We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in china!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Ranked #3 of 993 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This is the best place I have stayed in all of china! The staff are incredible-so helpful and friendly and willing to do anything to accomodate us. The rooms are nice and warm, good wifi and it has a cosy little common area to hang our in. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

molto bello! le ragazze alla reception sono gentilissime e la pulizia delle lenzuola e dei bagni in comune è impeccabile! stanze ben riscaldate, hanno tutte armadietti da chiudere a chiave, colazione gratis e wifi! vicino a una fermata della metro e ben servito anche da autobus, nelle vicinanze ci sono anche dei posti dove poter mangiare a poco prezzo! ci tornerò sicuramente!

beautiful! girls at the reception were always very kind and nice! bedsheets and common bathrooms were ALWAYS clean at the best! the rooms were really warm, for each bed there is a locker where you can keep your things safely, breakfast for free and wifi! is near to a metro station and there are several buses stops. there are some places around the hostel where you can eat spending few money! i will surely come back here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had good time in this cosy courtyard hostel. The Staff is super friendly, helpful and the hostel is clean and cozy. I have been in winter and the heater was working everytime, included inside the bathroom and toialet. Hot water 24h, wifi was working nice and good location. The rooms is simple, but it has a confortable bed. Free breakfast, but it´s a bit poor with few options.
Definitely I recomend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoCompasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this authentic courtyard hostel. It has been our best stay in China. The location is perfect as it is only a 5 minute walk to the metro. The metro is also very simple to use.

They offer free noodle night on Mondays and free dumpling night on Fridays. The food was excellent and we even stayed for the vegetarian dinner night (35¥ on Wednesday - very tasty). However, if you feel like eating out, head left as you are exiting the hostel and at the end of the road turn right. There is a busy little area with lots on offer. The common room can be a little cold but is very homy. They have computers for use and a water cooler to fill your water bottles.

The staff are the friendliest people we have met and very helpful. They offer some of the cheapest tours to the Great Wall too. They also booked train tickets for us (with a surcharge of 30¥). The rooms are basic but the heater supplied certainly did the job. We even woke up hot one night and that was during late November.

The only bummer is the shower area can get quite cold as the room is not sealed. The water pressure is also a little low so you do tend to stay cold in there during winter. Although, this is only a minor issue so don't let it put you off.

I highly recommend this hostel and will definitely return sometime in the future.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Arlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

No complaints...Great place to crash for a few nights. The bathrooms are sufficiently clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are warm and the subway is close by. Nice people as well. It is nice to have free breakfast in the morning although it doesn't start until 8.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great service all year around! must visit! Staff is friendly, clean and helpful.
The hostel's entrance may not be easy to find, but make sure you call... They will help.

Only thing i have to say is... If you are allergic to cats.... Stay away!

Room Tip: Just ask :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Originally we booked for 5 nights but extended to 8 as the hostel and staff are so welcoming and friendly. The room suited all our needs and was warm when the nights were cold.

Common areas are always clean and the courtyard which forms the centre of the hostel is a nice place to relax with a cold beer or a tea.

Free breakfast tip - always go with the noodles, they are delicious and set you up for the day exploring Beijing.

A short walk from the subway makes it a great base for doing all the city stuff, and it's on the same line as the Summer Palace which makes that day a little easier as you don't have to navigate several station on the subway too.

Great wall tours are indeed "great". We did the Jinshanling tour and had an amazing day there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Photogravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 993 in Beijing
252 reviews
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 993 in Beijing
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel
Peking Station Hostel
#11 of 993 in Beijing
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

Address: No.52 Xisibei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District | No. 52 Xisibei 2 Tiao Hutong, Beijing 100035, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 993 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional & modern Beijing Courtyard hostel located in the heart of OLD BEIJING hutong area, offers tons of travel information/ free activities/ tours/chinese courses ...Especially suitable for the people who likes to discover local people life with a very comfortable stay. THIS is a real HOME away from home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinese Box Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing