We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Marriott experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Ranked #44 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor,Michigan USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Marriott experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have used this hotel several times in 2012 and have had great service. Good downtown
location, convenient to tourist and downtown business locations.

House staff are attentive and good with English.

Several restaurants - Asian and Western. Italian restaurant was very quiet - very few
customers.

One minor problem - taxi drivers have trouble finding the entrance. Be sure to have the
location named in Chinese... and even so, expect that the tax drivers will take an extra time
around the block to find the entrance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    586
    168
    37
    21
See reviews for
242
307
88
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has a great breakfast on the 1st floor and we also enjoyed the gym daily. The only negative is trying to get a cab around dinner hour. It is out of the loop and alot of taxi drivers do not want to waste their time going to this hotel. We took the bus. Great massage place across the street. The hotel restaurants are also very good if you want to stay in a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmoran258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here as a large group (3 rooms: 1 with my father in law, 1 with my sister in law, her husband and their 2 children and the 3rd room with my family (2 adults and 2 children). Booked online and reserved 3 standard rooms. When we arrived on the 26th December the hotel was very busy and we were upgraded to 3 suites- bonus!!! The suites were excellent and fitted 2 roll out beds in the living the room. The second bathroom in each was handy with the children. All aspects of the hotel were excellent from the concierge service to the room service and food. Food could be considered expensive but breakfast was good value and room service was well presented and very tasty. The children ate breakfast free as they were under a certain height and this made better value. The decoration of the hotel was very clean and well maintained. I would for sure stay here again on a trip to Beijing with my family due to the service experienced on this trip, the location and the excellent value. We could not have asked for a more comfortable stay. It felt like a home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite on the Executive level. Room 8092 had an OK view of the City Walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anafonitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights... the room was very spacious, the bed was unbelievably comfortable and oversized......The service was alright... this was my first time in Beijing and I had some day trips planned for the next day... I hadn't received any information from my travel agency and asked Front Office if they could ring the agency for me to see whether everything was fine; FO told me they couldn't help me with the phone call......

Concierge was good, however I did feel that the guy had a scolding tone and attitude every time I asked something....might've just been culture difference...

The hotel has a very good location and there's a metro station 3-5 minutes away

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Excellent stay! Location is superb, near to the subway as well as 24hr fast food chains. Breakfast spread was also very good, and the rooms and facilities were great. Maintains the standard for the Marriott brand.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank darrellchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Marriott brand is in its glory here in Beijing. We felt very pampered as we dined in the hotel restaurants, swam in the swimming pool, used the gym and soaked in the whirlpool in the ladies locker room. The hotel staff is very helpful...and the convenience of having a Grayline Tour desk in the lobby was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Maintains the quality of a marriott and easy access to many food places (including some less obvious ones). the hotel is situated near a mall and also residences so you have a good mix of large malls and also smaller shops. the staff is friendly, the deli on the ground floor is quite good. I

Not so good: Taxi's are hard to come by but you're within walking distance to the subway

Tip: Great Hot Pot if you cross the main/busy road, if you go around dinner time, just follow the crowd, it's in an office building but that entire floor is the hot pot restaurant. if you tell the waitress that you don't have a discount coupon, you'll get seated faster.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Property: Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#42 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#71 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 357 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing