We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Western style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
Ranked #163 of 6,517 Hotels in Beijing
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good value Western style hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This Holiday Inn offers very good value for your money in Beijing. The lobby, the atrium and the rooms are smart and modern. I have to say that given the choice between a modern Western hotel and a Chinese hotel, with the same price range, I would choose the former 9 times out of 10.

Yes the rooms are small. But I don't really need vacant space for the sake of space. It has amenities that Chinese hotels in similar price class don't have; a safe and a very good work table. And of course Western TV channels. There is both cable and wifi and it is free.

The reception staff spoke passable English and the manager spoke competent English. When I asked him to make a business phonecall in Chinese, he did it for me and I was able to get the business done. I didn't eat there but the outside seating for the bar/cafe looked very nice.

Now for the downsides. It is out of the way, close to the 4th Ring Rd. I have hardly been out this far. But the station Beitucheng on Line 10 is close by and this makes it rather convenient. It's just one change, at Sanyuanqiao, to the airport. A change to Line 5 will get you to Wangfujing. This allows you to avoid the horrible Beijing traffic crawling along the 2nd and 3rd Ring roads.

It is also hidden away from the road with no signage on Minzuyuan Rd. which to me is an inexplicable oversight. It makes the hotel almost impossible to find on your first try. It doesn't help that a lot of cabbies don't know the hotel. But the name of the road it is on is part of the hotel name and this being a major thoroughfare, all drivers know it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    204
    116
    25
    11
See reviews for
53
36
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed here for 7 days, from May 26-June 2, 2011. It's a pretty standard hotel - cable, internet, queen sized bed, office table and small sofa. The room was clean enough although the room had the faint smell of cigarette smoke - I think our room was a smoking room since there were ashtrays on the table. No view from the window - unless you consider the ground floor of the hotel a view.

Our only complaint with this hotel was the food, particularly the breakfast buffet. At first glance, the buffet seemed to have a lot of choices. But the food is pretty bland and they don't bother to change the options. So by our 3rd day, we were sick of the food!

The hotel's located quite far from the city center. One time, we took a 45-minute taxi ride from Tianenmen to the hotel. The better option is to just take the subway. Good news is, there's a subway stop just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It's also close to the Olympic Village - I think about a 5 km. walk?

One tip for visitors who want to see what the locals are up to is to try walking along the square going to the Olympic Village at night - around 8pm. A lot of local teenagers come here to rent rollerblades, and have turned a section of the square into a roller rink. You can also see them singing on portable videoke machines, and generally just hanging out. We walked around at night and it felt pretty safe so security shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAsian_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Hotel is located just across the road from Olympic Stadium which is quite far from city centre however you'll need just 30 min to get to the Tienanmen on subway, station is in a walking distance...Rooms are not very spacey but clean, free Internet and Laundromat was also a nice point, reception staff is helpful however you can face some communication problems...the only disappointing thing was an entrance which is very hard to find on a back alley...anyway I'll recommend you this hotel if you are looking for nice property with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viacheslav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very nice Hotel near the Olympic stadium. I got a room towards the Atrium, so it was completely quiet during the night. The terrace gives a good spot for breakfast and a drink at night. Complementary wifi available everywhere.
The organization of Taxis etc. was extremely good. If there is something not perfect than the breakfast, the buffet was average to good, not excellent as the rest of the stay :-)

PROS
- comfortable quite rooms
- quiet
- clean
- complimentary wifi

CONS
- nothing

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BluWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Of all the Holiday Inns I've stayed in, this was one of the worst. The location is terrible, down an alley, next to a mall and far from anything cool. That wasn't as bad as the hotel itself. The rooms surround an atrium and you can see into everyone's room. It felt like a prison! The rooms were minuscule, the bathroom ceiling was leaking and moldy and the shower flooded into the room! Yuch!!! Breakfast was dismal. It was mostly bad Chinese, and the sausage was some sort of processed pork that bore a close resemblance to a hot dog. The fruit was old and the juice was a frozen concentrate mix. The staff didn't speak any English. There was nothing redeeming about this hotel. I left after one night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aglobalfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I had a group of 38 teenagers and sponsors. We stayed at this hotel due to an excellent price and the exterior of the hotel looked awesome. However, there were many problems with this hotel. 1. It was difficult to find; the entrance is in a back alley. 2. There is nothing within walking distance for a group except a McDonalds about 1/4 mile away. You have to walk in complete darkness to get to the McDonalds. 3. In multiple rooms the shower water drained back into the carpet. 4. The breakfast area is not clean! Very interesting breakfast choices and crowded every morning. 5. Perhaps the biggest was the failure of the hotel to exchange RMB. This made no sense at all. They ran out of RMB and would not exchange US for RMB for the entire stay.

The Internet was good for our group with multiple computers although the lobby was incredibly small for such a large hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank im4duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Our room was nice, spacious enough for 2 people and more than adequately comfortable. Bathroom was clean, shower area quite spacious. The staff was generally courteous and could communicate in at least basic english. Some selection for the breakfast buffet, though some of the food is not something I'd personally eat for breakfast so I generally stuck to rice, eggs, ham/bacon/sausages. Can be a bit crowded during breakfast, though. My only complaint is the location ... quite far from the central area of the city where all the tourist spots are. There's the metro about a 5-min walk away, which was quite easy to navigate as long as you knew where you wanted to go, but it still took us 45 min to get to the heart of things. If you don't mind that 45 min., then this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_Nicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
#581 of 6,517 in Beijing
160 reviews
Shangdi
Holiday Inn Express Shangdi
Holiday Inn Express Shangdi
#124 of 6,517 in Beijing
168 reviews
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#70 of 6,517 in Beijing
230 reviews
Asian Games Village
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan

Property: Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
Address: Building3, No.2 Minzuyuan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun is located in the heart of bustling Zhongguancun, Often referred to as China's Silicon Valley.The hotel neighbors a number of multi-national enterprises,scientific institution, art galleries and renowned universities.The Beijing subway is 5 minutes walk from the hotel, only ten-minutes drive from Shangdi Hi-tech;while Beijing International Airport is 40 minutes drive by car.Just a short distance away stands the majestic sights of Yuanmingyuan Ruins Park and the Summer Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing