We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for US visitors...but very big and often very crowded.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Ranked #47 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for US visitors...but very big and often very crowded.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Big hotels that cater for Cruise Ship guests are not really for me, but the hotel has some great points. The queue for breakfast one morning was frighteningly long, so I didn't venture in, but it didn't look pretty.

What's good? The staff here are great and generally very helpful. Level of English for Chinese staff was superior to other hotels. The lobby lounge is great - but you have to 'consume' or they ask you to move elsewhere, which as a hotel guest waiting for someone is a bit rude. Food in the Pearl restaurant was good as was the Executive Lounge.

What's not hot? I got the chance to see two room types. The Executive ones are far superior to the Deluxe and each is housed in separate towers. My issue with the Deluxe is they only have a bath/shower combined, and I really don't like that - nor would elderly folks on cruise tours. Spring for the more expensive rooms. Try and avoid staying when cruise ships are in town (at Tianjin) - the hotel becomes very busy and the restaurants very crowded. That's when service becomes stretched.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMCinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    585
    168
    37
    21
See reviews for
242
307
88
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

As an airline crew member, I've had the pleasure of staying at the Marriott Beijing City Wall multiple times. It's about a 30-25 minute ride, when traffic is light. The service at the front desk is consistently good, with a courteous and attentive staff.
Pros: Decent location. Close to train station (3 minute walk), bus stop (4 minute walk, and don't be afraid to take the bus), subway (less than 10 minute walk) Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City, about a 35 minute walk. Pearl City is walkable, but the sidewalks, or lack thereof, can make this walk an adventure. Bus will drop you off right in front of Pearl City for pennies. Take the #25 or #39. Excellent restaurants on the property.
Attentive staff. Clean rooms. Arguably the best, most comfortable beds of any hotel. ATM off the main lobby.

Cons: Lots of tour groups, so breakfast can be hectic between 7 and 8 am. Lobby can be very busy at times.
No "complimentary" coffee (or anything else) in the morning. Small cup will run you between $6 and $7 dollars.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there for personal travel. Overall, excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomarciniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

For a reasonably priced Marriott, this place is great. The location is not too far from all the sights you want to see and the staff tries to act like a 5-star property. (The only thing they lack is the refinement of a Ritz Carlton or an Intercontinental.) The club level is nice, good breakfast, also with a free happy hour (5:30-9:30pm) every night of the week with food that easily works for dinner. I was treated very well by the staff and went out of their way to help meet my needs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I am a Marriott gold member and was upgraded for free, it think it really made the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkeucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Impressive lobby with easy to use free wifi, a great breakfast buffet (although it was overcrowded two mornings). Beds were very comfortable and bathroom was very modern. Rooms were quiet and clean. Public areas decorated beautifully. Loved our 4 night stay here as the first stop on a 21 day tour of China.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was at first reluctant to stay here because I am personally a Gold member for Priority club, Golden Circle Club and the Langham hotels. Common sense would tell me to stay at one of the mentioned 3 group of hotels to earn myself more reward points.
I was here primarily for business and my associates are putting up at the Marriott City Wall...out of convenience, I decided to stay here so that we can all be together in a same hotel.
I am not a Marriott rewards member too ...(Tip: Sign up as a Marriott rewards member - it's free! You'd get free wi-fi in-room access so long as you are a member)

The taxi drivers in Beijing usually have a hard time looking for this hotel. Firstly, there are a lot of Marriotts in Beijing. Secondly, the Marriott City wall is located at a weird place. There are a lot of detours to make to get to the hotel, as well as to get out of the hotel. Generally I do my homework and always find out the chinese name of the hotel and address. With that it makes it easier for the taxi driver. (Tip: If asked which marriott - the Marriott NEXT TO Beijing Railway station)
My first impression of the hotel is good. It has a grand lobby, exclusively decorated. Only thing, the lobby is always crowded. This is a very popular hotel for large tour groups. You always see large groups gathering in the lobby with their tour guides.

This hotel has 4 Towers - A,B,C and D.
It is also confusing to get around different towers. I was in D...and my friends were in B....I had to take the lift down to the lobby before walking to Tower B to see my friends.
Also the Spa is at Tower A. From my Tower D, I had to take a life to the 5th floor, walk a few rounds to get to another lift that connects to Tower A. It felt like a maze! LOL

My check-in experience was very good. I had at first booked a deluxe room, but Joanna/Joanne (I cant really recall) told me that there was a promotion to upgrade to an executive suite for 500yuan a night. I took the offer....for 500yuan you get a suite (very awesome), executive lounge access where you get free breakfast, finger good and cocktails daily. Joanna/Joanne spoke very good English. The best I have experienced in china by far. I would like to take this opportunity to commend her for her great work.

Bell boys were helpful with the luggage and even took time to explain the features of the room to me.
My suite was awesome. 2 bathrooms! 2 TVs, 2 Wardrobes! One large comfortable bed, awesome pillows, awesome sheets. JBL iphone dock.speakers....professional speaker phones, coffee machine...well stocked mini-bar. A bathtub with a shower head over it and next to it another shower area! 2 persons can shower at the same time! Bathroom amenities were well stocked.....mouthwash, soap, bath gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, toothbrushes and tooth pastes, sewing kit, vanity kit, shower cap, bedroom slippers, bathrobes.....the Aromatherapy range of amenities smelled really good too (lemongrass). Towel quality perfect!

One thing though, I am surprised there is no daily turn-down service!
Housekeeping can be quite slack too...I dropped a piece of small paper on the bathroom floor before I went out......when I came back, the room was made up but the paper was still on the floor.

The room service menu is very good and this hotel has countless restaurants!

Breakfast in the executive lounge has an exclusive feel as it is not so crowded. I enjoyed the nightly cocktails and food. Although they say it is finger food, the quality of the food is usually good enough for dinner. They have a main carbohydrate product like pasta, fried rice...or fried noodles. I loved the food in this hotel.


My flight to depart Beijing was not until midnight. They are kind enough to extend my room until 4pm and allow me to use the lounge after. Service is impeccable.

Location: Near to Tiananmen square, Silk market etc....
Subway 400m walk

I am now a proud Marriott rewards member!


It was a great experience and a very pleasant stay. Every staff here is so happy and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0lf_vacati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was the first hotel in our stay on a group tour with the Chamber of Commerce. Room very nice, bed comfortable. Lighting in bathroom dim, hard to apply makeup. The breakfast buffet was the best of the trip. Limited hour for the business center, never able to use it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnamonred12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have stayed here twice, and the stays were one year apart. This hotel is just excellent. The rooms, while not spacious, are top notch as to furnishings. The buffet breakfast is excellent. The location is OK, but a far walk to most attractions and Wangfujing Avenue.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Property: Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#44 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#72 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 357 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing