We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, friendly, and convenient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #57 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Washington state
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, and convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here for five days and found it to be a great place to stay while exploring the historical sights of Beijing. The decor and the location within a traditional hutong was far more interesting than staying in a sterile chain hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to go out of their way to provide directions and recommendations. We ate at several nearby restaurants they recommended and were really happy with the food (we particularly liked their recommendation for Peking duck). It was really convenient to the subway and we didn't have to ride too far to go to most of the things we wanted to see.

No place is perfect, though, and being a budget option, of course, Kelly's Courtyard has some negatives that could bother some. They weren't particularly problematic for us.

-Location is both a plus and a minus. Our taxi couldn't get us all the way to the hotel because the streets were too narrow. It could be easy to get lost on the way there. Print a good map!
-Breakfast is pretty basic, continental-style. Coffee or tea, juices, bread, yogurt, fruit, and some baked goods. There are inexpensive options nearby for more substantial breakfast, though.
-Walls are thin, and noise can be heard from outside, but it isn't a noisy area. If other guests happened to be noisy, it could be an issue.
-Their wifi is free, but it does occasionally go down and require some form of manual intervention on their part.
-Beds are pretty firm. This is probably standard in this part of Asia.

I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Beijing!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graycodekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    60
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
81
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Kelly's Courtyard offers everything you need in a hotel in Beijing and more. The staff were fantastic providing everything from travel advice and an extra cup of coffee in the morning. The location was close enough to the major sites while being in an old typical hutong. The courtyard and the roof top garden were ideal places to relax after a long flight or a busy day site seeing. The included breakfast was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in Beijing. The ambiance in the guesthouse is above all expectations. Very nice furniture and very clean. The staff was marvelous. They speak very well English (that's a plus in China) and are also very helpful to search out anything you want in Beijing.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irtj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We booked two double rooms in Kellys Courtyard for our family of 2 adults and 3 children. The traditional courtyard house is located at the end of a small alley in Bingmasi Hutong and has been sympathetically restored with the accommodation arranged in the rooms around the glass-roofed central courtyard. Each room has a comfortable double bed and a small shower room. Breakfast is taken in the courtyard at tables outside the rooms and consists of juice and tea, small local pastries and bread for toasting, also yoghurt and some fruit. Not a hearty breakfast but pleasant, and something to start the day on. There is a small spiral staircase leading to a pretty room upstairs where there is a table, computer, television and sofa, and then out onto a decked roof garden with tables and loungers that overlooks the surrounding Huntong. It is very pretty. The accommodation isn't ideal for families with very small children in that my husband was across the courtyard in one room with a child, whilst I was in another room with my two youngest. Of course, we knew this was the arrangement when we booked - but our desire to stay in a traditional Hutong courtyard house took precedence over sharing a room - and we were not disappointed with our choice! Sandy, the young man who was managing Kellys Courtyard during our stay is very friendly and very helpful, offering directions and advice. He also arranged a driver for us so we could visit The Great Wall. During our week stay my 5-year-daughter was unwell, and Kelly, the owner, was extremely kind and helpful, ferrying us to the hospital and pharmacy herself. Kellys courtyard is in an excellent location - we loved the Hutong, a real, living community, and yet just a very short walk to the nearest bus stop or metro station to reach all the big sights. You are literally a stones throw away from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square........and taking a traditional Beijing taxi home at the end of a days sightseeing is a fun way to round off the experience. We loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed in Kelly's courtyard for 3 nights in December 2010. The building itself is lovely, great atmosphere and a great rooftop terrace which i reckon would be fabulous in the summer. Comfortable, warm, quiet and relaxing, but still only 5 minutes away from a busy main street with bus routes, shops etc. Location is excellent, walking distance from Tianamen. If you want somewhere cosy and quiet to relax whilst visiting Beijing, this is the place to go, if you want a busy party atmosphere to meet other travellers this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairead050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Kelly's courtyard is located in a less touristy hutong area, which means that when staying there, you really feel like you are seeing real China. It's very peaceful at night, provideding a welcome relief from the business of the city. The hotel is very close to a subway station and taxis are incredibly cheap so we had no problems getting around. Beijing is a vast city and tourist attractions are spread widely, so a lot of travelling around is inevitable.

The staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful. They organised our train tickets for us (for a very small fee) and advised on what to see and how to get there. The staff spoke excellent English.

The breakfast provided was simple but very tasty and varied slightly each day. The hotel provides free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

It was long and weary trek to find the hotel and we almost didn't make it. But once found, we decided we were not going anywhere else. The atmosphere cos the courtyard is simply great. I could just hang out there poking into all the little accessories, books, magazines that is used to make the courtyard feel so homely. And everyone instantly transforms in social beings because that's what a lovely courtyard does to you. Great bath and toilet (even by non-Beijing standards). Fantastic breakfast and very good personalised service too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HweeMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#48 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#91 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#131 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#23 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Property: Kellys Courtyard
Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing