We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Beijing experience served the best way possible”
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #65 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Charming small hostel tucked away in a beautiful Hutong (Hutongs are the traditional Beijing neighborhoods).

I only spent two nights at this hostel but had an unforgettable experience. Located at a traditional courtyard you can experience the real feel of living in a Beijing hutong with none of the drawbacks. It's comfy, rooms are spacious and have there own western style bathroom. The decoration of the common areas is perfect (traditional chinese style) with lots of room to sit and many magazines and travel guides to borrow. The rooftop looks promising for the warmer months, but I visited in March and it still was a bit chilly outside. Another great feature is that this hostel has its own heating system (it does not depend on the government switch on and switch off dates). So for the chilly months like november or march (when there is no government heating and it is still cold outside) this is perfect!

But really the best part was the laid-back, relaxed and friendly ambience contributed by the perfect and helpful service! I did not meet Bob (he was on holidays). Instead the person in charge was John and he was perfect. He was always ready to help with a big smile, always giving great advice of what to do and see. It really is a pleasure to stay in a place like this, where everything is so good and the service is just great!

I would recommend this hostel to anyone with any doubt! Specially for couples!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WuHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 234 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

The guesthouse is ideally located close to subways. The fact that it is located in a traditional "hutong" (lane-way) gives it a sense that you are amongst real Beijing life. The address proved tricky for some taxi drivers to find as the "hutong" is so small but we very quickly got our bearings from the main road.

The staff (Bob) was extrememly helpful and this cannot be underestimated in a city like Beijing. He recommended nearby restaurants, mapped out our daily routes etc. However, most valuably he recommended that we go to the Jinshangling section of The Great Wall. He arranged transport for us and told us to get there as early as possible. This resulted in us having the most spectacular visit to the Great Wall as we we almost the only people there at the time.

The place is very clean and relaxing with a nice breakfast served in the morning. Due to the layout of the rooms, it slightly lacks an element of privacy but not too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We can not say enough good things about Kelly's. the hutong is beautiful and very tranquil. Although initially a little difficult to find it is in a great location near a subway stop and the staff are more than happy to come and collect you.

We dealt with bob through emails prior to arriving who was extremely helpful. He was on holiday when we arrived but John was equally fantastic. He was always on hand to make sure we had everything we needed and to help us with our travel plans as well as making sure we had breakfast when it suited us.

Our short time in Beijing was made extra special by staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyandMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a quick 5 day trip to Beijing and were lucky enough to enjoy the tranquility that is Kellys Courtyard.

We found it a very relaxing, secure and warm place. It was very pleasant to be in the courtyard for breakfast and in the evening for wine time while gentle music was playing in the background.

Because of Bob, we had an amazing time in Beijing and were able to be pointed in the right direction with regards to activities, transport and sights.

We highly recommend this place to anyone looking to experience the real Beijing!

Thanks again to Bob for being so helpful, so genuine and so happy throughout our stay.

Cheers Bob!

Adelaide Ryan & Chris Harrison

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here on a trip when my cousin came to visit me in China. This was a great stay. Clean, cozy, great staff...good choice! A little hard to find but highly recommended. The staff was great, they speak English. It is a unique experience and much better than staying at regular hotel. The rooftop is a great place to have a beer and smoke. Great local restaurants in the area, good way to get off the beaten trail.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltlinux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you are looking for a pleasant place to stay in Beijing, this is definitely a good choice.
This hotel with eight rooms is located in a peaceful hutong, with great connection to public transportation. Both Xisi and Lingjing Hutong metro stations (line 4) are about 500 m away and many buses go nearby (e.g. to Beihai Park and Jingshan Park).
The staff is extremely helpful and can give you good advices for your trips.
With their help we organised a trip to Mutianyu (Great Wall) and we bought the tickets to Beijing Opera (Liyuan Theatre).
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the atmosphere in the courtyard is really cozy.
The hotel offers free Wifi connection (although a little bit slow, sometimes) and luggage service. Western-style breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiarettamasiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Everything about kellys courtyard is so impressive. I have been living and working in china for 4 months now and out of the many top end hotels I've stayed at this wonderful courtyard tops them all.
Clean, warm, snuggled, friendly and welcoming John goes above and beyond to make your stay here at kellys courtyard and in Beijing as comfortable as possible.
Breakfast was adequate, room was decorated in a French style, everything exceptionally clean and the location was superb close to a subway line. The hostel is a little hard to find at first (please see some pictures I out up).
Cannot wait to come back. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,556 in Beijing
580 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#108 of 6,556 in Beijing
429 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,556 in Beijing
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $59 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing