We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
Ranked #156 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family stayed here from Jan 3 to 5, 2013 for our Beijing holiday. The hotel seems new and clean. The decor was oriental but modern. The room was spacious with a sitting area. The beds were very comfortable ( with a choice of hard or soft pillows). The tv channels were all in Chinese though. The bathroom was roomy too. Breakfast was good with lots of fruits and juices, although the viands are not very western. Wifi is good even inside the rooms, but FB and twitter are blocked, of course :p I liked that the hotel is right beside a shopping mall where one can buy treats and winter gear. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. I enjoyed my stay so much that I plan on booking with other Holiday Inn Expresses in my next travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gk041305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    201
    115
    24
    10
See reviews for
52
35
31
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel on a business trip, for a congress at the National Convention centre. The hotel is conveniently located close to Beitucheng subway station, 2 stops away.
However, since the entrance is in an alley with restricted access, some taxi drivers seemed not to be sure how to get to it. Moreover, as others have pointed out, it is almost impossible to get a taxi to pick you up at the hotel unless it is a very slow time of the day. The tourist desk is supposed to book taxis for you, but the person there was quite rude, seemed bothered by requests and didn't make any effort, would usually just tell you to wait a while because there weren't any available.
People at reception however were usually smiling and helpful and most of them seemed to me to speak English to a reasonable degree.
The hotel is convenient for the CNCC and Olympic Park; not so much for the city centre, as you will need to change lines twice to get to Tiananmen by subway. A taxi to Tiananmen costs around 30 RMB.
The room was sizable and the bed was comfortable. The climate control worked well. The windows were large, but they had good courtains which completely blocked out the sunlight if desired.
There was a faint but unpleasant smell when I arrived (a combination of sweat and cigarette smoke), so I left the window open and most of it went away, though it clung to the linen a bit and I didn't really get completely rid of it until they changed it the next morning. After that it was fine.
The bathroom also had a good size and amenities were provided.
The wifi was not very good but an etehernet cable was provided to plug in a laptop.
The breakfast buffet I found to be quite nice and reasonably varied, with both Chinese and Western options. I didn't have any other meals there.
I used the laundry service and it was fast and effective.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing East to the Nationalities Park have the nicest views, I guess, but in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank el_monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed her for three nights during winter. They offer two types of pillows (hard and soft), no cooling system during winter (which is okay), limited breakfast choices, and limited English for the guests. The hotel is located near China Town which gives you access to a supermarket, some local resto and a local mall. It is also some 10-minute walk away from the Beijing Olympic Park. Nice hotel but will probably stay somewhere next time because of the location. Not much to tourist sites to see within the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My stay in this hotel was all in all agreeable.

I stayed here with my family last year for a Beijing vacation.

All the basic amenities you would expect are here. Nice, clean and well appointed rooms with comfortable beds, cable tv, study table and clean bathrooms.

If you want to stay near the olympic park, this is the hotel for you, as the bird's nest and water cube are within walking distance. I took a nice evening walk with my family when we visited last year.

On the downside the hotel may be a bit difficult to find since it is behind a shopping mall.

Also had a difficult time getting assistance from the hotel staff as english was barely spoken. Spent close to two hours talking to the front office staff trying to get an aspirin for my wife who was suffering from a migraine, which in the end we did not get.

Otherwise had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qallado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 12 or so nights at the end of September. It is a typical Holiday Inn express, and so there is nothing particularly good or bad about the hotel. It is clean and the wifi and breakfast was free, with the latter being just about acceptable unless you were happy eating a Chinese style breakfast.

The rooms were of OK size, and to be fair I thought the shower facilities were good. There was a laundry room in the hotel which was a nice touch however it is a shame they don't have even a small gym given the size of the hotel.

The location of the hotel is very close to the Olympic park which was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloughy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel was a nice option we found in Beijing. The first night was not that positive, taxi had issues locating the hotel as it is in the back parking of a shopping mall, the entrance looks scary at night. The room they gave us had walls with lots of stains and the door handle was broken, didn't feel safe. Contacted reception and they agreed to change the room.
Breakfast is ok, but dishes are mainly for locals. Now beware, the hotel is a stop for tourist tours, so some mornings the breakfast has like 1 million persons there all shouting and screaming, no place to sit and difficult to get food. This was a funny experience!
Now in the morning the location looked way better, and to our surprise it is very close to Bird's Nest Stadium and Olympic Park, we went there walking. Excellent location for walking around. There was also a nice silk factory close and an excellent restaurant where we had a fabulous Beijing Duck dish. (also there is a Mcdonald's close, very convenient too).
The staff at the hotel were always young persons that looked inexperienced, every question you made them they had to call someone to get clarification on what to do.
They have a travel agency at the lobby and it was simply fantastic service, we arranged several tours and transportation and provided excellent recommendations on what to do in the city. Excellent service by Daisy at this agency!!!!

For the price paid, I consider we made a great deal, glad I found this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosfurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

good value hotel as hotel in beijing is pretty expensive. Easy to access the Beijing with Subway as subway just around the corner.
Very hard to get Taxi anyway and quite far if you are going tian an men. Breakfast is quite limited choice. Room is pretty small and amneties is limited.
If you like to shop for some cheap stuff, there is a hypermarket just beside the hotel so pretty convenience. Overall Good Location and Good Value if you do not expect 5 star breakfast and service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Optimus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#59 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Asian Games Village
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan

Property: Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
Address: Building3, No.2 Minzuyuan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun is located in the heart of bustling Zhongguancun, Often referred to as China's Silicon Valley.The hotel neighbors a number of multi-national enterprises,scientific institution, art galleries and renowned universities.The Beijing subway is 5 minutes walk from the hotel, only ten-minutes drive from Shangdi Hi-tech;while Beijing International Airport is 40 minutes drive by car.Just a short distance away stands the majestic sights of Yuanmingyuan Ruins Park and the Summer Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing