We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the switch?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Ranked #9 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great hotel, location and top restaurant for breakfast. Awesome views of 8 lane urban highways going as far as the eye can see. Brilliant roof top pool so you can watch the sunset lower with each stroke. Really stylish rooms although a word of caution - allow time to figure out the bath fill which is in the middle of the room, screened with a glass wall and finding the switch for the fancy screens.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

I spent 5 days at the hotel in January 2012. Overall it's satisfactory for the price as I had a corporate rate, however I thought it was necessary to warn other travelers that the hotel is not exactly as good as described in the other reviews:

* Cleanliness:

The room was overall a bit worn out, the carpet had some stains. Coffee stains on the wall close to kettle were not cleaned. The bath-tube had black marks that had not been clean and there was a dead insect in the bathroom curtain, probably there for several months.

* Service:

Staff looks bored and does not always greet guests. They enter the room immediately after knocking, without making sure there is no one in. I asked for a late check out on a saturday, but when I came back from pool my key had been deactivated, and I was not able to take the lift and then could not enter my room. Nobody was there to help, I had to go back to reception to reactive my card. No apology.

Conclusion: overrated in other trip advisor reviews, and not up to the Renaissance standards based on other Renaissance hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I had the chance to stay twice in this quite new hotel in Beijing and I loved it. The design of the hotel is very nice, very trendy and cosy. The Executive lounge is one of the best I have seen in a hotel so I strongly recommend to spend a little bit more to get the upgrade in the executive floor.
The location is convenient for tourism, there is a metro station at 5 minutes walking distance. Very enjoyable stay !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We are a family of 4 from USA and it was our first time in Beijing. We stayed at the hotel with two younger kids and we liked the hotel a lot.
Room: Very spacious, The bathroom has glass walls but it also has shutters that when you press a button then go down, beware though - if you make the shutters go all the way down, they will turn so everyone can see in. So leave an inch from the floor for shutters. Toiletries were fine, plenty of towels. The beds were comfortable. Loved the free internet in the room.
Room service: Negative, hated it. We ordered kid's hot dog - nothing resembles an american hot dog, so we sent it back.. then we ordered mac & cheese and it had onions in it, couldn't eat it either. One of us ordered fish and one peice of fish costs about $30 without any side dishes and it wasn't that good. For food we used French bakery accross the streat, where a meal would cost $5 and it was fresh and good.
The Sunday Brunch was The Best at this hotel. They had caviar (fake), local cousine as well as Western dishes. Tip: ask for a lobster, it's included in your price, they bring it to your table (1 per person). All the canned soda and bottled water you can drink. The desert was good too, not enough fruit though.
The Breakfast buffet at the hotel was good too, plenty of pastries, hot dishes, etc.
WiFi is free and they have outlet plugs for American electronics, so no need to bring a converter.
The check in and check out process was great, all the staff were polite and helpful, although only 10% of them spoke English (barelly) so you have to be patient and use imagination to explain what you want from them.
We walked around the hotel to search for food, big mall around the corner - not much food there. Huge supermarket is about 1 mile away (taxi cost is about $2) worth going to look at. Starbucks is around the corner. Ate at French Bakery a lot (takeout).
Would definatelly stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tata0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel bathroom was bright, l is very convenient to go to the mall.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molina i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A great and a chic hotel to stay in Beijing. Close to shopping area's.. The food is great and the services is fabulous. Had a great time at the hotel. Their executive floors are great and well stocked. Will visit again when I am next in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akhil_kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

terrific hotel in good location. across from big shopping center. there are two rensissance hotels about 10 min apart and taxi drivers don't know one from the othere and rarely speak english so be careful on directions

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbwchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#7 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,125 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,297 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#20 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,594 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel

Address: No.61 Dongsanhuan Middle Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $119 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why can't a business trip also be a journey full of inspiring discoveries? Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel is the ultimate lifestyle hotel in Beijing. Surrounded by upscale shopping malls, numerous of intriguing restaurants and amazing bars in Shuangjing area. The hotel puts you in the heart of Beijing Central Business District, 35 minutes away from the International Airport.Our property offers the perfect blend of comfort, with 522 spacious guest rooms including 37 well-appointed suites. Our International Chefs' team proposes a delicious international and authentic cuisine which should delight your senses. With more than 2300 square meters function space, elegantly decorated, the Renaissance Beijing Capital can satisfy all your business and social events requirements.To end a perfect day in Beijing, enjoy our signature Touch Spa and health club before letting you be pampered in our Club Lounge on the 24th floor.You spend life working. Discover the world as you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing