We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nuage

Nuage
Ranked #220 of 12,625 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had been trying to find another restaurant but failed. It was getting late, we were hungry and fed up of looking so decided to try Nuage for no other reason than we were standing outside and they were about the only place that didn't seem to have a band on. The restaurant is on 2 levels and we were seated upstairs (on the night we were there they only seemed to be using upstairs.) The large room had subdued lighting and styled so tables had rickshaw seats, touristy but not over the top. We were sat by a window so had a lake view. It was getting late so the restaurant was pretty quiet with just a few tables in use and all were western tourists. Service was efficient. Haven't had much vietenamese cuisine so cannot vouch for authenticity but everything we ordered was tasty. We thought the prices were reasonable for the area. English menu

Helpful?
Thank EscapingScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    54
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a real delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been to Nuage a few times, but I was very impressed this time by the diversity and novelty of the dishes. Very fresh as usual but quite different and with a lot of character this time. We were a party of 4 and we ordered a lot of different dishes we shared. Areal delight!
A Valuable Tip : You are better off arriving quickly : We were lucky to get good service as we arrived early (around 7;30pm) : as the restaurant can fill up easily you get served quickly; if you arrive late, service is not as good and you have to wait for your orders for a long time

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonaldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“colonial feel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The decor of the restaurant is like a multilevel colonial house (a little bit Peranakan/straits chinese style more than vietnamese but nevertheless very pretty). The food was nice though not something than convinced me to come back again, which had been my original plan. The restaurant is located in HonHai, which IMHO is a trashy upscale tourist trap fake-lake park, destroying the experience of being there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickichickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You'd better try next door”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Each time I went to Beijing, I had lunch at Nuage. I shall not anymore. The location is beautiful with a view on Qian Hai lake and an old building with a very warm feel.
However, this is expensive for Beijing standards (I do not remember how much but the USD15 to 25 range advertised on Tripadvisor sounds correct), the food is good but not exceptional (Vietnamese food can sometimes be really nice, try Nha Trang in Hong Kong) and the service is awful.
This time I rembembered that this had been the case already when I came to Beijing two years ago and I had better remember before entering the restaurant!
The waitresses do not smile, are not responsive when you try to catch their attention and are not helpful. English is poor which is acceptable in Beijing but a bit surprising in such a location and a restaurant which obviously targets tourists (you will always find some westerners attracted by the beautiful venue)

There is a Chinese restaurant next door : much less romantic, without view and with the Chinese feel of busy, loud restaurants. If you are looking to eat something nice only, try this one instead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

In response to previous review - cheapness is a relative concept. Thought it expensive for what it was. However delightful setting and great service. Watched kite fliers round lake and heavy wooden finish to ex warehouse was lovely. Food was good but overpriced for what we had - duck in tamarind, spicy beef, coconut rice and ginger chicken rice, two singapore slings and. A couple of beers. Y 360 tasty but not exceptional and we have had some exceptional at a lower price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuage also viewed

 
Beijing, China
 

Been to Nuage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing