We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the services turned from bad to worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Beijing South
Ranked #137 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm very unhappy with the check-in process. Usually I'm not someone who will spend time writing comments at some past events. However, the accumulated unhappy experience from this hotel had lead to this comments below.

1. Services - at Check-in
It is common practice that the staff at the reception asked for the credit card for "deposit" reason during the check-in process. Normally the hotel will just swipe on the credit card to get a reasonable "deposit" amount and have never required for the guest signature on the credit card charge slip. However, this is the first hotel that actually required my signature on the credit card deposit slip. The first encounter was during my first stay with this hotel in April 2011. I have to really state my stand that I will not sign any of this deposit slip as they are not confirmed charges and none of the hotels which I have stayed before actually required my signature on the credit card deposit slips. It took me 20 minutes to convince and put down my stand for not signing the credit card deposit charges. The same incident happened again in my second stay in June 2012. I think they must have remembered me as during my 3rd stay in Aug 2012 they did not ask for my signature on that credit card charge slips but they did ask the same from my colleague who checked in later.

On my 3rd stay with this hotel, my flights arrived early in the morning and I have requested for early check-in. I reached the hotel around 830am. The hotel charged me for the half day accomodation. The money is not really the problem here, but the attitude of the staffs at the reception are really bad. I've tried to plead for the waiver for "early-check-in" charges, however, the response that I received was cold and rude. The staff at the reception (I can't remember her name, I think it's Ellen) just told me that if I want to get the charges waived I can wait till 10am and come back to check in again. She kept telling me it is the hotel policy. Is the hotel policy so inflexible? It is just 90 minutes difference, if you have the room, why can't you just check me in and waived the fee. The part which makes me angry is the attitude of the staff. I'm the guest and definitely do not deserve the cold and dirty look from the staff. I requested her to check with her Manager and she said the manager is just beside her, who is another lady whom I did not get the name. The manager's attitude is worse, she didn't even bother to look up from her computer and just replied coldly that they are just following the company policy.

I requested for the feedback form from the hotel reception at check-out and the lady who checked me out just pretend that she doesn't understand me and ignored my request.

2. Breakfast
during my last visit, the variety of the breakfast is still acceptable, however, the fruits selection for the full 3 weeks during my 2nd stay there was only Watermelon, watermelon and watermelon with occasional honeydew melon and dragon fruits. They have fresh watermelon juices in the last stay in June, and during my recent stay in Aug, no more fresh juices.

3. Location
The location of the hotel is super far-off from town area. If you have office around the BDA area, it may be convenient, but when it comes down to restaurant choices, you don't really have any around the area. The hotel is also not near to any of the attractions in Beijing. Another point to add, it is very difficult to get a taxi from the hotel to go to town area especially in the evening time. Depending on your luck, you may need to wait for up to 40 minutes before you can get a taxi.

4. Room / cleanliness
I would say the only thing that is still acceptable is the room. It is spacious and the bed is quite comfortable. However, the ventilation system is not very good. Sometimes the room will be "fueled" with seawage smell. I have to drip the eucalyptus oil all over my room to cover the unwanted smell.
At times, you will get towels with frays like it had been used for thousands of time.

Conclusion:
If you want a budget hotel and don't mind the service, and the distance from all the attractions in Beijing, you can give it a try. But frankly, there are so many hotels in Beijing with better value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Originally we booked for a hotel downtown. However, a good friend of ours who is a local called up to meet us at the train station. To our surprise, he said he had also booked rooms at this hotel for us as he normally uses it for his corporate clients and he hoped we do not mind. Since he is such a nice gentleman, of course we went with him. And after all, it is a Pullman so our expectations are generally high

The first letdown is when we drove up to the porch. We unloaded bags and a few boxes and not a single soul bothered to come to help until we looked around for trolley. Then a gentleman in jacket came and he had a very unpleasant facial expression

When the luggage was delivered, even though one of us has tipped on behalf of the rest, the luggage chap was hanging around each room making us feel uncomfortable as we do not all have RMB

My room had a screw on the bathroom that cut my foot when I went in

One of the towels was really tatty/ frayed at the edges like what I would expect only from an Ibis

Best staff? The FO receptionist at night and Housekeeping. We came back after dinner and I requested for an adaptor. She was very efficient in ensuring I got the right type and so was the person who delivered. Kudos to them

Breakfast was horrendous. We were there around 9:30am. The coffee and tea machine - in huge metal jars - was either malfunctioning or empty. We highlighted twice before someone went to get us the drinks from some place else. Food was generally below average. Even fried rice was quite bland. There is no egg station. For the noodles, a Korean lady seated next to us when and ordered and they said the water was not boiling yet and she must wait for water to boil before they can cook!

When they served us coffee, it was with this trendy stirrer that is round plastic type and it rolled off the saucer on to the floor. The poor waiter appeared flustered and apologized and went to get a clean one. Perhaps they should find a better stirrer?

The waiters are friendly enough though

Finally check out. Everyone looked at you like they didn't bother. When it came to our turn, they merely continued talking to each other. So we left our cards on the table, said check out and seeing no response, we walked away

We sat at the lobby and waited for our transport. About 10 min later, someone came and explained that the computer is down. So they cannot check us out. And there is a lady seated in the lobby with a full tea ensemble who is busy looking down (not sure if she was playing handphone or something) rather than at any guests!

Overall, a decent product but service is a huge shortcoming!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elfin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Upon arriving to the hotel, I had a good impression of the hotel because it looks new in western style at the lobby. When going into the guest rooms, I'm kind of disappointed - toilet door lock doesn't work. Curtain between bath room and guest room has dirt marks; soap, shampoo, etc are of low quality (like those supply from local China hotel). There is no directory to show the opening hours of hotel facilities; no stationery set (paper, envelope), etc. If I travel to Beijing again, I will try other hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmainemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanBeijingSouth, Front Office Manager at Pullman Beijing South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Beijing South. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman Beijing South, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwfrem
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanBeijingSouth, Front Office Manager at Pullman Beijing South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Have stayed at Pullman hotel in Bangkok but this Pullman hotel in Beijing definitely did not meet the expectations as a 5-star rated hotel.
Have requested for a twin bedded and double bedded connecting room but during check-in, it wasn't arranged and they even gave us 2 twin rooms. Proper explanation wasn't given and I was hinted to just accept it as there is a tour group in the queue waiting to check in.
Room is clean and spacious but pillows provided was just too soft (probably need to use 3 to have a good support).
Breakfast spread was decent but the quality is bad as compared to my experience in Pullman Bangkok. staff wasn't attentive and I need to walk to them to get the cutlery.
Location is suitable for business travellers but not for tourists as it is not near the city and the cab drivers are not familiar with this area, thus we have problems coming back to the hotel at night.
I must say this is a terrible experience for a international 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FooFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanBeijingSouth, Front Office Manager at Pullman Beijing South, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Beijing South. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Superb hotel, nice rooms and comfortable. But the service has a lot of room for improvement. Front desk reception had misplaced our bookings and we had to wait for 45 minutes for our room to be available.
Internet is available at the lounge area & not available in the rooms. Limited broadband experience at the lounge area as it double up for night cap/coffee at night.
Air conditioned is turned off at 3am for an hour which is appalling for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank All_the_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanBeijingSouth, Manager at Pullman Beijing South, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Beijing South. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

've personally address the matter to our managers and directors on the issues you highlighted. We will take appropriate steps to improve the defects.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Searow Wang
Front Office Manager
Pullman Beijing South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel structures are nice and clean. The Service is poor for many different reasons. Restaurants and executive lounge in particular close earlier than the officiar schedule. Breakfast at the lounge is poor and chioce limited. On the other hand rooms are nice and clean, fitness room is vero good and the chinese and teppanyaki restaurants excellent (except for the closing time....)

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Lodo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanBeijingSouth, Front Office Manager at Pullman Beijing South, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Beijing South. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. and infrom the Restaurant Director to discusstion about restaurants opening time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yizhuang
Fengda International Hotel
Fengda International Hotel
#204 of 6,568 in Beijing
42 reviews
Yizhuang
Jinjiang Fuyuan Hotel
Jinjiang Fuyuan Hotel
#2,239 of 6,568 in Beijing
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,188 reviews
Guomao
Jinglun Hotel
Jinglun Hotel
#791 of 6,568 in Beijing
90 reviews
Beijing Capital International Airport
Days Hotel Beijing New Exhibition Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Beijing South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Beijing South

Address: No.12 Ronghua South Road, Yizhuang Economic and Technological Development Zone, Beijing 100176, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Yizhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#117 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $86 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Beijing South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Beijing South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Beijing South Hotel Beijing
Accor Beijing South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing