We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #45 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast Queensland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Truly unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Michaels in June this year after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. This was an authentic hotel which met all our expectations and more. Michaels is a small "boutique" establishment with exceptionally well appointed rooms that all open onto a covered courtyard. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. We had a deluxe room for 2 nights, then moved to the Emperor Suite for another 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of both. The staff were welcoming and friendly and could not do enough for us, from organising day trips to a very lovely gesture of a birthday cake (this trip was to celebrate my 60th). We would recommend Michaels House to anyone visiting Beijing wishing to embrace the culture. Many thanks to Sophie, Jenny, Amy and Little, you were wonderful and made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siouxg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    135
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
114
204
59
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Michaels House is very small but very nice hotel. The owners wife is very nice and so is the staff. They are always there to help in anyway they can. Breakfast is served daily and is very good. It is also very inexpensive to send your clothes to dry clean. I really liked this hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlopez30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey-Channel Islands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Michaels house is a very comfortable boutique hotel with western standards located in a really local Chinese area. A perfect way to experience local life and still have western comforts. The best of both worlds. We were travelling with our adult teenagers and had a twin room and a double. Both rooms were really comfortable, with very comfortable beds, good quality white linen and western bathrooms.
There is no restaurant but Breakfast is included and served from 7.30am to 9am.
It's not in the centre of Beijing, therefore you do need to use the subway or taxi to see the sights or go to the night market and central restaurants. The subway is very close, very easy and only 2Yuan -20p. The taxis are easy to hail on the Main Street or the staff will call one for you. They are very reasonable during the day but much more expensive at night. ( still good value compared to other countries) 22 yuan during day about 70 to 120 yuan at night.

I would recommend Michaels house for those who like their creature comforts but don't like to stay in high rise central hotels and like to experience more of the local area.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoola2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had two nights in Beijing on our way to another city. We had read reviews of Michael's House being well located and having excellent service, and we were not disappointed. The room was comfortable, breakfast was simple but very good (boiled eggs, fruit, cereal), and the staff set us up for a city tour, and for our airport transfers. Wifi was reliable and reasonably fast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had the best stay of our trip around China here! A bit hard to find but we rang the hotel and passed the phone onto the taxi guy who was guided in by the lovely "Little" (one of the staff). Greeted at the door like long lost friends, the staff Jenny, Amy, Sophia and Little were fabulous. All speak English and are so helpful and thoughtful, providing whatever assistance we needed, direction, places to eat, umbrellas in event of rain, cups of tea and coffee etc. Michael's house is a courtyard style hotel (hutong) down a small alley, hence nice and quiet at nights sleep. Courtyard area ideal place to unwind in the evening and swap travel tales with other guests. Metro station is a 5 minute walk away and 2Y ( about 50 cents) will get you anywhere you want to go, easy!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but have everything you need with the bonus of the communal courtyard area to sit ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Michael's in May and it was by far the best place we have ever stayed. The place is immaculate, quiet, and they speak excellent english which was a huge help. Our bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed getting beers out of the cooler and playing cribbage in the courtyard. The staff were very friendly. I do not think i will return to China, but if I did I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaGal_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you want a hutong courtyard experience in Beijing there are other places you can stay, chances are they may be a little closer to central Bejing and the favoured tourist attractions, that said... I'm yet to find one that has such superb staff who will go to any lengths to make you feel at home and welcome you to their spotless and charming courtyard hotel. Taxi's are extremely cheap and readily available to get you around and the plus side is Michael's House is in a very quiet location so you can truly escape the hustle and bustle and save a considerable amount of RMB over what you would pay to be "closer to the action" I would not hesitate in recommending Michael's House to friends or family, all those who have already stayed on my recommendation have been delighted. The beds are the most comfortable I've slept in whilst in China, if sleep quality is important to you then you really should give this hidden gem a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#51 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#64 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing