We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great low cost hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #20 of 6,069 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great low cost hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed @ Michael's for 5 nights and had a pleasant experience. The hotel is not extremely close to any attractions but the subway is a 5-10 minute walk, so expect about 30 min - 1 hr travel time for most places. Beijing subway is not super efficient so you usually have to change lines 1 or 2 times. Michael's hotel grounds were very nice and rooms were clean and modern. The staff was very kind and helped us when needed. The breakfast isn't anything special but a nice perk if you are in a rush to go sight seeing. The hotel is located down an alleyway and isn't easily identifiable to a newcomer, so make sure you know what it looks like on the outside before you arrive. Only negative was that there was construction going on, so a few times we were awakened abruptly by the sound of drilling or hammering on the roof.

On an unrelated note, make sure you read up on typical service scams in Beijing, as we got scammed by a taxi driver and another lady attempted to as well over by the night food market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    132
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
112
197
59
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It seems boring to be in complete agreement with all the reviews. But there is not much to say that has not yet been said Amy, Anna , jennyand little are a team every hotel might wish for. The size of the hotel permits them to give full attention to the guests. Even to the point where Little helped us in her free time. The most pleasant experience on our China trip. Congratulations

Room Tip: There is a wonderful room with a very nice bed in an alcove
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Michaels House in Beijing. They organised airport transfers at our request. The hotel is clean the rooms bigger than any we have stayed at in Europe. The staff speak English and organised tours for us. They recommended a fanstastic restaurant the best chinese food we had in all of China. They can orgaanise an eaarly breakfast if you aare touring early. Michaels house felat like a home away from home with its central courtyard and fridge full of beer. Paul and Julie from Perth WA

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a terrific holiday at Michael's. Michael, his wife and the staff, Amy,Anna,Jenny and Little were all very helpful and kind. Their English was great and they kept helping us with any thing at all. Booked a tour for us, translated for us to go to local restaurants. Wake up calls, taxi and even checked our flight at the airport. We loved the atmosphere- so bright and happy. great beds, clean well maintained. They called a local shop to assist us, and we always felt safe with their card in our pocket. Will certainly stay again and highly recommend. Hi girls, Jenny and Jack

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyhasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

From the moment we entered the door we felt like family.
We were very impressed by how well the staff spoke English and how helpful they were in helping us plan our visit to Beijing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, breakfast served every morning in the courtyard was very good. Breakfast was prepared for us early on the day we had an early tour booked.
Special thanks to Amy who helped us from the beginning and was always interested in how our day went.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 133JCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our great wall tour group's schedule required us to get up at 6am. Michael's breakfast is usually around 730 so we were looking at a long trip without any breakfast in our bellies. The day before our trip, I informed the hotel staff of this situation and one staff brought us some bread and yogurts. Very "above and beyond" service.

Her name is Little. Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p1aymakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at Michaels. The personnel was very friendly and competent and their English was great. They helped with all issues and even assisted in planning a trip to the Great Wall. The location is nice if you want to experience Beijing away from the touristy sections. The local street vendors and restaurants at night are a great plus. The actual hotel is ok but not luxurious. It is clean and neat. The lobby is the best part as it is open and bright with parakeets flying about. We can do nothing more than recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay again.

William and Anna

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#51 of 6,069 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,069 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,069 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing