We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #43 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
isreal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights from 21 to 26 JUN. We booked a deluxe double room. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I have been in many hotels around the world. The room was very clean and comfortable. On returning from day trips in beijing we always found that the room was cleaned and all towels and bed sheets were replaced and new bottles of mineral water put in. The night was very quite. Nothing to disturb a good night sleep. Breakfast was a little too modest. Internet in the room worked fine (wifi). Staff was very polite. The nearest subway station is about 10 minutes walk. Had one small disappointment though.On the day we checked out since we had a late flight we hoped we would be allowed a late check out . They said the room was already asigned to a new comer. When we returned later to pick up our laggage , the room was still vacant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    142
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
126
213
69
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed last month at Michael's House which is located north east of the city in a very interesting suburban area only a 7min walk to the nearest subway which very easy to use and well signposted and we used the subway to get to everywhere we wanted to go.
Michael's wife and all the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay a very memorable one. The 12 rooms are beautifully appointed with everything you need and it is very quiet at night. The staff were very helpful in recommending a local restaurant where the food was excellent and they automatically would write down anything we needed in Chinese characters so that we could show it to people on the street in case we got lost. It is great value and I wouldn't hestitate to stay there again. We were out all day every day but felt like coming home when we got back to Michael's house. Thank you to Michael's wife, Huan Li and Qing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atodmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The greatest challenge you will face choosing this hotel is the taxi in from the airport. Once there, the relaxed courtyard cultural styling of the premises connects you with a quiet and refined spring of the ancient Chinese lifestyle you came to visit, amid the street market bustle you weren't expecting at 1am. The street surroundings are anathema to the garden like serenity of this thoughtfully decorated and cultivated piece of Beijing. Michael's House happily blends respect for its urbane heritage with the mores of modern western visitors. The english speaking staff are all charming and hospitable and available 24/7. Trust me, you will enjoy. (Just make sure you get written chinese addresses for everything you want to visit via taxi from the staff!).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PekingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We had a great experience at this hotel. The rooms are smaller than traditional hotel rooms, but the ambiance more than makes up for it. The desk clerks were very helpful at getting us to where we wanted to go and I loved the lobby with the birds and fish!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jett248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Our group of 6 including 1 teenager, 2 couples and 1 grandmother stayed at Michael's house for 5 nights. The atmosphere is relaxing and the set out of the hotel is wonderful. We enjoyed staying in a real Chinese suburb. The staff gave great directions to local eateries. The food was fantastic with a low price tag. Taxi were cheap and we took advantage of a mini bus organised at the hotel for trips to the city and the great wall. One night my Mother In Law had quite a bad accident whilst we were out. We rang the guest house and they told us to come straight back. Michael and Sean drove her and my husband to hospital and took great care of her, paying the bill (which we paid later) and interpreting for us. We felt as though they treated us like family and were very genuine and concerned for my mother in law. Meanwhile they provided my son and myself with dinner - as we were too shaken to go out again.
This is a wonderful place to stay for all the family. We found Beijing to be a friendly and interesting city and will definately return again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpymum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2010

When we first arrived it was in a quaint neighborhood with lots of local people working in the streets nearby the hotel. We arrived and were surprised that they only have 12 rooms in the entire place. The rooms are extravagant and more importantly, affordable. We had a huge bed and a large flat screen TV with all the premium channels offered in the US, plus internet at no extra charge. The front desk will be more than happy to assist you with anything since each guest is unique and they will know your name when you walk in. Best customer service at a hotel I've ever experience, I will go here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musashiden46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

What a great place to stay!

It was so cozy that it almost hindered us from exploring parts of Beijing, because after the breakfast we just wanted to relax with a coffe in the comfortable sofas and read a book in the cozy atmosphere.

The staff were extremely attentive, and would bend over backwards to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

We actually got engaged on the great wall when we were there. When the staff found out, we immediately received a complimentary bottle of wine to share in our room!

I will recomend this place to anyone going to Beijing! Michael's House truly deserves such high rankings on tripadvisor!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMountain82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 6,522 in Beijing
423 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#78 of 6,522 in Beijing
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,150 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing