We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel with great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Line Hotel (Harmony)
Ranked #2,720 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here during the organized trip that started in Beijing. I must say, considering the price I paid, it's a good buy for a hotel in Beijing.

The room is basic but reasonably comfortable with good space. The bathroom worked properly. The hotel provides free wireless in the room and at lobby area. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Short walk to Beijing central railway and metro station. The Tiananmen and Forbidden City are also at reasonable walking distance. There are plenty of supermarkets and restaurants around that area.

I would really recommend this for no frill stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice and would stay again. It is really good value for central Beijing. The staff are helpful, the room clean, and the airconditioning works efficiently - essential in the brutal summer heat. Unlike other visitors, we found the beds very comfortable. The restaurant is good, if a little expensive. Stock up your fridge from the local shops - no need for room service at a much higher price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank review-contributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Heading to Beijing after 10 years, my best-friend and I researched a few accommodation options. When I last went, you wanted the best 'internationally recognized' brands or naught. Now it seems there's myriad options, all quite acceptable.

I would still have preferred a hotel that started in Sof and ended in itel, but travelling with someone who would ask a beggar for a receipt for the 1 cent donation she just made, ensures the Sofs, Hils, Meris, and Westis (my fave) are not on the cards.

This is how we booked the Harmony. My travel companion's preference was cost (not having been to China before), mine was location - the Harmony seemed a perfect choice. We were honestly going to be in China for a week (to celebrate my birthday on the Great Wall) and do the touristy things such as Tiananmen, Temple of Heaven, Silk & Pearl Markets (loving my new dolce and gabbana jeans!) as well as the new theme park (don't go).

The harmony allows you to do all of that on foot/subway or very inexpensive taxi rides.

The room was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel. It was sufficient, with a bit of a view towards the Beijing Railway station. Check in staff didn't really have an idea as to what was going on - though experience has told me that would not be different in any other (higher graded) establishment.

Food offerings were not that great. Within the vicinity for lunch and dinner you had a few touristy places in the railway square, or some local food-court style food outlets within the many, many, many shopping malls situated in this part of town. Having one of the few McDonalds in this area ensured an endless stream of caucasian tourists with their backpacks speaking more loudly than the sonic boom. Slim offerings indeed.

There are two exceptions to this however. The hotel's restaurant (which doens't look very appestising) has some amazing meals (freshly cooked) on offer, very Manchurian cuisine. Also, the little laneway outside the hotel has a window where in the mornings, Chinese crepes are made to order for the equivalent of perhaps 5 Australian cents.

Kudos also to the concierge/doorman at the Harmony who always had a smile on his dial, and would be able to figure out where to tell your taxi driver to go after a diverting 10 minute game of charades!

Sufficient for those on a bugdet requiring a centralk stay. Still, if a 4 star or 'name-brand' is not much more expensive, I'd probably be inclined to suggest that.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Located opposite the railway station, a short walk away from restaurants, shops, ATMs, and the subway. Clean basic accommodation. Some of the bedsheets and towels were ripped, but clean. Staff was courteous and spoke English. The mattresses were hard, but that is the norm in China. Recommended for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moju72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I had nothing to complain about staying at this Hotel. Rooms were clean, but not fancy as the pictures indicate. It is close to the Train Station and there are shops to buy necessities, candy, food, right across the street. We walked the neighborhood and didn't feel afraid. Just a typical Chinese hodge podge of shops, and eateries nearby. I loaded up on different candies from a shop across the street to take back to my co-workers in Springfield, Missouri. Not your typical office snacks! There was a buffet type restaurant in the hotel, but I didn't try it. Looked clean enough and was busy with tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindaw2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

close to the main Railway station. They spoke English and were very helpful. While the place is not oozing with charm and the buffet breakfast is mediocre, I would recommend it ther the great massage place next door.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foredeckchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great location, plenty of stores on the next block. Aside from a little problem with hot water the first evening, no problem with the rooms. Staff were helpful. Breakfast is not cheap, but it's tasty and you can't beat the convenience. Would stay here again.

Ask if you want a double bed. Ask for the North side of the hotel if you want quiet -- rooms overlooking the lively alley just to the South get some noise in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chienandalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Line Hotel (Harmony)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Line Hotel (Harmony)

Address: No.9 Youtong Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,720 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $56 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Line Hotel (Harmony) 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your City Line Hotel (Harmony) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Harmony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing