We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis in beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Ranked #31 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent 6 nights here recently and had a fabulous trip. The hotel is really lovely, typically marriott so quite popular with business people. The beds and linens are top quality and almost guarantee a great sleep. We were in an executive room so perhaps a little larger than standard, but it was really lovely. A view across to the old city wall.

Easy walking distance to subway and train station so although not right next to the main attractions they are simple to get to. The subway system is simple, clear and very cheap. All signage in english, including station names.

Breakfast and evening food in the exec lounge was generally delicious (wasn't a fan of the pasta night!). Staff in the lounge were wonderful, friendly and made a point to remember our names. Just lovely.

Room Tip: Although taxis aren't expensive traffic is terrible so short journeys take an age. Be brave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

I absolutely loved my experience in this hotel. I took a group of 40 MBA students, and I was worried that it felt far from all the tourist-y places (Summer Palace, Silk and Jade Markets, Ghost Street, Ho Hai Bar Street, etc.). However, since it is an extremely short walk to the subway station, and they keep a steady stream of cabs coming, we did not feel the distance. It actually was the perfect distance from all the hot tourist spots, and of course you get the Marriott service and comfort. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were huge, boasting a tub and separate shower, stone floors and fixtures, etc. The room was kept very clean, and room service was fast.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent! I loved the variety of Asian and Western cuisine. There was always so much to choose from! Even though the same food was offered daily, the variety was such that I never felt bored.

The concierge desk would be my only suggestion for area of improvement. Usually you look to this desk for tips on local places to do karaoke, restaurants, etc. The concierge was not helpful in recommending local places to eat or hot nightlife spots. I would suggest some training in this area, or come prepared with your own research, but other than that I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. My experience was wonderful and I will be back again this summer for another trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristalkareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I highly recommend this Marriott. Not as modern and well,run as my most favorite in China, the Marriott in Shanghai at Chang Fen Park (sp) but still a very good property. Great concierge level with very attentive service by nice attendants. Jason was extremely helpful!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank JD5636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Mariott Hotels are five star and although they are a bit on the pricey side, having a good night’s sleep when you are doing long day tours, having staff who speak English and are able to help made Beijing an amazing experience for me.

After a long day of walking along the Great Wall or through the Forbidden City and Summer Place, getting into bed at the Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall was brilliant and so comfortable. The staff were very helpful, there is a spacious gym and they make a good pina colada, but ultimately their beds are amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only place we found friendly staff and people who spoke a bit of English. The rooms were nice and the hotel lobby was spectcular. Dinning was expensive but lots of places around the Hotel to go eat.

Room Tip: Away from the street is the best we had a nice of the Railway station and all the people around ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed 4 nights as part of an incentive group, in this property in september 2013. First time to Beijing and of course, beaming wiith anticipation and elation to finally able to witness some of the most famous wonders of the world with my own eyes! Did not have a good start though, flight delayed about 6 hours and therefore part of the itinerary were taken out becos of insufficient time.

Staying overnight in KLIA was not pleasant, after going through 6 hours delay and 6 hours journey/. And upon arrival whisk off to lunch and immediately after that, visit the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. Can you imagine the elation when we arrive the hotel and the sight of the room was so welcoming! The rain shower was great due to the water pressure!

But the bed had too many pillows of different sizes though. There were six pillows, plus a bolster! I had to sleep in a small corner of the bed as the rest was occupied by pillows.

Breakfast was plain.. Not what i expected from a Marriot standard. Coffee was bland! Breads selection was poor and only one person manning the eggs station. Because of the long queue, I kinda gave up having my eggs in the morning.

Gym was great as its open 24 hours.

Need to be more attentive when cleaning the room. Some items not replenish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chreong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

During my 2 week business trip to China, I used this Marriott hotel as a hub as I need to frequently travel to different cities.
This hotel is only a few hundred yard away from the Beijing Railway Station (the old one), so it's only 4 min walk to the Subway line 1's Beijing Railway Station stop. It's next to two landmarks in Beijing, one is the Ming Dynasty City Wall Park, another one is the The Beijing Ancient Observatory. Walk toward the Beijing Ancient Observatory is the Jianguomen station of Subway Line 2 (5 min walk), this line will provide you easy access to the Silk Street, Guomao, Wangfujing, Tian'anmen Square, and Forbiden city.
Hotel is very nice, the lobby is impressive. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Gym is big and nice, Pool is perfect for lap swiming.
Room is very big, nice, and very clean; although not many have good views. the Double bed is the queen size bed, so if you have a family of 3, you can easily share the Double room.
I stayed on the Club level, there are only 9 rooms on that level so you'll have to request. The Club Lunge is very nice and provide free breakfast for guests have access. It also have the horderves services in the evenings ... so if you had a long day and didn't feel to go out for dinner, that's a perfect location for it.
Over all I liked this hotel. Excellent location with very friendly staff and nice rooms. Only issue is the Wifi service wasn't stable.

Room Tip: If you have a family and want to save some $$, ask for the corner room with two beds. If you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#10 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,728 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Beijing
#30 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $110 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 348 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing