We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but bad experience at Hawka restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Ranked #38 of 5,939 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but bad experience at Hawka restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in early October and had a very nice stay. The hotel is clean and well laid out and the rooms very nice. We payed extra to be upgraded to a better room and get executive lounge access and it was well worth the extra money (roughly USD$100 per night), even if the lounge was a bit crowded most evenings.

The only negative of our stay was dinner one night at Hawka, one of the hotel restaurants. After a few challenging days of dining at local restaurants (most of which were very good once the ordering was taken care of), we were tired and looking for an "easy" dinner one night with our children. Although the hotel restaurants had five star prices, we figured it would be worth it one night to get the five star service and not have to deal with the language/cultural challenges of a restaurant outside of the hotel.

The food was good, and the service was ok, if not a little too intrusive/over attentive. However, part way through dinner my husband accidentally knocked over a beer, and the glass it was in broke. After doing a quick and not very thorough clean up of the glass and beer on the table, the staff seemed to start avoiding us for the rest of the dinner. That was fine, until at the end of the evening the manager, "Andy" came by and started discussing compensation. We initially thought that he was comp-ing us for the beer since it was mostly full when it was knocked over, but eventually we realized that he was charging us for the glass. Not what we expect in a restaurant in a five star hotel, but we said ok. When the bill came, they had charged us 150 yuan (roughly USD$25) for a standard beer glass (about five times the cost of a TsingTao). We called Andy over and questioned the excessive charge, and he just grinned and said that was the cost of the glass.

We'd stay at the hotel again, but definitely not eat at Hawka. We would have given the hotel 5 stars, but knocked one off for the restaurant experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JBRJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    543
    147
    28
    17
See reviews for
215
282
73
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osan, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed with my husband and 11 year old daughter at the Marriott in Beijing in May 2012. The hotel was beautiful! The rooms were perfect! Comfortable beds and lots of space. The best part of the hotel was the breakfast buffet. The food was awesome and we especially loved people watching! The hotel was filled with people from all over the world. We traveled with a tour group and we loved hanging out in the lobby on the comfy sofas waiting for our bus each morning. We also ordered room service one night and it was also wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights, and were very impressed with the hotel and the service. We arrived via train, and reception staff worked very quickly to get us our rooms, including processing an upgrade to the executive floors and lounge (well worth it). The even asked if we had eaten yet (we hadn't, and it was 10:30am), and they told us to go get some breakfast at the lounge and return to finish off the paperwork.

During the next 2 days, we visited the Summer Palace and the Temple of Heaven, and the concierge was extremely helpful in telling us where the local subway/underground station was, what trains to take (including switching), how long we should expect to travel etc etc.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and the service and food was superb. The executive lounge was an absolute treat - not only did it have a wonderful view of the adjacent City Wall, but the staff was extremely attentive, and the food & beverages (breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres and evening cocktails) were just right.

Rooms were well appointed, bed was very comfortable, the cleaning staff seemed to be able to clean without us ever seeing them. The pool/whirlpool and exercise facilities were excellent, providing guests with sandals, towels, locked doors etc etc.

Even when leaving (which was too bad), the door man asked us where we were going, gave us an indication of how long and how much for the taxi, and gave us other useful information for our journey.

Tip for photographers - the hotel is beside the main Beijing Rail station, and that station is a beautiful building, and wonderfully lit at night - its an easy walk, and there are pedestrian bridges to get across the street for various views of the station.

Room Tip: We had a south facing room (1211 in the D tower I think?), which faced the City Wall and the Guard T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 12 day stay in various parts of China. We stayed at The Marriott for 2 nights. We upgraded to an executive suite which allow access to the club lounge. The upgrade for us was 640RMB per night. This was great value. The lounge has breakfast, mid afternoon snacks, free alcohol in the evening and a buffett dinner. The rooms were comfortable and the lobby area was beautiful. The only draw back for us was that we didn't do the research properly and it was a 2 hr drive to the Great Wall- no fault of the hotels, totally our fault.
We had a car from the hotel pick us up from the airport and all in all, had a great stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

beatiful, clean, breakfast is very good, location is great, this was a group tur, I don't know the price, you can walk around the area, the lobby is spacious and beautiful, the air conditioning not at my desire temperature

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariamar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellen hotel. Excellent service. The rooms were well appointed. I'd only advise that you always keep the air conditioning on since the outside polluted air tends to seep in if you don't. Maid service was great. The Executive Suite on the 16th Floor had a stupendous breakfast buffet and an outstanding happy hour buffet which served as a buffet dinner. Endless drinks during the happy hour. Great computer stations in the Executive Suite with immediate internet access. ATM machine was easy to find and use and booking out overnight train to Xi'an to visit the Terracotta Warriors was easy. This hotel is centrally located. The 52 Bus will drop you off right in front of the hotel if you catch it at the West Beijing Train Station. The 43 will take you the Silk Market while the 25 will take you right to the Pearl Market. Each bus drops you off right that the Marriott Beijing City Wall. There are quaint grocery stores nearby as well as other great amenities. Thumbs up to this great five star hotel where my two sisters and I, along with my mother and aunt had a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rindi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Marriott City Wall and were surprised by the hotel. It has excellent, large, well-appointed rooms with all the modern conveniences found in large, quality hotels in, for instance, New York or London. The lobby and lobby bar areas are spacious and beautifully designed and the restaurants are excellent. The hotel has four towers and a myriad of rooms. It is located in Central Beijing close to and within walking distance of some attractions. I was very surprised by this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMDominguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#16 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Property: Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#101 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 357 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing