We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kellys Courtyard to your Saves list
Kellys Courtyard
No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #54 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Veneto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you are looking for a pleasant place to stay in Beijing, this is definitely a good choice.
This hotel with eight rooms is located in a peaceful hutong, with great connection to public transportation. Both Xisi and Lingjing Hutong metro stations (line 4) are about 500 m away and many buses go nearby (e.g. to Beihai Park and Jingshan Park).
The staff is extremely helpful and can give you good advices for your trips.
With their help we organised a trip to Mutianyu (Great Wall) and we bought the tickets to Beijing Opera (Liyuan Theatre).
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the atmosphere in the courtyard is really cozy.
The hotel offers free Wifi connection (although a little bit slow, sometimes) and luggage service. Western-style breakfast is included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiarettamasiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
75
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Everything about kellys courtyard is so impressive. I have been living and working in china for 4 months now and out of the many top end hotels I've stayed at this wonderful courtyard tops them all.
Clean, warm, snuggled, friendly and welcoming John goes above and beyond to make your stay here at kellys courtyard and in Beijing as comfortable as possible.
Breakfast was adequate, room was decorated in a French style, everything exceptionally clean and the location was superb close to a subway line. The hostel is a little hard to find at first (please see some pictures I out up).
Cannot wait to come back. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I agree with all the positives in the other reviews. We stayed there five nights in early October and then two nights at the end of the month when Hurricane Sandy delayed our flight home.
This is not an ordinary tourist hotel and it's definitely not in a touristy section. It's at the end of a hutong which is off another hutong which is off a third hutong! Read about hutongs and make sure you know what that means. And be prepared that cars can't go up to the front door -- you have to get your own luggage down the last two hutongs. It's like being in a genuine neighborhood in Beijing -- a different world from some of the big tourist hotels. To me that's a big plus!
The ambiance is wonderful -- soft jazz plays at night and you can get yourself a beer or a bottle of wine from the fridge (beer's less than a dollar and wine was the cheapest we saw in China) and sit in the comfortable lounge chairs or use Bob's computer.
Breakfast is limited but the yougurt was wonderful and I always had seconds. Coffee varied from day to day but we appreciated it more when we stayed other places and saw how expensive it was.
We stayed in room #4 the first time. It's the only one that doesn't directly face the courtyard so it has a little more feeling of privacy but we also enjoyed the room that did face right onto the courtyard.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4 the first time. It's the only one that doesn't directly face the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent! There is spacious sitting area with music and rooftop terrace with fresh air. Breakfast is simple but good enough. It serves apple & orange juice, milk, yogurt, toast, muffin/ cake, fresh fruit and coffee/ tea everyday. My room no. 5 is very comfortable though the restroom is a bit small and floor will be getting wet after shower. The environment is so silent and relaxing that I can have good sleep every night. I like the design and decoration of the hotel very much. It's a mixture of traditional history and modern art. The hotel manager, Bob is very helpful and friendly. You can also make friends and exchange travel ideas with your neigbours from other countries. The location is convenient as it's just 5 mins walk to the nearby train station. But upon arrival, it's better to take taxi from the airport as Beijing is just too big. If you want to experience an exceptional and enjoyable hotel stay in Beijing, I would highly recommend Kelly's Courtyard!

Room Tip: Room No. 5 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmenleung108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Kelly's Courtyard is such a beautiful hidden gem in the middle of the busy streets of Beijing. It is so peaceful, comfortable, and let's you really enjoy the street life of Beijing. Kelly's courtyard was the perfect place to have as a home base while traveling to the sites of Beijing. Bob is absolutely amazing, always on call, and full of knowledge and help with anything you may need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAS2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Kellys Courtyard is a very nice, clean and quiet place to call home base while visiting Beijing. Bob, the hotel manager, is always ready and willing to provide whatever help you need and is full of suggestions on where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrmarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Kelly's courtyard is Beijing's hidden gem! It is an oasis of calm and tranquility right in the centre of the city (and very easy to miss as it is off an alley way off another alleyway)

The rooms are very nice with all you'd need, though the beds were a little hard.

The indoor courtyard was very peaceful and quiet, and is where a free breakfast is served which consisted of bread for toasting, muffins, sweet buns and fresh fruit as well as tea and coffee, a nice start to the mornings.

The rooftop terrace is a great place to hang out, have a few beers and talk to Bob, the legendary manager of this place. He told us how to get around, where to eat, what to see, and sorted out transport to the Great Wall as well as booking tickets for the acrobatics show (which was great!). He even gave us his number incase we had problems. Our time in Beijing wouldn't have been the same without him, he really went the extra mile.

There is also an honesty bar stocked up with water, beer, juices and snacks, you just mark down on your sheet when you take one and pay at the end. Very reasonable prices

Thanks for making our time in Beijing a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BraithwaiteNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#23 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#48 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#95 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#100 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#13 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Property: Kellys Courtyard
Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing