We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Line Hotel (Harmony)
Ranked #2,617 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel is basic, but clean and a reasonable price. Good for exploring the city - not far to forbidden city etc, close to railway station. Restaurants & shopping centres within 10-15 minutes walk, mini mart across the road. Had a great stay, usual Chinese firm but comfy beds. Chinese & western breakfast options. Definitely value for money & good location. Make sure you get a card with hotel address for help getting back in case you get lost - Chinese taxi drivers do not speak English. Bottled water provided each day (don't drink the tap water).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floraforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for City Line Hotel (Harmony)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Free wi-fi, close to train station. About 140 Yuan in taxi from airport. Very basic, but suitable when on the move. Money exchange in hotel - bit of a grumpy women running it. Tour service available on second floor - very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Hotel is very basic, but clean and well maintained, reasonable priced with internet. Great for exploring the city, close to railway station and main Post office with some food stores and restaurants nearby, around 20-30 minutes walk to the Forbidden City and around 20 minutes to a huge modern shopping center. Hotel has a restaurant downstairs - tried only broccoli with some wacky sauce but it was fantastic! lot's of other restaurants close by or some distance from the hotel. Traveling by cab is great fun - I loved it!, very inexpensive, drivers don't speak any English so ask in a hotel to write down your destination/s on a piece of paper, never seen cars like that in my life, driver keeps talking to you in Chinese but who cares, basically it's a big mess but like I said before I loved it. Beijing is very safe for foreign visitors - severe punishments for robbing/assaulting any foreign tourist. Staff in a hotel very helpful, English no problem, rooms cleaned daily, decent bathroom. Overall great stay, comfy beds, had a good night sleep. Would recommend this hotel to anybody interested more in sightseeing and exploring the city rather then staying in a luxury 5* hotel and paying top dollar for it. Chose this hotel because of close proximity to the Forbidden City and value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clean but plain. There is free wifi available in the rooms. It has a great location for catching trains to Mongolia.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SbearCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The harmony hotel was a nice comfortable stay for us. Granted the rooms are small and the beds are twin beds, so only two people should stay in even a room with two beds. The beds are quite hard, so if you are used to nice soft comfortable beds be aware that you won't get that here. The staff is nice and helpful and generally the place was quite clean. Close to metro stations so convenient to get to most places. Nothing special, but if you just need a place to rest your head for a few nights this place will work! By the way, there is the most delicious dumpling place next door!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seetheworld979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel was booked for us by Intrepid as part of their original beijing city break. We were given a twin instead of a double, but when we called reception they did sort it quickly for us (maybe helped that we are a married couple, but not sure why they gave us a twin in the first place - it was a twin where beds could not be pushed together). The second room was fine - also worn, not attractive at all, but fine. Quite large with a big fridge and a safe. The shower worked well but leaked all over the floor so we had to use up a lot of towels each day to mop up! We didn't ask for it to be fixed so I don't know what the response would have been. Staff at reception were variable and I would not describe them as enthusiastic, but generally were fine and did call us taxis and so on when we asked. The lobby area is quite attractive.

The hotel is opposite a convenience store which was really handy for water and breakfast items to put in the fridge. However there was really nothing else good about the location. From reading previous reviews I was under the impression that the hotel was really near Wangfujing street - it is s good 20min walk there, and not necessarily easy to find (we missed it entirely one night). After a long day sightseeing it was too far for us to walk (and we walk a lot!) There is nothing to see on the way. We discovered that the Beijing subway system is fantastic and easy to use - however, the hotel is still not really well connected with the subway. There is Beijing railway station nearby, but needs a change just to get to wangfujing area, so not convenient really. Taxis are cheap but traffic in beijing is a major problem and it takes ages to get anywhere.

If on a budget I think this hotel would be fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsluxuryexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Well this hotel wasn't horrible, I stayed in much worse, it just was incredibly underwhelming. Our room was unusually large compared to our friends who were staying at the hotel, but was equally ugly. After booking a double room, and being placed in a twin, it was too hard for them to understand why two men wanted a double bed at 2am when we checked in.

The Beijing authorities may find the missing stone from the Great Wall in the bed mattresses at the hotel, really, really, really hard - the place should be called the Hard-mony.

The area the hotel is located may be convent to the attractions, but its really on the wrong end of town, too far from Wangfujing to make it easy to get to at night - the local area is not one you want to be around late at night. There isn't much choice in the local area for dinner - unless you want McDonalds or Chinese-Chain Store take away.

The views of the China Post Beijing Depot across from the hotel are to be enjoyed if you like views of dark green trucks, and the staff were uncharacteristically un-helpul - throughout our trip we found the Chinese people a delight to deal with - but at Harmony, everything was a real effort for them.

Stay here for a night, when visiting the Forbidden City if you must, but there are so many better choices in Beijing.

Room Tip: Lower floors, there is no view to speak of up high and the lifts take too long otherwise.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendanmeilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Zhong An Inn (Dong Dan Hotel)
Zhong An Inn (Dong Dan Hotel)
#2,260 of 6,528 in Beijing
52 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#91 of 6,528 in Beijing
366 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jianguo Garden Hotel
Jianguo Garden Hotel
#149 of 6,528 in Beijing
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,467 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Line Hotel (Harmony)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Line Hotel (Harmony)

Address: No.9 Youtong Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,617 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $65 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Line Hotel (Harmony) 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Line Hotel (Harmony) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Harmony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing