We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only the largest Marriott in the world, but one of the nicest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Ranked #34 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I just returned from a five-day stay at this particular Marriott and was very pleased. My husband is a gold member, so we were upgraded to the executive wing, though we did have to pay 500 RMB extra for our second room (traveling with three kids and a grandmother). These particular rooms were really spacious with two king-sized beds (we had the bump-out as well which made it roomier).

My (minor) disappointments--We had requested non-smoking, adjoining rooms. As an experienced traveler, it has been my experience that most hotels will try to accommodate you when possible. October is the busiest month for tourism in Beijing, so we were given smoking rooms next to each other, BUT the rooms did not smell of smoke, and I have a very sensitive sense of smell and an asthmatic child, so it really was fine. Also, I would not recommend eating in the City Wall Bistro on the first floor. Service was unbelievably slow, and they were out of a lot of items (it was later on a Sunday night, but I had three hungry children waiting 50 minute for a not-so-tasty kids meal). Instead, opt for the upgrade and eat at the executive lounge.

What made up for it and why I gave it 5 stars: Great, central location. Clean, spacious, renovated rooms with very comfortable beds. The executive lounge--opt for your breakfast here instead of the bistro--quieter, same food and GREAT service, and a really nice happy hour. Free internet with membership or upgrade. Nice, quiet pool and spa. If you are a Marriott Rewards member, do not purchase a package with breakfast, the lounge has a great one with your rewards membership.

Room Tip: Rewards members do not purchase a package with breakfast. Opt instead to visit the lounge on the 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on a group tour, with this being our initial hotel for the 23-day tour. This was an excellent stay for the first few days, with excellent amenities. There was an ATM onsite plus the exchange rate at the front desk was not that bad. Other than the adjacent City Wall remains, there wasn't much within walking distance except for an old hutong neighborhood (which is fascinating).

Room Tip: If you want easy access to the pool and gym equipment, try to stay in Tower A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was happy to be a guest at this new-er hotel in Beijing. It was booked in conjunction with a cruise from Singapore to Beijing with a land tour of China, this is the hotel that Princess Cruise Line used in Beijing. I was there for a total of 3 nights and was very happy.

The room was nice, and big with 2 queen beds. I do have to say the beds were very nice, big pillow top mattress, and very high end sheets. Impressive! The room had a desk area and love seat. The bathroom had a glass window looking into the room with mini-blinds for privacy. The shower was big with a rain shower head, with very good water pressure. The counter space around the sink was a bit small but worked. The cleaning staff did a very good job at re-stocking the bathroom with more towels then you would ever need.

The room also had some modern technology with world power ports, video inputs at the desk for the TV, and PC VGA and mini audio also to feed the TV.

The Executive lounge was fantastic! The staff was very attentive and helpful, the lounge was always kept up to the highest standards. The breakfast buffet was like you would find in the restaurant. WIth a large layout of hot and cold items, along with made to order items in the lounge. This was also the case in the evening hours, a line of hot and cold food options with a kitchen right in the Executive lounge. Soft drinks and tea/coffee out all the time and at night the “bar” opened up. There was a nice selection of spirits out for the taking, most of the time the staff would run over to help. I wanted my typical Vodka straight up. The nice young girl in the lounge gave me a very full tumbler glass of straight vodka it was a lot. This would be one of the few hotels that I would say paying for an Executive room was well worth it!

After a long day of walking the Great Wall, we went to the lounge and just ordered some room service. The staff set a table for us, got the menus from all the restaurants in the hotel, not just the room service menu. So we had so many things to pick from. The food was quick and good, real good for China! Sure you pay for it, but man there was a bunch of people on our tour that were getting sick from the food at some local places. So price was not an option for me!

The hotel is very large and was not full at all. The rooms are very western and modern, the staff helpful and it was in a “safe” area around the old City Wall and the main train station. As I was on a tour we did not have much time to explore around the hotel on our own, but the area looked good. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is by far the best Marriott I have stayed at in a long time!

The hotel arranged to have their car meet me at the airport which made the airport to hotel transfer simple.

I stayed on the executive wing floor and the room was very spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was very spacious with separate shower and tub. The work space and desk were also very spacious. I could not gain a wireless signal in my particular room but a LAN cable backup was provided and access was free.

The Executive lounge was very spacious serving light snacks and free flow alcohol from 5:50 pm to around 9:00pm. This alone can save allot of money!

I only ate one night in the hotel at the Italian restaurant and was very pleased.

The staff I interacted with spoke very good English and I had no problems at check in or check out. I found it next to impossible to hire a local taxi during morning peak hours so I was forced to hire the hotel car to carry me to my office.

This will be my hotel of choice in Beijing.

Please click "Yes" if this review was helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

When I booked this hotel I was a little concerned about the location but I always know that with Marriott you can trust that the rooms will be clean and comfortable and that can be just as important. The hotel turned out to be beautiful, the staff was always there to greet you with a smile and most of the concierge staff were knowledgable and spoke very good English. We were upgraded to an Executive suite which was a bonus that included free breakfast each morning and happy hour each evening.

Our room was spacious although the view left something to be desired and the shades never really blocked out the light in order to get a really good nights sleep.

The hotel is located not too far from a subway station and very close to some shopping and fast food eating areas. Walking to the Forbidden City was a long jaunte however it allows for a great tour of the area if you are up for it. We highly recommend using the subway and city buses when possible because it allows you to "do as the locals do" and not be in a constant bubble of a taxi or hired car.

Beijing is a crazy city filled with so many cultural things to see and do as well as a bustling nightlife and shopping 'til you drop. Make sure to visit the Wangfujing night market and of course the Forbidden City, Tianamen Square, the Great Wall and a pedal bike ride through a Hutong. All of these things are easily accessible from the Marriott Beijing City Wall.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shootingstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is the worst Marriott hotel I have come across.

At check in, we were told that no rooms available despite it being way past the check in time. After stating that it was unacceptable, a room magically appeared. As others have stated, this is a large and busy hotel, so be prepared for waits at check in, breakfast etc,

The first room we were given, contained a lovely surprise as we turned on the bedside lamp, with nail clippings all on the floor next to the bed. After calling housekeeping to come up and clean, no one turned up. We went down to reception to complain, and were moved to a new room, which had a fold out bed that had not been removed in the middle of the room, and then lo and behold more nail clippings in the bin and bathroom floor from the previous guest.

After speaking to the front desk manager the following morning, we were assured that the room would be cleaned properly. When we returned later in the day, the clippings were still on the floor. So this was now 3 discussions with the hotel in 2 rooms, and still unable to actually clean a room? In addition, the rooms have a musty smell.

Avoid breakfast, the service is slow, and the bread was stale. The quality of food and choice was poor for the price and standard of hotel.

Dinner in the Italian restaurant was good. The City Wall restaurant was again terrible, service again was excruciatingly slow, the couple next to us got up to get there own utensils when they could find no one, and the other table almost walked out when the food did not turn up for a long period. We walked to the restaurant entrance front desk to order our food after not being able to find anyone to serve. For one of the dishes we ordered warm apple pie, which was served cold. The waiter was unable to understand what the issue was, and only when showing him the menu did he agree, with no apologies.

The experience in this hotel went from one disaster to another. The staff have a poor grasp of English, and struggle to provide even basic customer service. Certainly not of a standard of a Marriott hotel. The only positives is that it is in a good location.

I would encourage people to avoid this hotel and find another.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thechinesecockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I always think of myself as a good traveller willing to immerse myself in different cultures. But travelling in Asia can test anyone's malleability. I have to say that after touring through Beijing, I was so happy to see the recognisable American breakfast at this hotel. The selection at the buffet was very large and all ingredients fresh. The hotel is well located. Step outside and go for a walk to the left and you will quickly get caught-up in the chaos of the railway station. Not your scene? Just turn right instead and find the nearbye subway station. Or you can always take a taxi. On our adventuring there were a lot of interesting and foreign street scenes to explore but it was always nice to look up and see the Marriott sign acting as a beacon.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank zolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#11 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,798 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Beijing
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
#54 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $116 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 348 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing