We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #81 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm & Homely”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you were a regular business traveler to Beijing from the mid eighties, this hotel may hold fond memories for expat visitors i.e. Charlie’s bar, beers in the lobby, a steak in the French restaurant, Justine’s. Although this hotel is now fully under Chinese management (originally a JV) and does not have all the flash amenities of a more modern hotel now in Beijing, we found a warm and homely atmosphere still exists. The hotel underwent a renovation before the Olympics and thankfully, they kept it the same, all the above outlets remain. For the business traveler, rooms are abit dated in the sense that there is a lack of sockets within the desk area, somewhat small, nevertheless, they are still more than comfortable and priced accordingly.

If you are looking for a location on Jianguomenwei, close to China World, Silk Market and even the Forbidden City then this is as good as any. Yes, I will be back; however, I wonder how long more this hotel will exist since it is a low rise located in a prime area, which is now surrounded by new high-rise developments.

Room Tip: Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANG L, Director of Sales at Beijing Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Jianguo Hotel Beijing and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to stay in business as long as possible and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    420
    121
    21
    6
See reviews for
40
89
32
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Garden room for a few days for business last month. This is the third time at this hotel as I particularly enjoyed the cozy atmosphere there and the great location. Unlike other international chain hotel, it gives you a feeling of getting home. The balcony of my room is overlooking the nice water garden but it's a too cold sitting outside. It will be great for Spring or Summer time though. The room is nicely decorated and spacious enough. The front desk staff is friendly and attentive. They are efficient for both checking in and out.
The buffet breakfast is great with wide selection of choices and some cook to order items. I'll definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicw249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANG L, Director of Sales at Beijing Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Jianguo Hotel Beijing and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, next to metro station Yong Anli. Easy to get to if using airport express or cab ! Close to Xiushui market n great restaurants around.
Fully equipped well maintained n clean rooms .
Helpful reception staff , western n Asian breakfast buffet good choice . Restaurant service a bit impersonal !
Great for business trip/ city trip !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YTabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANG L, Director of Sales at Beijing Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Jianguo Hotel Beijing and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I was nervous when company booked me this hotel as I know it is a very old Chinese hotel which generally provides at best mediocre service. But to my surprise, staff are very professional, much more than many 5-star hotels today. It almost gave me a feel of Mandarin Oriental's hotels - staff actually remember my name though I only stayed for two days and it was the first time staying there. The hotel facilities are old but kept well given the age of the hotel. Many new hotels have problem with the shower and bathroom that either water leaks from shower or has mold around corners of the showers or bath tubs. None of that was found in this htoel. The room is in good size and has everything you need for a business stay although I saw many tourists stayed there too. The hotel furnish is not modern but staff spoke good English. With that price, this level of service and location are great value for money. I will definitely come back to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank regleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANG L, Director of Sales at Beijing Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Jianguo Hotel Beijing and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our hotel was above your expectations. We hope to see you back in the future and we also hope that your experience than will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was my first trip to China. I read so many horror stories about hotels. I was on a business trip, so I didn't get to pick the hotels. I was NERVOUS.

The Jianguo was excellent. The best I stayed in while I was in China.I was perfectly comfortable and the hotel staff did everything they could to assist me. Everything worked in the room and bathroom. It felt like a hotel in the US. I only had a drink in the lounge, but the food smelled great and those around us seemed happy.

After dark the streets surrounding the hotel are populated by street urchins. We were solicited several times on the way back from dinner to buy watches, jewelry, and worse. Not a problem, but something to be aware of.

The hotel is located close to the Beijing subway-- which is excellent.

I would choose to stay at the Jianguo again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANG L, Director of Sales at Beijing Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Jianguo Hotel Beijing and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A welcoming and friendly hotel. After three stays here it never fails in its professional standards.

The rooms are comfortable and clean and staff are always helpful. Breakfast is brilliant with a wide selection of Western and Asian dishes and the dining staff always greet you with a smile and escort you to a table.

A perfect place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANG L, Director of Sales at Beijing Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Jianguo Hotel Beijing and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

first went to this hotel in 1987 when they had a beer garden outside. It was at that time one of the only international hotels in Beijing. I don't actually think any work has been done to it since. If it has, it is certainly not noticable.
On arrival, not one porter offered to help with my large suitcase - they just stood and chatted together. The Jianguo has an excellent location - that's it. I stayed in a "club floor" room. The club "lounge" has a fridge with soft drinks and milk in it and a coffee machine - that's it! No breakfast, cocktails or whatever you would normally find when paying a premium rae.
The shabby bedroom overlooked a decaying block behind where i could see into all the rooms as people slept, dressed etc. I kept the curtains closed.
The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom absolutely basic with a flimsy shower curtain.
Finally, when i tried to book a hotel car, they don't have any!
I will not go back. Such a shame to have such a delapidated product in a city that has so many glittering international hotels. And if anyone's wondering why I went there i the first place, it was a corporate booking and closest to my office. There are much better value for money deals to be had in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Jinglun Hotel
Jinglun Hotel
#392 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Guomao
Traders Hotel, Beijing
Traders Hotel, Beijing
#57 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
BeiJing Broadcasting Tower Hotel
BeiJing Broadcasting Tower Hotel
#193 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jianguo Garden Hotel
Jianguo Garden Hotel
#149 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Gotel Capital Hotel
Gotel Capital Hotel
#174 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Jianguo Hotel

Property: Beijing Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.5 Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Beijing
#71 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#75 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Jianguo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jian Guo Beijing
Hotel Jian Guo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing