We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Expecting more but at least its Marriot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Ranked #42 of 6,163 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expecting more but at least its Marriot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed 4 nights as part of an incentive group, in this property in september 2013. First time to Beijing and of course, beaming wiith anticipation and elation to finally able to witness some of the most famous wonders of the world with my own eyes! Did not have a good start though, flight delayed about 6 hours and therefore part of the itinerary were taken out becos of insufficient time.

Staying overnight in KLIA was not pleasant, after going through 6 hours delay and 6 hours journey/. And upon arrival whisk off to lunch and immediately after that, visit the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. Can you imagine the elation when we arrive the hotel and the sight of the room was so welcoming! The rain shower was great due to the water pressure!

But the bed had too many pillows of different sizes though. There were six pillows, plus a bolster! I had to sleep in a small corner of the bed as the rest was occupied by pillows.

Breakfast was plain.. Not what i expected from a Marriot standard. Coffee was bland! Breads selection was poor and only one person manning the eggs station. Because of the long queue, I kinda gave up having my eggs in the morning.

Gym was great as its open 24 hours.

Need to be more attentive when cleaning the room. Some items not replenish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chreong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    562
    158
    34
    19
See reviews for
226
300
77
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

During my 2 week business trip to China, I used this Marriott hotel as a hub as I need to frequently travel to different cities.
This hotel is only a few hundred yard away from the Beijing Railway Station (the old one), so it's only 4 min walk to the Subway line 1's Beijing Railway Station stop. It's next to two landmarks in Beijing, one is the Ming Dynasty City Wall Park, another one is the The Beijing Ancient Observatory. Walk toward the Beijing Ancient Observatory is the Jianguomen station of Subway Line 2 (5 min walk), this line will provide you easy access to the Silk Street, Guomao, Wangfujing, Tian'anmen Square, and Forbiden city.
Hotel is very nice, the lobby is impressive. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Gym is big and nice, Pool is perfect for lap swiming.
Room is very big, nice, and very clean; although not many have good views. the Double bed is the queen size bed, so if you have a family of 3, you can easily share the Double room.
I stayed on the Club level, there are only 9 rooms on that level so you'll have to request. The Club Lunge is very nice and provide free breakfast for guests have access. It also have the horderves services in the evenings ... so if you had a long day and didn't feel to go out for dinner, that's a perfect location for it.
Over all I liked this hotel. Excellent location with very friendly staff and nice rooms. Only issue is the Wifi service wasn't stable.

Room Tip: If you have a family and want to save some $$, ask for the corner room with two beds. If you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Marriott is our hotel chain of choice because they are generally consistent - great rooms and great executive lounges. However, there were two things about this Marriott that we were not at all pleased with.
1. Skip The Lounge - both the service and the quality of the food were terrible. We gave management feedback, so hopefully there will be an improvement.
2. Get your own taxi on the street unless you want to wait a long time for their staff to get one. They were mostly hanging out and not really trying to get a taxi. I suspected this the first few times it happened, and finally took a look out on the street to verify because we'd been waiting more than 20 minutes for a taxi. After that, we just got them ourselves in one minute as they drive by all the time. Lazy staff I guess, so I hope that changes as well, but be on the lookout for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreyBostonSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

While in Beijing, I stayed at 3 hotels and wished that I could've stayed here for the duration. Compared with the other hotels, the staff were able to converse in English quite well. They were always friendly and accommodating. The room was truly a "no smoking" room unlike the other hotels where I ended up staying (their rooms smelled even though they were supposed to be non-smoking rooms). The beds were awesome and super comfortable. The other hotels where I stayed in Beijing (one of which was a "4-star" had European style beds and were not comfortable). The food was exceptional and that is worth noting. I hated to leave this hotel and should I end up in Beijing another time, I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The executive floor was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel with one of the most fabulous breakfast buffets.The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. Bathroom was strange with electric blinds that open and close and to get to tub you walked through the shower. Good location. Beautiful indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my third stay at the Marriott City Wall and each time the hotel has exceeded expectations. The staff in the Executive lounge are attentive, courteous and remember my name, and go out of their way to be helpful. Sarah and Sandra provided exemplary service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a perfect stay at this hotel. Started with an upgrade which is always a nice treat. Every person we encountered was completely helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds.

I completely agree with the other reviewed who recommend booking on the execuitve floor. The service, food and value are unbeatable. The exec floor AM buffet is top notch with everything from cereal and fruit to hot dishes to cooked to order eggs. Paired with table service for all of the beverages it is a great deal. In the evening these is a rotating, themed selection. We had Indian, Italian, and Chinese nights while there. Again table service for beverages, Beers, wines, cocktails all included. Nice views and great place to wind down....

The location is good, 10 minutes by taxi to the Temple of Heaven, 40 minutes on foot to Tiananmen Square/Forbidden City, 5 minute walk to the subway should you dare to brave it

The concierge and travel desk are really great, very helpful and resourceful!

Would stay again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tea_Meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,163 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,163 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#16 of 6,163 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#13 of 6,163 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Property: Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#83 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 357 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing