We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peking International Youth Hostel
Ranked #8 of 982 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I am a YHA / HI hostelling association member, and was very pleased with this hotel.

Snacks and food available in main room and there is an excellent courtyard.

I shared a twin room with a friend and we had a great private bathroom (there were also dormitory style shared bathrooms). We were able to access free wifi from our room, but the signal was a bit weak (I think it would have been stronger if we were in the main room).

It was walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tianenmen Square.

In fact, it is also easy to get to by subway. We were able to take the subway from the Beijing Airport to Tianenmen East station (as long as you arrive during daytime hours, thsi should be feasible).

It is about a 10 minute walk from Tianenmen East, but there are also usually taxis available if you are having difficulty with luggage (otherwise it's walkable for all other outings). My friend and I were able to walk, though, even with large suitcases.

Look out for it as it is down a bit of an alleyway, which they were paving over the week we were there. There is a sign with the HI symbol indicating the alleyway.

We felt safe and were comfortable. The beds were a little hard, but not bad at all, especially for the price. We crossed paths with many other young travelers as well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed in the hostel for a week. We loved every bit of it!
The staff were very nice and helpfull. It was easy to get in touch with everyone.
The best location!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haugesund68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I started off in the Lu Song Yuan around the corner and felt it was way too expensive for the amenities. The lodging at Qing Zhu Yuan were clean and basic. The bathroom was clean -- but had one of those eastern type showers where there isn't really a tub -- water goes into a drain on the other side of the bathroom.

What I really liked about this place was how it was located directly on the trendy street with windows in the bar area that looked out on the people walking by. The guys at the front desk spoke passable English.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonTexasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I had a day on my own before my official business trip starts so I decided that I must make full use of it and should stay near the city's attractions. Peking International Youth Hostel is just a walk away from the Forbidden City, which is great, especially for me, a girl travelling alone. Not to mention, it was an easy place for taxi drivers to find.

When I stepped into the hostel, I was warmly welcomed - not only by the friendly people working there but also by the great, cosy environment. The lounge/dining/common area was a eccentric mixture of furnishing from different sofas, carpets, cushions, decoratives to lights. There was a TV, three computers with high speed Internet access too! As I was early (9am) and my room was still occupied (they were that full!), the lady offered to keep my belongings in a luggage storage room so I can spend my morning looking around Beijing. Toilet on the first floor was clean and fully furnished.

When I finally got back (from the Forbidden City no less), my room was ready and the girls helped me with my bag as I was staying on the second floor. My room was fab! I went for the private suite that came with my own private bathroom, the bed was like a queen size bed, no stains (I was mentally prepared - it is my first hostel experience afterall). There was minimum walking room, I guess you can say that there was just enough space to place your luggage (there was a luggage stand), and space to walk around your bed, which was fine - my intention was just to sleep and go.

The room had a touch of Oriental design to it - check out the basin and the cupboards and best of all, there was no weird smell etc. The room was nicely heated to 30 degrees C if you like, with an adjustable remote controller. There were windows (I'm quite anal about having windows). The bathroom was stocked with extra toilet paper and was very clean. Most importantly, it was a peaceful location.

I wanted to have a quick bite and ordered some French fries, which was decent. people were friendly and when I was there, I saw people from different countries, Europe, USA, Taiwan and even from different parts of China. As they have an in-house kitchen, the cook readily cooked up some stuff even though the kitchen was officially closed.

there was also an area where you can wash and hang your clothes. There was also an outdoor courtyard if you prefer the outdoors to the air-conditioned common area.

The girls were very ready to help and friendly as I asked for directions etc. They have organised trips to several places of interest but I was short on time and couldn't participate.
All in all, there was a general friendly atmosphere at this hostel.Everyone's here to explore Beijing.

Don't worry if you're travelling alone, the people working at the hostel are friendly, you can turn to if you needed help (one of the reasons I chose a hostel instead of a hotel). The girls can speak English fairly well, so go with an open attitude and speak clearly.

When I go back for vacation, this is where I'll definitely stay again! Not to mention, accommodation is not cheap in Beijing so this is a great alternative. Cheers!

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank Wu_Oolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

I just walked in and I had the best 3 days in China ever! Lots of people, good talk and great athmosphere. One thing I did not like is that the beer was a bit too expensive. Thanks for the great stay

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Recently stayed in this lovely little hostel - not really a hostel more like a boutique hostel.

It is placed in a bit of a scary location (down an alley in a hutong) but don't be put off. When you go in it is a warm, safe and tranquil place to spend time. It has a great little living area and a superb courtyard to relax in. Staff are very friendly and the facilities are good. I stayed in a single room which was great - warm, cosy and a nice modern bathroom.

Cons:
* It is difficult to find but once you get there its' easy.
* It is a good walk from any public transport so get your hiking boots on.
* Just watch the tours - DON'T go on one which mentions shopping, it's cheaper but not worth the pain in the [-] of the pressured sale.

Pros:
* V friendly, warm and a goot price.
* Great historic location.
* Close to T Square, the Forbidden City and the Night Market.
* Funky surrounds.

TIP - don't engage with any "English Students" they are all scammers. Whether it be for an art show or a tea drinking thing, say NO. They are very friendly and approach you unguarded but they are all at it!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheBot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: évitez le dortoir
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurence6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#135 of 6,564 in Beijing
312 reviews
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 982 in Beijing
250 reviews
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Peking Station Hostel
#10 of 982 in Beijing
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking International Youth Hostel

Address: No.113-2 Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 982 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $19 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Peking International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lively hostel! If you like to be surrounded by flowers, and if you like to feel like home when you travel, this is the right place for you!Peking International Youth Hostel is situated at the most charming and popular Hutong Conservative District in Beijing - the south of Nanluoguxiang. It is located near the very heart of the city, in the Dongcheng District. The alley's north end is enclosed by Gulou and Zhonglou. A little south-west at the end of the alley, is the middle axis of Beijing where the Jingshan Park, the Forbidden City and the Tiananmen Square sits along. The gorgeous night time attraction sites, Houhai, Qianhai and Shishahai is just to the west of the alley, in a distance that should take you around only 10 to 15 minutes walk through Yu'er Hutong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Peking International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peking International Youth Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing