We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Michael's House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beijing' Home(Beijing)
View Hotel
Wenhui Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveler rating
410
146
30
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
146
30
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovered courtyardjishuitan stationcentral courtyardminute walkcircle linetaxi driverhutong stylehome away from homesmall hotelyogurtreal beijingsmall alleyliving areabed was very comfortabledumplingsreception deskenglish speaking staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 592 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

When we first pulled up at Michael's House after 15hrs travelling you are a bit dubious as from outside it's not that great! But then you get in and it's lovely.

Warm, friendly, cosy, great staff - Sophie and Amy. This was my first trip to China and it the nicest thing turning up to such welcoming people!

The rooms are really well done. They make the most of the space and look lovely. Plus spotless with good showers. We had TV problems but that was nothing to do with the hotel. Usually we were able to get English channels easily.

As with all courtyard hotels the rooms come straight off them. It's more of a ski chalet feel where if you want you can be social. The place felt really secure. I was in a room on my own and didn't at anytime feel concerned. There is someone on the desk 24hrs.

I stayed here on and off over 10 days and travelled around China using it as my base coming back every few days for a couple of nights. The staff let us leave our luggage there which was great. They also sorted taxis, translated flight information, wrote instructions for take out soup as one of our party was ill! They really are great.

Once you've stayed in other courtyards / hotels in china, you realise just how warm, how comfy the beds are and how relaxing the place is. It was freak -12 conditions in Beijing when we went and would have never known (believe me you did at other places!)

And randomly, Tilda Swinton stayed there!

Room Tip: If you're having a double get the room by the office as it's set back from the Courtyard.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent our firstz 4 days of our China-trip in Beijing and we are thankfull that we did chose Michael's House to spend the nights.
We enjoyed the contact with the friendly & very helpfull staff. We had a real good time at Michael's House =:O).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruedi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at michaels over the new year period. This place is great. The thing that really makes michaels stand out is the service. The staff here are great, nothing is a problem. On new years eve they had organised a party with food and drinks before we headed out. We really did enjoy our time here....but....the television would not work in our room. We asked to move rooms. The television in the new room also didn't work. Very annoying. But all in all this is a great place to stay! The subway is a 5-10 minute walk. There are plenty of places to eat close by, and some the food from the street stalls at night is really good. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay in Beijing a very memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family of four stayed here for five nights up to Christmas morning. Michael's House is a house that was converted into a hotel, in a hutong area of Beijing. What really makes Michael's great is their staff. Amy and Sofie were incredibly helpful. We also had the good fortune of meeting Michael's wife Joanna. The staff even organized a Christmas party on Christmas Eve, and gave each of my family a gift. I cannot say enough good things about the team here. There are several restaurants within a 5-10 min walk from the hotel that have menus in English. Additionally, there is a shopping mall and a Wu Mart about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The breakfasts are great, and the wifi is good, and the atmosphere of the enclosed courtyard area is super. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at Michael's house for 5 nights with our 2 children in December. A little difficult to find for taxis but great little place. Although it was very cold outside (about -10 at night), the room was very warm, clean and cosy. The staff is extremely helpful. Central yard is pleasant if you want to read and be out of your room, would be even better if people weren't not allowed to smoke in there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaM-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews