We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location..Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Ranked #109 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Location..Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The location is convenient and the rooms are good. Although you may find signs of wear n tear in few rooms but that can be overlooked. The staff goes out of its way in helping you and are the nerve to this place. Couple of English speaking guys who really know customer service. The only down side is if you are a hard core vegetarian like me than you might find it bit tough to manage with the breakfast n food. Overall, a good and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravin_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    185
    71
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
50
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Overall this hotel is a great value, and the staff was extremely helpful.

My first room had plumbing issues, and the heater was stuck on ultra-hot. Wasn't a great start to the stay, but the hotel staff was extremely helpful and moved me to a new room. Couldn't have asked for better treatment.

Hotel rooms are nice, plenty of space, and compared to other hotels I've stayed in Beijing on par the hotel class. Morning buffet is included, and was quite good.

The WIFI was frustrating at times as it could be pretty slow. Part of that was due to the China Firewall I'm sure, but I had more internet troubles in this hotel then others I'd stayed at before. If you need a fast internet for video conferences, etc you might want to look elsewhere. If you just need to check your email and do the basics it's more then adequate.

The metro is less than 5 minutes away. Taxi's are still cheap in Beijing so I'd recommend taking a Taxi to the hotel for the first time to get situated, then use the metro for travel during rush hour - but stick with Taxi all other times of the day. It's quicker, and extremely cheap. 90 RMB to the airport with no traffic.

Also be warned, not a single taxi driver knew where this hotel was at first glance. They all figured it out, but usually after calling someone on their phone or asking the doorman. Don't be shocked to be sitting in the taxi 2-5 minutes before you actually start moving. I would recommend printing out a larger map of the area. The hotel cards they give don't show enough to get a feel for where the hotel is.

Here's a tip on the heating/air conditioning. I stayed in November, and they only had heating. If your room is hot, do not turn down the temp or increase the fan speed. All that's going to do is pump in more hot air. If you want to cool down the room, turn everything off. Your room will then cool down quite quickly.

Overall, a great value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from this hotel. it is well located near the subway which was a doddle to use. The hotel itself has a nice loby area. We were on the club floor in a good sized room, it was very comforbale, no issues with the room at all. Club floor also gave us access to the club lounge where we enjoyed a few beers and snacks after sightseeing all day. We also had free internet access. The food in the restaurant was good as well, we had the chicken curry. My only criticism is that it took until the third night before we were offered the food menu, and there were spirits bottles available in the lounge when I believe they should have been there every night. If they are not there, remember to ask!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Booog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very fortunate to be upgraded to a state room. The facilities were great, and breakfast in the cafe was busy but reasonable choices available. It's biggest advantage was that it was 5 minutes walk from the subway so was very easy to get around. My only real complaints were the smoke smell in the room and the inability to cool the room (only heat), but I didn't specifically ask for non-smoking and the cooling issue is one I have had in most hotels across the world.

The concierge didn't speak english very well at all (well it is China after all!), but they were very good to arrange my train tickets for onward travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trw1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed our 4-night stay in the hotel, it was very conveniently located near the Fuchengmen station, from there you can access the rest of Beijing for only 2 RMB per trip. There's also a currency exchange machine at the hotel. Water pressure was excellent.

I wanted to rate the hotel higher for this visit, but overall experience was just okay. Language was still a problem and we had difficulty communicating with some front desk staff, I also felt they preferred to talk to other locals over foreigners and prioritized them even though I was clearly next in the queue. We were put on a smoking floor even though we requested for non-smoking rooms, there was no recognition for iHG rewards members and lastly the breakfast was just average, I was expecting more.

But overall, it was still a good stay, all we were looking for was a clean room, comfy bed and the location was really good, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geekyobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experiences with us.

We are pleased to know your satisfaction with our hotel and would choose us again in your future trip in Beijing. All problems you have mentioned in your comment have delivered to the hotel management, proper actions have implemented already. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best source for improving guest services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is at walking distance from few shopping centers and an underground station. It is a standard Holiday Inn facility, with rooms quite small and a bit dated even if well kept. Internet connection is chargeable (in my case included in the fare) and quite slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0bert0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your sharing about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging reviews will help us constantly improve our quality and we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here mid September 2013. With Holiday Inns you know what to expect, and this was certainly it. Clean hotel with comfortable beds,good sized rooms, safe and clean bathrooms (ours had a bath - was certainly useful after a day of trekking the Great Wall). The breakfast was amazing - a selection of English, continental, American, Chinese breakfasts were provided - fruit, yogurts, breads, pastries, juices, coffees, teas, milk, noodles, rice, vegetables, curried eggs, dim sum, boiled eggs, poached eggs, beans, toasts, sausages, bacon, hash browns, pancakes, french toast, maple syrup - amazing! If you stay at this hotel, make sure you include breakfast! Hotel was also in a great location, on the same block (2 minute walk) to the nearest underground which is really easy to use. Lots of small shops and local/western restaurants nearby too. Staff also polite, helpful and friendly which of course usually makes or breaks a hotel. Great all round hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing South Railway Station
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
#80 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Xidan
Presidential Beijing
Presidential Beijing
#186 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#135 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#137 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#63 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Address: No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#96 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing