We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
Ranked #190 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very unique decor!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel will always be one of my most memorable hotels because my room was decorated in what I can only describe as mid-century French Bordello. Pepto-bismol pink and crystals were everywhere, including in the gigantic bathtub, which had, yes, pink LEDs.

The staff do not speak very good English, so I was glad to have a translator with me. They were courteous, however, down to the level of moving my chopsticks so they would be more conveniently placed for me.

The location was good - near a major road and metro station with shops and restaurants nearby. The breakfast was also pretty good and had lots of options. However, what I will always remember is my pink crystal room.

Room Tip: Go for the pink bordello rooms - how often do you have that story to tell?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigeekgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    97
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
8
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay at this excellent hotel. Can't compare it with other Beijing Hotels but room was good, food was good too. Good quality breakfast with lots of choices and many cuisines catered for. Good restaurant in hotel and others nearby. Good transport links with underground station just beside hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidPRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here a couple of times, and it was okay, however on the third try... "Sorry, but we gave away your room because your estimated time of arrival was five o'clock and it is now eight o'clock".

Fortunately a nearby Holiday Inn had rooms (which were $25 less per night). My next trip to Beijing will not include a stay at the Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Palojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff were helpful, there may have been some changes since the earlier reviewers comments. The room was spacious and comfortable but the bathroom and carpets looked a little tired. Thne room has it's own wifi and wired internet connections which is a nice touch and the power sockets on the desk take Chinese, European and British plugs which is very helpful. There are also a number of spare sockets around the room which is good for those of us who travel with lots of gadgets.

I was a little un-nerved when house keeping walked in at 7:00 am on the morning of departure but after realising hat I was still there, they happily went away again.

There is a lounge which felt a little seedy and in need of a refurb and a couple of restaurants.

I felt it was a bit pricey for what it was and I have stayed at much classier joints in China for less money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The hotel facade looks ok but once inside you realise that this is a far cry from a hotel with western standards. The staff at reception don't respect customers and are plainly not interested in assisting you.

Upon check-in we asked what time breakfast is open until, and were told 11am. When we showed up the next morning around 10:30 we were told that breakfast had closed. We went to reception and explained we had been misinformed about the time and asked them to send some basic breakfast to the room instead - because in our room rate we had already pre-paid breakfast for two.

They declined to do so unless if we paid again for breakfast, which makes no sense as we had pre-paid and they had misinformed us the previous day about the time. This went from staff member to staff member, to managers and so on and did not get resolved. In the end we got no breakfast, left the hotel very hungry and actually very angry. Some basic breakfast actually costs nothing for a hotel to buy in, so it would be the least they can do after their own error. The fact they were unable to resolve this simple problem adds further to our very negative view of this hotel and their complete lack of interest in providing customer service.

Terrible ! We checked into the Westin hotel afterwards and although it is more expensive, it was such a day and night difference in terms of service. The Westin and similar hotels 'get it' and understand western standards. The Metropark Yuantong provides a nice brochure but goes no further.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...... check into a hotel that knows how to service customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldtravellerLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The rooms are nice, with spacious rooms. The gym is decent, with 3 treadmills and a few machines. The Spa was closed for Chinese New Year.

Room Tip: Stay in a higher room, and ask for an odd numbered room. You will get a better night's sleep. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Let's say that this hotel is on the way to become an international hotel... but will never be!
So there are a few employees who can speak english (although having basic Chinese is a must to remain calm).
The bed was large, internet (with wire) was working correctly, large room, well equiped gym and there was some international chanel on tv. These were the good points.

Then, the dark side of the stay : horrible chinese liquor smell in my room, dirty carpet and bath room, room completly un-soundproof, room decoration verydepressing, chinese food room service, most depressing gym ever, no alternative choice restaurant and entertainment at walking distance!

I've seen worst chinese hotel, but in Beijing for 850RMB, this could have been a little bite better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroennico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Grand Metropark Hotel
Grand Metropark Hotel
#400 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Xiyuan Hotel
Xiyuan Hotel
#184 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#98 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#95 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
#142 of 6,462 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Chongwenmen
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
#170 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel

Property: Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
Address: No.30 Ping An Li West Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xizhimen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel Beijing is located at Xicheng District, Beijing, China. It offers air-conditioned accommodation rooms, all of which have a flat-screen TV with cable channels, IDD/ DDD phone with voicemail, and a free high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include a spa and sauna, beauty salon, gymnasium, and gift and flower shops. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Beijing Opera Mei Lanfang Grand Theatre, Tian’anmen Square, and Xizhimen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing