We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Ranked #116 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated in the Business District of Beijing, handy to most city indoor markets. 15mins by taxi to Tianamen Square/Forbidden Palace. Also handy to The Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven and Beijing Zoo.
Rooms are clean and 3 adults can share comfortably in a King room.
Food was good for both breakfast and dinner and reasoably priced.
Staff were friendly, courteous and went out of their way to help with any questions we might have had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurnsieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experience during your rencent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Beijing Downtown in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    188
    71
    10
    6
See reviews for
33
50
22
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is great find, I spent months in China and have to keep to a tight budget, this for me, is luxury on a budget.

As do most hotels they operate a flexible pricing policy and during this weekend I got a top class room at less than $50. The hotel is very well presented with lots of marble and gold fixtures in the reception, multiple restaurants and garden veranda type bars,
The room I got was very sumptuous with a BIG bed, must be 6ft square, deep mattress and crisp clean sheets very comfortable!
Breakfast was not included on my budget price but I still went ahead and paid for it as the room was such a good price, the breakfast buffet was about 40ft long with plenty of choice.
The hotel has a clean looking gym, beauty salon and massage room, I didn't try them but from the door-way they looked very well presented.
There is a cash-machine in the hotel lobby if you are nervous of using then on an open road in the city, very usaeful!

Location, immediately outside is not very touristy, but there are plenty of restaurants and fast food places within a stone’s throw, but what makes this really good is that the subway is two minutes away and its Line 2 the Beijing Circular line giving you access to the whole of Beijing, nothing is more than 20 minutes travelling time with most central attractions less than that, the subway in Beijing is very cheap, so don’t need taxis, more savings! There is a shuttle bus going to and from the Financial district, no idea what that is, but it’s there if you happen to be thinking of going there.

I have found that all the staff speak quite good English and are prepared to help out with some Chinese translations, everyone I have dealt with has been very helpful, efficient and freindly.

The two hotels I will now use in Beijing are both Holiday Inns, the main one for week days and long hauls is the Holiday Inn Express at the Temple of Heaven , South Beijing, surprisingly comfortable with great staff and very friendly surrounding local restaurants and shops, see my other review and this one when I see the special price offers!

Room Tip: 1> Check the Holiday Inn website for best prices / dates to get the best bargains 2>> Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear HughMcDaniel,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experience during your rencent stay with us. We are so honoured to know your satisfactory in our hotel. Your remarks are most encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Beijing Downtown in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Location is terrible I wouldn't stay here again or recommend anyone visiting Beijing stay here.

The rooms are stuffy and ac is rubbish. we were dying from the heat yet it was freezing outside so i hate to imagine what it would be like in summer! & no windows so couldn't even resort to that!

Breakfast was very good though. That's about it!

Also no wifi in rooms which is pretty lame

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushy_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to post a comment through the internet.

We are deeply concerned to learn of your unpleasant experience during your stay in our hotel. We failed to provide you a comfortable room due to some problems with the ac system caused a little stuffy. Immediately actions have been taken after we knew this issue to avoid such things wouldn’t happen again. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem our reputation by welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As with most Holiday Inn's this one was clean, comfortable with reasonable staff. The hotel has a nice courtyard which is covered that is nice to have a beer and a snack in the evening. The location is quite central and most of the sights are close by.

Great chooce of food for breakfast, one of the biggest buffets i saw while in China. WiFi is a bit hit and miss and can also be exspensive, i checked my email quickly a few times while there but must have entered in different hours because i got charged several times. This is also should on your bill as phone calls which was a pain for me to get through my exspenses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know your satisfactory with our service and staff as well as our superior geography position. Your remarks are most encouraging.

Regarding your internet bill, we are pleased to let you know that would be stated as phone connection bill. We could send the detail accounts that showing internet bill to you if you need. I appreciated the details you supplied as they gave us the opportunity to trace the real issues, we have already made a modification on our systerm about this issue and it would't happen again. It is through feed back such as yours that we strive to improve both product and service on a daily basis.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was a great expereince to stay at the Hoilday Inn Downtown Beijing during my business trip I was there for three nights and I would definitely rank it as the best hotel in China . The concierge is fantastic - he will be able to guide you perfectly on the sights and sounds of Beijing as well help in your travel needs to the extent of explianing to the cab driver where you exactly need to go . Just a walk away are numerous food joints of different varieties - Japanese , Thai,Authentic Chinese.Western as well as the perennial favourites like KFC and Mac's . Rooms are a bit small but the thoughtfulness of providing the toiletries keeping in mind the sub zero temperatures are just right ! The staff are really nice and the Breakfast buffet has literally everything . We tried the Chinese restuarent at the hotel the day we checked in and the pains the waitress took in explaining each dish in English was really helpful . In case you are taking the tube the Fuchengein station is just next door and for tourists Tianmen Square and The Forbidden City are just a 15 minute cab ride away even in the notorious Beijing traffic . If you are adventurous the conceirge will get you tickets for the Kung Fu show in the evenings and even arrange your transpaortation . Highly recommended both for business travellers as well as for family trips .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasenjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking your precious time to evaluate the service and facilities and also share your stay experience with us! Your remarks are most encouraging.
We are delighted to konw that you throughtly enjoy your stay with us and truly appreciated our friendly concierge, conconvenient location, well-appointed facilities. Moreover, you found our employees to be polite and helpful. My colleagues will also be pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of our efforts and we will keep working hard to continuously maintain our high quality services.

We are looking forward to seeing you in the not too distance future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We chose this hotel in Beijing as it was good value and fairly close to people we were visiting. The rooms were clean and reasonably furnished, nothing spectacular but all adequate. The check-in was easy and the staff were very efficient. The concierge staff were particularly helpful throughout our stay and deserve a special mention. The hotel is situated near a very busy road and there was some road noise. Not enough to bother me when sleeping, but worth noting if you are sensitive to that kind of thing. The hotel is near a metro station so it's easy to get about the city, however, there are a number of shopping outlets within walking distance which are worth investigating.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay. My only criticism (which is with all Holiday Inn's not just this one) is the charge for the internet. There are a lot lesser hotels where internet is free. However, it's a minor point. I will certainly consider staying here again on my next trip to Beijing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emnjnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing last December as part of a long China trip. We checked in pretty late and for tried travellers, nothings works better than smiling, helpful faces and a quick check in. The hotel staff scored high on all these counts and I checked in and was in my room within minutes. The room, though small by many international standards, was extremely cosy and the decor and features were thoughtfully provided. The bathroom was well stocked with the needful and extremely practical though small. We came down to have dinner at the coffee shop pretty late and they were still open and well stocked with a nice spread. I also needed to get some documents printed and the staff were present and helpful even at that late hour.

I had to check out really early in the morning and the staff was extremely helpful with that and breakfast at the coffee shop was readily provided at 5 am. The breakfast, even at that hour was a lavish spread and the staff present were catering to all my demands with ease.

Check out was swift and the staff took special care to ensure that I was not exposed to the sub zero temperature in the morning and got the car as close possible to the door. Excellent experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANKMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#135 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Beijing South Railway Station
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
#89 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#60 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Xidan
Presidential Beijing
Presidential Beijing
#165 of 6,462 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Address: No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#101 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing