We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with the Park Plaza Beijing West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Plaza Beijing West
Ranked #159 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am another Grand Circle Tour person Nov 9 -12. I also agree that the rooms were clean, comfortable, modern, and equipped with everything I needed. Breakfast was terrific as was their restaurant. This was the very start of a 3 week trip. The airline nearly ruined my suitcase. I hoped for a solution that would keep it going until I had free time to shop for a new one. A young woman, Snow, at the front desk understood the problem. She took my suitcase to their engineer. Within 1 hour it was fixed. It lasted through the rest of the trip. So not only was I please with the hotel, I am grateful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl_tropic_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 186 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

I too stayed with a Grand Circle Tour from Nov 9-12, 2012. Room was clean and in great condition, breakfast was a terrific blend of western, European and Asian offerings, staff had sufficient English to get by but would have made life easier if they had been more fluent. The only beds that was acceptably soft during our 3 week travels - all other hotels had the hard (way past firm) mattresses considered desirable in China. Lobby and public areas were nicely decorated. WiFi was free and worked well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed 5 nights with a Grand Circle Tour Group in mid October 2012.Superior level, large, modern king-bed room with comfortable mattress, crisp linens, wall of windows with opening patio door, sofa and side tables. Nicely tiled over-sized shower in big bathroom with plentiful toiletries and towels. Umbrella, slippers, robe, refrigerator, kettle and tea supplies. Desk with convenient power outlets and free wired internet. Large flat-screen TV with CNN, and CCTV in English. Good lighting throughout room and in bathroom.

Room was clean and well maintained. Rooms were both stuffy and cold during our stay, as we were told that at this time of year, due to energy concerns, the government does not allow climate control to be used. Since the temperature was up to 25-26 C or so one day, and down to 5 C another, both heating and AC would have been appreciated. Not a major problem, but could be a concern later in October or in early spring.

Enjoyed prompt delivery of room service, and also ate in the restaurant every day for breakfast and one lunch. Foods were kept at a proper temperature, good omelettes, best food of any hotel I stayed at in China.

Staff understood English perfectly for wake-up calls, room service, and provided helpful directions to local stores. Provided morning newspaper.

Many convenient stores nearby, fruit stand and news stand out to left, supermarket across the street from the newsstand, and a shopping mall a short taxi ride away. Quiet in rooms at night, little street noise. Taxi to hotel from airport was 140 yuan at mid-day and took about 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Sixth floor on front of hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torontogal-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here recently for a 4 nights stay to Beijing. The first impression of the entrance and lobby area was good but check in would have been ages if there hadn´t been people in our group that spoke chinese as the in all the four days there not one person at the front desk spoke fluent english. 2 or 3 people knew a few words but this has been it. Very difficult communication.

Had a room on the 12th floor which is a business floor. Everything clean and nicely decorated. The room itself was large, two beds, a desk, a chair and a small sofa. The room was equipped with a fridge and a safe. Things were getting shabby as there were stains on the floor and the furniture had some signs of age, too. Bathroom nice with large rain shower (sign in the door said pull when you had to push) but lack of cleanliness here. Many amenities as usual in China and a glass wall from the shower to the room. After all ok.

Big concern is the internet. Cable in the room didn´t work. Wireless extremly slow or out of order. This is not standard anymore but seems to be a problem with other guests as well. Skype connections were not possible. This was a major disappointment.

Restaurant on the first floor "Solid Dining" with lots of selections for breakfast so recommend that. For dinner it is not recommendable. Cold food, bad quality and selection. Better go outside, some good restaurants there.

Location far away from the city. Quite a walk to the subway, but this is Line 1 with stops at Tianamen / Forbidden City. A taxi is about 40-50 RMB into town and takes about 30 minutes depending on where you´re going and what time it is (traffic jams...). When going to the hotel enquire the fare!!! Taxi to Beijing airport in the morning took 90 minutes and 160 RMB cost.

Next time I would stay more to the city center as this was too far out.

Room Tip: A room on the business floor would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Personally speaking, I like the area and the hotel, it is a good price for value and it has actually exceeding my expectations. I used my Carlson Club Gold Points to book the room for 4 nights (20,000 Club Carlson-Points + Cash = Superior Room) and added another 6 nights for a deluxe-room.

About the concierge: I'm well settled with Chinese to handle it, but for testing I pretended not to understand and asked some questions in English, there is English assistance available and check-in went smoothly.

02.00pm would be check-in-time, but room wasn't available, after showing the reservation details it was suddenly available. For 4 nights RMB 3,000 have been taken as deposit / it is around 50%+ from the actual rate of 4 nights. (credit card is fine).

The lobby: it looks pretty luxury and good, will attach some photos in this blog, for your reference.
The room: clean and tidy, attention to detail, safe deposit box is available, internet available in the room, desk in the room, also very convinient. Surprised that there is an umbrella in each wardrobe that you can borrow, but of course need to return.

Fitness Center is fine, not extremely special, but a place to do some exercise. Especially in Beijing people like to eat meat and salty, it might be necessary to get into level 3 for at least an hour. After that we trurly deserve such "guilty" meals with calories. (first burn, than earn! :-)

Frankly speaking, if you are taking "number 11 bus" in Beijing (walking), it won't be necessary to do running / walking in the gym at all.

Between airport and hotel: no need to take a taxi, just take air-train from the airport (Level B1) and get a ticket for RMB 25 to Dong-Zhi-Men Station, than take subway line 2 to FUXINGMENG, than interchange to subway line 1 to WU-KE-SONG Station.

The hotel is near to subway-line 1, Wuke-Song-Subway Station, exit B1, than follow the road down to the cross-road and turn left, cross another two roads, it will be right there on the left side.

Room Tip: Premium Rooms may go unsold and can be offered at check-in for as little as 38 CNY extra per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SQUALO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our tour group used this hotel instead of the Doubletree which we had been expecting. So I was disappointed with this choice. The good: rooms are ultra-modern, beds are comfortable (I like FIRM mattresses), refrigerator in room, umbrella and every bathroom convenience in room, spacious lobby, breakfast buffet, free internet access in business center in lobby, friendly front desk staff. The not-so-good: minor repair needed and reported in bathroom was never attended to, wait for food in dining room late at night was unbelievable; some guests walked out after waiting futilely for over 1/2 hour for food; room service alternated between swift and unbelievably long in response time; only moderate English skills of front desk staff.
Overall- experience was fine, but I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaceAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spent 6 nights at the hotel for a conference. The hotel is modern and clean, and the rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. I believe I can say it was the nicest shower of any hotel I've ever stayed in (and I stay in a lot of hotels). The breakfast buffet had something for everyone. The fruit in particular was very good.

Now for the down side. First and foremost, it's a long way from anywhere you might want to go. To get into town, you can take a cab or the subway. Beijing cabs are very reasonable, but while cab drivers are happy to take you into town for the meter rate, they don't like to go out of town, and will try to jack the price up. They start at about three times the meter rate and you can haggle them down to somewhere between the meter and 50% over. If you take the subway, it's the better part of a mile walk (or bus) to the Wukesong station, but that's line 1, which will take you right to the center of town.

Also, I have a lot to keep track of when I travel, so I rely on the internet, and the internet at the hotel was *horrible*. There's only wireless in the lobby and lounges. The rooms have only wired. The bandwidth is very slow and the entire network is down about 25% of the time.

I'm not sure if some large fraction of the staff was in training, but simple operations like checking in and out invariably led to confusion, animated discussion, and generally took much longer than they should have. This is compounded by the fact that they seem to do a lot of business with tours, so there may be big crowds at the desk. Allow yourself plenty of time to check out.

If you're coming to Beijing as a tourist, definitely look for somewhere closer into town. If you have a reason to be in this area, this is a nice hotel if you don't mind the bad internet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cirejcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,994 reviews
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,299 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Beijing West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Beijing West

Address: No.17 Xicui Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100036, China
Location: China > Beijing > Wanshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#131 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $80 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Beijing West 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to suit the needs of today's business and leisure travellers, the Park Plaza Beijing West hotel is a contemporary, smart hotel located on the end of Beijing Chang An boulevard. The spacious Beijing hotel rooms are well equipped, while the dining and entertainment options are designed to satisfy every taste. Facilities include a range of functions rooms, well equipped gymnasium, club lounge and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Beijing West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing West Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing