We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott City Wall, Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Ranked #34 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at the Marriott City Wall for 3 nights after a cruise. Hotel is modern, large and the rooms are an excellent size. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms modern. The hotel staff is very helpful, and certainly want to please--very polite. The Bistro restaurant has a wonderful buffet breakfast with an enormous amount of choices--almost a lunch buffet. The business business lounge is comfy and professional. Since our tours originated from the hotel we found the location to be fine--although it is a ten minute walk to the train station which some may not like, locationwise.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingThruTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hotel is very modern and nice. Large lounge and executive center. 10 minutes walk to train and Metro stations. Bus stops are also closeby. Many restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nika16041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We came to this hotel with the Diamond Princess precruise tour for 3 nights. It is located near the railway station which is not a very nice area. There are other hotels much better located for sightseeing, but since we didn't need to be independent much due to the tour, it was ok. If you are travelling without a tour, I would opt for a more central hotel.
The hotel is a typical high standard Marriott. An enormous hotel with several tower blocks. The lifts were inadequate considering that there were over 300 people on tour everyday, hence all of us trying to get down to breakfast at the same time in the morning, and the same after our tour each day. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of food.
Our room was very good, spacious, clean and perfectly adequate. The bathroom was superb, with a bathtub and shower over, plus another rain shower and hand shower next to it (wet room style).
Nothing much to do in the area, need to get a cab (or underground if you're adventurous). Our advise is to eat at the hotel if you need a meal. They have english menus and the staff speak english, unlike the restaurants outside the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenbeanpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

very good hotel.had some problem with booking,we asked for a room with 2 beds had conf.but on arrivel-on 30/3-1/4 2 days.
no room with 2 beds,as we insisist a room was found-but the keys did not fit.
the big problem was no ac.
and to our luck came manager mr KOOPER and for 2 days that we were in the hotel he
personaly took care of us.
SO THANK YOU MR KOOPER.
MATI & YONA GUTTMANN

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noyaKfarSaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2012 using points. We were upgraded to a large room because of our Marriott status. We had a large livingroom area and a bedroom. There was a doorway separating the areas, but no door. For the bathroom, the tub, shower, toilet and sink were all located in one room. There was a hairdryer. There was a large closet space and safe. There was also a large desk/work area. We had nice views of the old city wall from all of our windows. There were two free bottles of water in the living room and two free bottles of water in the bathroom. (If you have access to the executive lounge, then you can also stock up on bottled water there too.)

Because of our Marriott status we had access to the executive lounge, which is open from 6am to midnight. We had breakfast in the lounge, there was good variety of choices. There is also food out in the evening, which you could make a meal out of it you are not a picky eater. There is also a free happy hour of alcoholic drinking for a few hours each evening in the lounge. The lounge was very large with lots of seating.

There is a subway stop within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The only difficult part about getting to it is having to cross a very busy street, but it is do-able and the subway is very inexpensive 2RMB (about 33 cents USD for each ride!).

We took a taxi to the airport around 3:30am. There wasn't much traffic at all during this hour of the night and we arrived quickly. The cost was a little less than 100RMB. You could expect a slightly higher cost if you went when there was more traffic.

There is a very large lobby area in this hotel, which could be tricky if you were planning to meet someone in the lobby.

This hotel is also used by Princess Cruises as a pre and post cruise hotel, so at times you can expect large crowds being dropped off, picked up or eating breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful property. The staff is excellent especially the front desk staff and the concierge staff. They will help you with tours and shopping and anything else you need. Excellent location with the train station right down the street along with a grocery store, and the bus stop around the corner. The Forbidden City is within walking distance, or just a short cab ride away. The property itself is stellar. The rooms are large with large bathrooms, flat screen TV's and VERY comfortable beds. Tea pot in the room along with a really nice Tassimo coffee maker. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimbo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

it is a great hotel in the heart of the city with all facilities possible for a top 5 stars hotel . staying in this hotel was a great part pf my travel.being persian i did not try raw seafood of the hotel but breakfast buffet was awesome do not miss it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are bigger than your expectation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#11 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,798 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Beijing
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
#54 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $116 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 348 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing