We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liaoning International Hotel (formerly known as Royal King Hotel, Beijing)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liaoning International Hotel
Ranked #221 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Liaoning International Hotel during our 5 days tour of Imperial Beijing in March 2012.

We were pre-checked at this hotel by our tour agency, so obtained our keys and proceeded to our room immediately without the usual hassle of registering at the front desk. The hotel lobby and surrounding is pleasant and corridors to our room foyer well lighted up. Our room is excellent with all the usual amenities of an international hotel - toiletries and complimentary tea/coffee/bottled water (I was informed before our departure to Beijing, that this local hotel is rated 5-stars according to hotel rating standards in China, so did not expect the grandeur of an international hotel). I was tickled pink in noticing that the hotel include a large box of condoms for sale to hotel guest which was prominently displayed at the bedside table. Also, you may want to draw the blinds in the bathroom, which has a glass partition wall facing the bed and TV... I guess some hotel guess enjoy watching TV while having a soak in the bath tub.

Breakfast is served at the coffee shop on the ground level... service starts at 6:30am and includes self-served buffet Chinese and Western meals. However, eggs are fried only one style...i.e. the Chinese chef's choice... the cooks don't understand what is "sunny side up" or "over easy" for that matter... so I could not imagine anyone requesting for "scrambled eggs". Another thing to note, expect a stranger, two or three if you are unlucky (referring to local Chinese hotel guests staying at the hotel to plonked in any minute at your table while you are enjoying your breakfast... none of these local hotel guests bother to ask whether they can share your table!... just pretend these are invisible guest about in the coffee shop.

Conclusion, we had an enjoyable stay at the Liaoning International Hotel despite the queer local cultural behaviors

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Royal King Hotel (now renamed Liaoning Hotel) is in the Haidian district, ideal for visitors to the Universities and high tech industries in the north west of Beijing, but a long way from the main tourist sites. The rooms are quite well appointed and reasonably spacious, but despite being quite new there are signs of wear and tear. While we were there (Jan 2012) two new lifts were installed and some chipped tiles etc were repaired, but in our rooms there were broken tiles, mouldy fittings and stains on the chairs that had not been attended to for some time. The cleaning staff were diligent and hard working, and the general cleanliness of the Hotel was good.
Breakfasts were of a good standard and reasonable value for money compared to Western prices, although the range was a bit limited. The pastries and omlettes are recommended. The Hotel Cafe served OK food 24-hours/day, but was quite expensive compared to surrounding restaurants.
The Hotel staff were quite friendly, attentive and professional, and gave good service, particularly the cafe staff, but most spoke very limited English and trying to communicate something more complex than "tea please" was a challenge.
We found the best local eatery was the UBC Coffee cafe around the corner form the Hotel - great selection of very nice food, including some Western meals, at very good prices, with menus in English (very useful).
Because of its isolation, we found we used the Metro/subway virtually every day to get around. The station at Zhuanguancun is about a 20 mins straight walk from the Hotel (16 Yuan taxi ride). Tickets cost 2 Yuan each, regardless of destination, so its a great way to travel providing you don't mind standing or crowds. There are buses which travel the route from the Hotel to Station but without a local guide who speaks the language there is little chance of getting on and around by bus.
The nearest 'sites' to see are the Summer Palace (highly recommended, one of the best sites in Beijing) and the Olympic village.

Room Tip: One side of the Hotel (the easter side) faces the Northern railway line which is about 30 metres awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKEELAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

the hotel was good hotel for my short trip. unaware of any other hotel, we took advise of our company to stay here. the amenities we good. restaurant could have been better and the reception staff could have smiled a bit more :) - it was about a 35 minute taxi ride from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller09092323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel and restaurant staff were very polite, but spoke little to no English. If you stay at this hotel you should learn some key phrases in Mandarin. The rooms were spacious, but cleanliness was questionable. I found a pile of someone's cut toenails in my room the first night. I'm not sure how often the room was vacuumed. The bathroom was also spacious, but had some water damage.
The breakfast buffet had a variety of food (cereal, pastries, juice, omelette station, waffles, fruit, salad, noodles, fried rice, etc). There was always plenty of seating room. The work out room had several treadmills, bikes, weight machines, free weights, eliptical, etc. The business center consisted of 1 computer and printer and there was a per minute usage charge. The "Spa" had reasonable prices, but offerred questionable additional services. The hotel had 2 restaurants on site and was attached to the China Beauty Club (karaoke).
The hotel location is close to Peking University Campus and Olympic venue, but far from other tourist attractions. I had to take a cab or public transportation everywhere. I had a pleasant stay, but would not stay here again if travelling to Beijing for leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valentine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Clean room with basic bathroom accessories. Service is quite good. There are many mini shops around. It may be noisy for some as the hotel is located beside the main road.
However, it is far away from the city. You can hardly do much shopping around here.
Hot water from the shower seems to be rather cold than warm.
Be careful of the shops in the hotel. They will tend to overcharge you. So please do your homework before proceeding to Beijing

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eatloveparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This hotel was part of a tour so we did not choose the location nor did we have to deal with service such as check in.
For location, I can not say if the hotel is in a good location because we were taken by bus everywhere, but the hotel did not seem close to any of the major attractions if you are trying to travel independently.
The hotel rooms were very new. The rooms had the newest fixtures, a large bathtub and standup shower with large rain head. The hotel provides the usual amenities such as two bottles of free water. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very good. The room was very spacious There was a flat screen TV, a bar fridge, desk, and lounge chair.
When I first turned on the faucet, the water was brown. This may indicate the room was not in use for a while and the city is on old infrastructure. But there were no water issues subsequently.
The public areas are smoking so that may be an issue for some.
The lower concourse has a few small shops such as a small variety store for items such as water and snacks. There is a restaurant and bar on the main level.
I also noted that there is a train tracks beside the hotel which may disturb some, but I did not find it too much of an issue at all.
Overall, the rooms itself were quite comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank synToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zprym2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#75 of 6,568 in Beijing
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#172 of 6,568 in Beijing
187 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,584 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liaoning International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liaoning International Hotel

Address: No.2A North 4th Ring West Road, Beijing 100190, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Wudaokou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $93 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Liaoning International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in Haidian District and has a convenient access to the country's so-called Silicon Valley, Zhongguancun, and many of the city's cultural and historic attractions. Their rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with free high-speed Internet access, LCD TV with satellite channels, a DDD/ IDD phone, and private toilet and bath with sprinkler shower. Among their facilities includes a health club that features steam bath, gymnasium, and jacuzzi, spa, beauty salon and barber shop, an indoor swimming pool, a dicso, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Liaoning International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing