We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Beijing”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #45 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Beijing”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Michael's house and it was totally great.
Great service provided by a kind and cool staff, the room is nice and cosy, and the inner courtyard the perfect place to relax after a long tough day in Beijing.

We really enjoyed our stay there and highly recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic and relaxing 'home' in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benito P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    140
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
121
208
66
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in a standard double room for two nights. The room was small but well equipped, with a large comfortable double bed. The bathroom was also small but clean and adequate. For a few nights this was fine, but if you plan to stay for a week or two, it may be better to book one of the larger rooms.
The hotel is a converted traditional hutong in which the rooms form a square facing inwards towards a courtyard which has been given a covered clear roof. This yard now forms the seating and breakfast area. Because the rooms are double-glazed, we had no trouble with noise from the public area, and in any case the people who choose to stay in such hotels are unlikely to be the mindless drunkards who upset others.
We came by subway and did have some trouble finding the hotel. It is located in a back street in a Chinese area. After our frustrating time finding it, as soon as we walked in we realised why it is rated so highly by travellers - it has real charm and the staff are excellent (they speak English). If you plan to walk from the subway (about 15 minutes walk), I would recommend enlarging and printing the map on the hotel website, including the address in Chinese characters. Get a taxi if you get lost - they are very cheap.
In our view, its rating in the top 5 hotels in Beijing is well justified, though it would benefit from clearer signposting in the streets. The hotel will not be to everyone's taste but it is a real gem and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Some people may think it was a little out of the way but I don't think so for a city the size of Beijing - plus so cheap to get a taxi anywhere. It was in an area where there were not a lot of Europeans so you get a feel (I think) for the "real" China. It was a converted hutong which is a courtyard covered like a conservatory with double glazed windows and doors in the bedrooms which gave it strange but cool feeling. We stayed in the Emporer suite and as our kids were under 11 they stayed for free (one on the sofa which according to her was great.) The only weird thing was that we were only given three towels as it was a 3 person room - that was strange but... The recptionist were nice and gave us fantastic reccommendations for local restuarants - try the szechuan one just down the road (loved the salt and pepper prawns) on the right across the road or go left and try the wire sweet potaotes - sweet potatoes cooked in hot sugar and then dipped in cold water to make a crunchy mess!! They also posted our postcards and sorted out a large taxi to get us to the airport early in the morning. Breakfast was ok and they actually made us an early one before we went to the wall. They provide trips but we were already with a guide

Room Tip: Emperor's room has a fantastic massive bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70sammy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I chose Michael's House because of great reviews on TripAdvisor, and was not disappointed. I love the fact that it is in the middle of a Chinese neighbourhood - when you walk out the door, you are immersed in community life. There are several really fine restaurants within a 5-minute walk: dumplings noodles, sichuanese, beijing duck - and an incredible little tea store nearby as well. The house itself is intimate, and the room I had was carefully decorated and very clean. Staff were more than helpful. One of them, Sophia, walked all the way to the restaurant where I was having dinner, just to tell me about a change in the time for a massage I had booked. She was sweet and thoughtful during my whole stay. And the massage therapist is truly amazing. After walking the Great Wall I had tight muscles and a sore knee, but after his massage, I was in better shape than before the walk! All in all, I was more than pleased.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is a good value. The hotel is average. The location is close to the subway by about a 10 minute walk. The rooms are clean though there were marks on the walls. The shower provided about 5 minutes of hot water. The main room is clean but the windows really need washing. There was chipped and worn paint here and there. We used the hotel personnel for travel arrangements in town and the results were inconsistent with some misses. The Tv is chinese. The cable box in the room was broken.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterfall9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A realy lovely place to stay, has the feel of a family run guest house rather than a hotel. After staying in lots of hotels in China this was one of the best and most enjoyable.
Managed to fit me in after I had miss booked my dates and gave me the best room for a single price. Book asap since it will get filled up early.
The hotel being around a central area is safe for families and don't be put off by it being down a small street since the area is full of working people and familes and so is safe. I was visiting my daughter who has been in Beijing for a year and this is a safe area so relax, China is just a bit of a shock when you first get off the plane.
Hints
Getting there - Take the new airport train to the centre (25yen pp), if you land at terminal 3 it goes to T2 then has two other stops towards the city centre. The first stop after T2 is sometimes easier to get a taxi at but the next stop which is the last is closer. Micheals house booked us a taxi back to the airport for I think 100yen which was the easiest way with luggage.

Make sure you have the address and taxi directions in Chineese the maps confuse them so just give them the Maderin text, but have a detailed view printed out of the couple of streets around this hotel since they may drop you off at the end of the main street.

Eating - We found a realy good place to eat, family run, no uniforms, clean cutlery and good Chineese food, but make sure they give you the rice. As you go out of the door turn right and go the the main street, turn left and go to the end of the road under the archway thingy (100m), and on the right hand corner there is a eating place with about 15 tables. the menu has pictures that you can point at, remember the colourfull ones are the spicy ones but nice.

enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiyuan, China
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Michael's is nice. It is the best place I have stayed for leisure travel in Beijing, though not perfect.

It is small, with only 12 rooms situated around a courtyard. The decor is attractive and colorful and Chinese/Western fusion with a few tacky things thrown in here and there.

The main reasons to stay here:
-Is a courtyard-style hotel with some character
-Helpful staff speak decent English
-It is ten minutes walk to the subway
-The beds are very soft (a rarity in China)
-The courtyard/lobby area is a nice gathering place if your group is staying in more than one room.
-Provides pretty much all of the amenities of a major hotel--in room safe, fridge, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, laundry service, etc.
-Breakfast included
-Clean

Some potential drawbacks:
-The standard rooms are very small (though the courtyard provides additional usable space)
-The lighting in our room was a bit dark
-The only windows in the rooms face the courtyard
-The small bathroom reminds me of the bathroom on a boat--though it does have its own shower area.
-It is a little hard for taxis to find
-Not great if you are looking for privacy and anonymity, much like a bed and breakfast
-The fuses in the lobby blew several times during my visit (a minor inconvenience)
-No restaurant
-No iron and ironing board in room

Overall, it is very quiet and the sound isolation between rooms seems good. But the downside of this is that any noise in the courtyard can be heard. The bathroom fan can provide white noise.

There are lots of restaurants nearby. The neighborhood is kind of interesting with small shops and street vendors.

The internet was quite fast, but dropped the connection a few times--maybe due to the blown fuses).

Alternatives? Budget chains (Orange, Home Inn) are half the price and very serviceable but lack character and English-speaking staff.

There are a number of budget to mid-level international hotels (Novotel, Ibis, Holiday Inn, Days Inn, Comfort Inn) that are about the same price or even a little cheaper. These will have bigger rooms, restaurants and so on, but little character.

Finally, I've stayed in a couple of other courtyard-type hotels. The Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard hotel is bigger, with more impressive courtyards and more traditional decor and even closer to the subway. But it costs more, is less comfortable, and there are more flaws.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite small, so if you need space you may want to select a larger option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#74 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#56 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Xidan
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#55 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#14 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing