We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #52 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Kelly's Courtyard is really a lovely place to be. It's like a boutique hotel, very close to the city center, getting quick to the 'must-sees' of Beijing. We enjoyed staying here very much and Bob was one of the best hotel managers we have ever met. The courtyard was not so easy to find (even not for the taxi driver) as we came in after mid night, but after pacing around we were quite amazed to find this beautiful and peaceful hotel. We are coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    60
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
79
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

After a long journey through the heart of Russia we found this amazing little hotel. The staff was very friendly and motivated to help us in any way possible. The rooms and exterior decor are fantastic. Definitely worth while and hopefully I can go back someday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Dear all, turn left and right and left again - at the end of a small street you will find a cozy place, called Kellys Courtyard Hotel. It is a small but comfortable and traditional place with a lovely and very friendly host called Bob. As we arrived the street and the entrance was nearly open, because of some works at the sewer line. So the first impression after 12 hour journey was a bit confusing also for our parents... But after a first drink everything was fine and we enjoyed the courtyard and Bejing! For all the "stress" in the beginning, Bob offered us free drinks for the whole week. So 100% service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here for 5days straight. This is a very impressive little hostel where the rooms are cleverly located all around the main courtyard. In all, the oriental design makes you feel like you are re-winded back to the past.

Location is a little tricky as I had trouble looking for it. Do note that the alleys are quite narrow that your taxi can't go all the way in.But rest assure its safe. I was lucky to have travelled light.

Bob, the hostel keeper was very amiable and friendly. I came in at 1am and he waited for me all night! He was very understanding and even gestured me to quietly come in so as not to disturb the other guests.

The rooms are nicely decorated and cozy. Bathrooms are pretty decent with rainshower. No bathtubs. No problems with me.

Breakfast was pretty basic. bread, jam and scones to fill you up.

In all, I think the place was really perfect for me and I just had to give it a 5/5 stars for its excellent service and the peaceful location.

Room Tip: Do ask for the hostel keeper to turn on the heater at least an hour before your hot bath during wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamgreenfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Hutong is very quite and peaceful. You will enjoy having a drink on the flat roof and just relax after a long walking day in Beijing. The staff is very kind and helpful. They give very good advice about where to go and how to get easily to your destination. Don't hesitate to ask them for help. Every rooms are really nice and comfortable. We had a great time staying at Kellys Courtyard.

Room Tip: no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadege R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Kelly's. The room was booked via Email, everything was reliable.
Our stay was perfect. Sandy (the hotelmanager) was very kind and gave us a lot of tips for Beijing (restaurants, trips and sightseeing). Sandy speeks very good English.
The rooms are small and cosy. The area around the hotel is a beautiful hutong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Kelly's hutong might be a little hard to locate as it is an alley within another alley road! However, once we got inside, we felt like we were transported into another world! We love the attention to details in the environment. It was a successful and interesting blend of traditional Chinese and modern English design. Our rooms had everything we needed and it was indeed a quiet hutong with the absence of a television.

Wifi works fine in our room and breakfast was a simple spread of bread with butter and jam. Muffins, cookies and cupcakes are available along with juices, or you can opt for coffee or tea.

However, Kelly might not be an appropriate accommodation spot of you are seeking intimacy as the walls are really thin. Everyone is able to hear what's going on in your room. Yes, your snoring, conversations and ahem, other sounds too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liyun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#65 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#91 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#27 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#13 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Property: Kellys Courtyard
Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing