We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and oilly”

Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan)
Ranked #54 of 12,670 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Asian Games Village
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hot and oilly”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The spicy soup is very hot. White soup is nice.
Should try even a bit expensive. Very crowded, need do early for booking.

Helpful?
Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    84
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Extraordinary service in an extraordinary restaurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is not just a restaurant - it's an experience. When you get there without a reservation, you will be treated like in the business class lounge of Dubai airport while you are waiting. You can get a free shoe polishing, manicure, games, drinks and snacks. It's a joy to be kept waiting! But the food is excellent too: The salad and some other side dishes are free no matter what you order. The meat comes in two different hot pot soups: One hot and one light. There are dozens of meat types and you eat them like a fondue. You have to try this to know what I am talking about. A must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotpot”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Go early or in between meal times. Wait can be long but its quite worthwhile. If u can, gather as many people for a better experience so thst u can order a wider variety of stuff, otherwise u'll end up like us..getting stuffed! But definitely worth it.
P.s. Be prepared for ur clothes to smell of the place after; so u might wanna make sure u can launder them or at least air them out somewhere, right sfter...

Helpful?
Thank KCWinter69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food. Great Price. Must Visit.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Open 24/7. A unique Beijing experience. Communal eating at your table. They setup a hotpot at your table. You select the ingredients, and the dipping sauces, and enjoy. They have bilingual menus. We lucked out and had a waiter who spoke English. Some of the menu items are rather esoteric and not for the conservative eater. But, they have enough variety to cover both the adventurous and the picky. A warning. Your clothes will smell after you leave the restaurant. But that's a small price to pay!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carpe_Diem2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An okay experience!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at Haidilao Hot Pot Beijing about one month ago. We heard about this restaurant from Trip Advisor reviews. We had organized a driver during our stay in Beijing and he drove us to the restaurant for this lunch. The driver (a native of Beijing) could not believe we were going to a Sichuan hot pot restaurant, and much less that this place was highly recommended by Trip Advisor. In his words, this is in no way a typical food/restaurant in Beijing, and further it is quite inappropriate for dining Sichuan food during the summer months (during our stay in Beijing, the city was experiencing a severe heat wave!). He explained to us that natives of Beijing would rather eat light and cold meals during hot months reflecting the yin & yang philosophy of balanced life in China. Nevertheless, we did go to the restaurant anyway. The place is okay; the staff was very friendly although not a single person in the restaurant spoke any English. We ordered from a menu displayed on an IPAD (with many pictures) but we really did not have much idea of what we were ordering. The food was average; I would not necessarily recommend it to anyone as a must visit place in Beijing. As we left the restaurant, we realized that the area is surrounded by various embassies and consulates, so maybe this is one of the reasons of the popularity of this restaurant. I cannot quite see that this place is recommended time and time again on the basis of the quality of its food or ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrozenSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan) also viewed

 

Been to Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing