Bob, the manager, was very helpful. The rooftop area was delightful. On our first night Bob recommended a restaurant nearby. The owner's of the hostel happened to be there and took time to meet us and helped us order a delicious meal.

                • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
                  • Value
                  • Location
                  • Sleep Quality
                  • Rooms
                  • Cleanliness
                  • Service
                3  Thank kamalley2
                This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
                Reviewed October 25, 2013

                If you're looking for a modern, cosmopolitan city dwelling, this place is not for you. If you're looking for a taste of China and a homely, traditional place to stay, then look no further. Set in the 'back-streets' of a hutong, Kelly's doesn't look like much from the outside - in fact, you can hardly see its exterior. However, once you step through the main entrance into a peaceful courtyard you really feel like you're a million miles away from the nearby bustling city streets.

                Bob, the owner was a fantastic host - from communications prior to our arrival, through to our departure, he helped us with all our transer, travel and sight-seeing enquiries; recommending places to eat and writing down Chinese translations when he thought we might need them. Bob arranged a trip to the Great Wall for us, and gave us a quick call during the day just to check that all was well and that we met our drive/tour guide ok.

                The rooms are quite small and a little old fashioned, but they have everthing you need. The communal space provides guests with a place where breakfast is served and a roof-top garden that is great for relaxing after a busy day sightseeing. Snacks are available to purchase on an honesty basis - beer, water, soft-drinks and crips etc.

                Kellys is a short distance from 2 subway stations so its very easy to get around the city and see the attractions. There are plenty of places to eat near the hostel and Bob directs you to the best ones to try. We really felt like we'd had a real taste of China after our stay here.

                • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
                  • Value
                  • Location
                  • Sleep Quality
                  • Rooms
                  • Cleanliness
                  • Service
                3  Thank Joy0
                This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
                View more reviews