We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“that's Beijing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #119 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“that's Beijing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

As an Beijing grown-up, I took my vacation back to Beijing with my family. I stayed in Hutongren following my friend's recommendation, and it turned out to be an excellent experience. The place is hidden in a secret sub-hutong of Nanluoguxiang, which presents the best of Beijing hutong life but, to be honest, is getting a bit too crowded with the fast growing commercial. While this small hotel, 100m from main hutong of Nanluoguxiang, makes a real retreat and family-like place to stay, where it reminds me the peaceful hutong-life memory of my childhood, including the family-taste Beijing noodle provided in the hotel cafe. Good place to live Beijing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhenghua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    64
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
49
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first stop on a months tour of china so we didn't know what to expect. As it turned out this was the smallest space and the most expensive! The room was minuscule and quite chilly, but the shower was powerful and hot and even came with toiletries and lush towels. There was a funky drain smell as others mentioned but was fully enclosed unit so it didnt bother us. The staff were exceptionally helpful but the location in our mind is key, we were in the hub of everything. Internet was so poor we had to visit the apple shop to book forward accommodation! The food was very nice if a little pricey, we loved the pancakes, the French toast, the homemade yoghurt, the fried breakfasts, but best of all we loved the noodles! We had their tea a few times but it really was expensive and added 200y to our bill! It has had a full renovation and shows off quirky smart design. We enjoyed the roof terrace and even hung up an item or two of clothes to dry. It's a really cool place and Blackie the dog is worth a cuddle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misspickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I always think that taste good is very important for me.This hotel provide great chinese tea &nice chinese noodle.
The chinese noodle , the official statement called "Noodles with soy bean paste",is great.
The chinese tea,form Yunnan Province,taste good,especially "the white moon".
Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed at the hutongren courtyard hotel for 4 nights and had a great experience. the location off of the charming nan luo gu alley really makes this hotel fantastic as do the helpful girls who worked the front desk. we had a double room that was basic, but comfortable with modern fittings. it had a small window with a platform bed. there was no closet or table space and the bathroom was separated by a curtain instead of a proper door. as others have said, make sure you check out the terrace with the great view of the hutong roofs. be warned that the bathrooms do have a strong funky smell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skirtandsupersuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this cute courtyard hotel in September. It was unique experience. It's in the middle of hutongs but the hotel was remodeled and modern. The room was very small but comfortable. There was some sewage smell from bathroom and there are only curtain in between the bedroom and the bathroom. They locked the door around 11pm, so we had to ring to wake up someone to get us in. They served breakfast, mostly western style, but my favorite was spring onion noodle. Staff was great, spoke good English, and very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juno27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I love the miraculous Chinese tea in this hotel,the arrangement of the room is high-quality and traditional.
The location of this hotel is the most attractive place in Beijing!!!!
Nan Luo Gu Xiang for Beijing, just like Portobello road for London!!
Such a paradise - like hotel,which should be strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ada g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I mean the small Hutong located closely to the commercial area,a ancient Beijing family feeling building covered by a giant tree.But the room decoration is very modern and comfortable.I am very interested in the tea enjoyment at lobby with the hotel owner, the girl with long hair.You can explore it.
The commercial street is very quiet after 10pm but you can find some bars open till morning.My personal experience is a 10 minutes walking toward south to a lakeside bar areas.That is a magical world.
You can ask the owners,all girls.Haha

Room Tip: money matters,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#107 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#90 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#24 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#198 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#65 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#128 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutongren Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Property: Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutongren Courtyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hutongren Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing