We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, new building but TERRIBLE SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Ranked #8 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
beijing
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, new building but TERRIBLE SERVICE”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I'm an American and have stayed at the Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel (Beijing) and eaten at the hotel restaurants 5 times in the last two years. Here's my review:

ADVANTAGES
+conveniently located in Beijing CBD within 5-10 minute walk to major subway lines, bus stops, east 3rd ring road, shopping mall (w/ Starbucks), a variety of (Chinese) banks, restaurants (western and Chinese), shops, etc.
+new, modern design and relatively clean.

DISADVANTAGES
-HOTEL SERVICE IS POOR. The staff is friendly but inept. Last month I had to remind the staff 3 times to fix the in-room phone. When I complained about the poor service the staff was indifferent and told me, "all hotels have problems".
-Every time I've stayed at this hotel there have been problems with the phone and internet connectivity in the rooms.
-AVOID RESTAURANTS IN THIS HOTEL!
I ate at Fratelli Fresh Gourmet in JAN 2012 and Fat Duck in SEPT 2011. The food is expensive but taste and quality is average/poor.
Servers are polite but clueless. Every time we needed something-- water, a drink refill, plates cleared, the check, etc we had to scream (literally) to find the help. They don't stalk many of the wines on their menu so it always seems to take at least 20 minutes to order a drink or bottle of wine.

(A much better local option for Italian food is Meeting Point, 200m east of the Hotel in Landgent Center.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrownBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    324
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
155
170
95
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Spent 3 days in February 2012. Highly recommend Club Level. The best I have visited in Marriott chain. Fantastic breakfast and evening appetizers. The design of the hotel is very nice and trendy. Mall next to hotel. Subway and train station close as well.

Room Tip: High Floor, View, Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great hotel, location and top restaurant for breakfast. Awesome views of 8 lane urban highways going as far as the eye can see. Brilliant roof top pool so you can watch the sunset lower with each stroke. Really stylish rooms although a word of caution - allow time to figure out the bath fill which is in the middle of the room, screened with a glass wall and finding the switch for the fancy screens.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I spent 5 days at the hotel in January 2012. Overall it's satisfactory for the price as I had a corporate rate, however I thought it was necessary to warn other travelers that the hotel is not exactly as good as described in the other reviews:

* Cleanliness:

The room was overall a bit worn out, the carpet had some stains. Coffee stains on the wall close to kettle were not cleaned. The bath-tube had black marks that had not been clean and there was a dead insect in the bathroom curtain, probably there for several months.

* Service:

Staff looks bored and does not always greet guests. They enter the room immediately after knocking, without making sure there is no one in. I asked for a late check out on a saturday, but when I came back from pool my key had been deactivated, and I was not able to take the lift and then could not enter my room. Nobody was there to help, I had to go back to reception to reactive my card. No apology.

Conclusion: overrated in other trip advisor reviews, and not up to the Renaissance standards based on other Renaissance hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I had the chance to stay twice in this quite new hotel in Beijing and I loved it. The design of the hotel is very nice, very trendy and cosy. The Executive lounge is one of the best I have seen in a hotel so I strongly recommend to spend a little bit more to get the upgrade in the executive floor.
The location is convenient for tourism, there is a metro station at 5 minutes walking distance. Very enjoyable stay !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We are a family of 4 from USA and it was our first time in Beijing. We stayed at the hotel with two younger kids and we liked the hotel a lot.
Room: Very spacious, The bathroom has glass walls but it also has shutters that when you press a button then go down, beware though - if you make the shutters go all the way down, they will turn so everyone can see in. So leave an inch from the floor for shutters. Toiletries were fine, plenty of towels. The beds were comfortable. Loved the free internet in the room.
Room service: Negative, hated it. We ordered kid's hot dog - nothing resembles an american hot dog, so we sent it back.. then we ordered mac & cheese and it had onions in it, couldn't eat it either. One of us ordered fish and one peice of fish costs about $30 without any side dishes and it wasn't that good. For food we used French bakery accross the streat, where a meal would cost $5 and it was fresh and good.
The Sunday Brunch was The Best at this hotel. They had caviar (fake), local cousine as well as Western dishes. Tip: ask for a lobster, it's included in your price, they bring it to your table (1 per person). All the canned soda and bottled water you can drink. The desert was good too, not enough fruit though.
The Breakfast buffet at the hotel was good too, plenty of pastries, hot dishes, etc.
WiFi is free and they have outlet plugs for American electronics, so no need to bring a converter.
The check in and check out process was great, all the staff were polite and helpful, although only 10% of them spoke English (barelly) so you have to be patient and use imagination to explain what you want from them.
We walked around the hotel to search for food, big mall around the corner - not much food there. Huge supermarket is about 1 mile away (taxi cost is about $2) worth going to look at. Starbucks is around the corner. Ate at French Bakery a lot (takeout).
Would definatelly stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tata0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel bathroom was bright, l is very convenient to go to the mall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molina i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel

Property: Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Address: No.61 Dongsanhuan Middle Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why can't a business trip also be a journey full of inspiring discoveries? Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel is the ultimate lifestyle hotel in Beijing. Surrounded by upscale shopping malls, numerous of intriguing restaurants and amazing bars in Shuangjing area. The hotel puts you in the heart of Beijing Central Business District, 35 minutes away from the International Airport.Our property offers the perfect blend of comfort, with 522 spacious guest rooms including 37 well-appointed suites. Our International Chefs' team proposes a delicious international and authentic cuisine which should delight your senses. With more than 2300 square meters function space, elegantly decorated, the Renaissance Beijing Capital can satisfy all your business and social events requirements.To end a perfect day in Beijing, enjoy our signature Touch Spa and health club before letting you be pampered in our Club Lounge on the 24th floor.You spend life working. Discover the world as you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing