We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #43 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel with central courtyard. Rooms clean and comfy with buffet breakfast served each day in the charming courtyard. Staff extremely helpful and courteous. Although not situated in the CBD, position gave an insight into the lives of the locals. Would highly recommend for those seeking a personalised exdperience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Michael's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 574 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Beijing. We spent 5 nights at Michael's House and were very happy with our decision. The hotel is in a very beautiful old courtyard house, with loads of charm. Very beautifully appointed, very clean, and very comfortable. The staff is just lovely and go out of their way to make you feel at home. We were traveling with our 17-month old son and they were so great with him. They have a baby cot available as well, which is a huge boon for those traveling with toddlers. The included continental breakfast is very generous and the coffee is strong and delicious. The location is also great, down an old hutong in a neighborhood that has lots of activity at night, including great street food. The lady at the end of the hutong who makes dumplings was a favorite. Subway line 2 is a short 10-minute walk away and Haidalao Hot Pot, one of the top rated restaurants on TripAdvisor for Beijing is just a 15-minute walk away.

There is some construction going on next door. The hotel has a sign up informing their guests and it seems as though they've made an effort to limit the working hours. I believe the sign said that work would begin at 0800 and go until 1800 but it was more like 0700 to 2100. This is obviously not something the hotel can control and to be honest it did not bother us at all. Just something to keep in mind if you are very sensitive to noise. It wasn't a problem for us, even with a small child. It never woke him up or gave him any trouble falling asleep.

Michael's House was a great find and we highly recommend it as a place to stay in Beijing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desconocido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Felt like we were visiting family friends. I travelled with a Chinese colleague who visits China several times a year and generally stays in hotels. I found the guesthouse and suggested we try it. We were both impressed by the home like atmosphere and friendly staff! I have found a perfect place to stay during my business travels to China. Planning my next stay with the family also.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Staying at Michael's House is more like visiting a friend than staying at a hotel. Clean & cozy, the rooms are outfitted for western tastes. Although somewhat off the beaten path, Michael's is a 10 minute walk to the subway, where all of Beijingis in easy reach. Definitely not for the 5 star hotel traveler, but perfect for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arcodon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had an absolutely lovely time staying at Michael's House. Not only are the rooms clean and spacious but the staff are just so wonderful. When we left we were truly sad to say goodbye to them! They helped us to organize a private car for a trip to the Great Wall, and also were really flexible in getting us a different room when there was some construction noise outside. Really great people. Our trip would not have been as complete without a stay at Michael's House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 3 days - just missing the recent snowstorm - and found it a delightful place to stay. After the frenetic sightseeing around the city (made even more busy by the fact that we have two young blonde daughters), we found Michael's House to be the perfect setting to rest and chill out. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our requests. It was lovely to stay in a hutong and felt part of the vibe in the evenings when we ate the nearby street food or ate at the local Chinese restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AP4TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this extremely cosy and beautiful Hutong style place. We had the Empress Suite which was very large and extremely tastefully decorated in traditional Chinese fashion making our stay even more special. The staff ( Amy ,Caroline and Sophie) were excellent attending to every little detail of ours.
Highly recommended for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#100 of 6,531 in Beijing
427 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,531 in Beijing
259 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,531 in Beijing
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $81 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing