We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Ranked #3 of 941 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The people at the front desk are very helpful about giving you info about things to do and how to navigate and they all speak very good English. It was fun to make the dumplings together and meet other travelers. The common area is cozy with couches and chairs to hang out and two computers for use. The free breakfast was tasty and just enough to get your day started. It was also a nice touch to include a free beverage when you first check in. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Two things to note, there are several cats around so if you're allergic to cats, that might be an issue for you. Also, the room I had did not have a bathroom in the room and you had to walk outside to use the bathroom and showers. That wasn't a problem when I was there since it was warm, but when the weather is cold, that might be an issue for some people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    72
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
63
124
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very cosy and comfortable. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful! Getting a free drink on arrival made us feel so welcome. We enjoyed making and eating dumplings together with the staff - it's a fun experience especially if you're a "1st timer" in China.
We also appreciated the free breakfast - the muesli with yogurt was delicious!
Add some water pressure to the shower and this would be the perfect place to stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjaana579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Service - Excellent, friendly staff caters to your needs, just ask and they'll be so happy to help you - always with a smile too! Check in, get a free drink. Check out, get a lucky charm!
Rooms - Clean as you expect it to be. With proper heater.
WC/Shower - Very clean! Shower could use a heater though - a little chilly in the winter. Toilet is just nice, has individual heater and is very very clean! water pressure could be better though in the shower.
Food - Seriously, pick the noodles for your breakfast! (you can have toast/muesli too but the noodles in my opinion is the BEST!) - the noodles is unbelievably good!!!
Amenities - You have free wifi, a mini fridge where you can buy water and soft drinks, convenience store is located along the same hutong(alley). They have a small but comfy lounge area with a large TV, books for you to read, laundry services for cheaps, maps, they will even help you organize tours, buy you tickets..etc..
Location - 5-10 mins walk to the nearest subway (Xisi station)

Note - they have special events on certain days of the week. We attended the free dumpling party (Yes, FREE! - they were VERY GENEROUS with the amount of dumplings provided). Great time to mingle with other fellow travellers. Also there are cats abound, cute ones!! Just watch where you sit, they blend in very well with their surroundings :P (if you're allergic to cats, just something to be wary about!)

This is my second time in China, and having stayed at two different hostel here in Beijing, I can say both of them are just as good! (The other hostel I tried was sitting on the city walls hostel).

Overall - its one easily one of the better, if not the best hostels in Beijing. Can't go wrong checking in here :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed at Chinese Box for a week during the summer of 2011 and I loved it. The staff were so helpful and the hostell itself was beautiful. There were also a couple of cute cats running around the courtyard.

Chinese Box has everything a traveller needs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Chinese Box is what a hostel should be. It's got lots of character and provides an ideal setting for travellers to meet. I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in Beijing.

Pros:
-Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of advice about places to eat and how to get around.
-Clean, well-heated dorms with comfortable mattresses and full-sized pillows. I was here in November, and the omnipresent space heaters allayed my fears of freezing in the frigid Beijing winter.
-Great common room, perfect place to meet other travellers and pick up advice for onward travel.
-2 mostly reliable computers in the common room and wifi throughout the hostel. It was a little glitchy, but I'm willing to look past it. :)
-Organized trip to the Mutianyu section of the Great Wall - reasonable 260 RMB, including transportation and lunch, no forced shopping stops!
-Free breakfast
-Cute cats

Cons
-Being a courtyard hostel, you have to go outside of the rooms to reach the bathrooms (but were clean and heated)
-A bit of a walk from the nearest subway station - looks close on the map, but feels further.
-In a part of Beijing that closes down early. Somewhat difficult to find a place to eat after 9pm.
-Prices a little high for things like tea and coffee in the afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Friendly staff and a good atmosphere at this hutong hostel (the free dumplings are great!).
which is handily tucked away down a quiet lane about 5 minutes walk from Xi Si metro station
I had a double ensuite room at this hostel - the room was small but clean and had a great shower. My only real quibble was that the room was very poorly lit and that compared to similar places elsewhere in China the rooms were quite expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The staff was extremely helpful and the place had great character! Breakfast is included, 2 computers you can use and a great little social area where other guests hang out. It was a much longer walk (maybe 2-3 city blocks) down the alley from the main road than I had expected, though. But for the price, its a great location to the subway and other sites. Beware, though, of the rooms with private bathrooms. My double room with a private bath had a horrible sewer gas smell. But other than that, I loved the place! And the Chinese directions the hostel emailed me were SO helpful! Would recommend to others!

Room Tip: Beware of the rooms with private bathrooms. My double room with a private bath had a horrible sewer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aw1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,517 in Beijing
186 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 941 in Beijing
239 reviews
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 941 in Beijing
393 reviews
Houhai
Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

Property: Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Address: No.52 Xisibei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District | No. 52 Xisibei 2 Tiao Hutong, Beijing 100035, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 941 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional & modern Beijing Courtyard hostel located in the heart of OLD BEIJING hutong area, offers tons of travel information/ free activities/ tours/chinese courses ...Especially suitable for the people who likes to discover local people life with a very comfortable stay. THIS is a real HOME away from home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinese Box Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing