We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,173)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
509
456
168
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
456
168
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laundry room beijing south railway station forbidden city free breakfast the breakfast area budget hotel taxi driver western options min walk non smoking peking duck summer palace taxis subway chinese china address
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

Avoid this hotel; very out of date and I couldnโ€™t believe if it was a Real or fake holiday inn.

The staff especially Carol is really rude; to the point I refused to talk to her. I asked her to book me a taxi after 15 mins she forgot. Was really rude about it.

Room
Bathroom - smelt of piss; not sure if they have ventilation issues.

House Keeping - were the worst. They never cleaned the room properly. Worst house keeping never did the room properly. Left a used mugs in the room.
Dirty carpets have never been washed; felt filthy.

Breakfast
Only thing good is the breakfast. The breakfast room is newly upgraded with new furniture etc. The selection of food is very good. Only good thing about the hotel.

Concierge is none existence; staff were really rubbish. Location is only good for temple of heaven. Appreciate itโ€™s an express but no one is available to help with luggage.

I needed help to book some tours; they couldnโ€™t even help and support no response chases several times and got a pathetic response.

Overall
Good breakfast, rubbish and dirty rooms, bathrooms smell of urine, staff are rude in addition they had construction outside. Best to avoid and find somewhere else !!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank OzieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to to write a review! We're thrilled you loved breakfast.

On the other hand, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you have had, for sure we will review the issues that you have mentioned, and strive to provide the best service and well maintained facilities for our guests.

Once again, we are sorry that we had failed to make a good impression, and we hope that despite what you experienced, you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
IHG Social Listening Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

If you want a basic hotel without paying much this is a good option. The hotel itself is okay including breakfast. Wasn't attracted of the dinner buffet and missing a bar. Room was nice and staff good in English. Temple of Heaven is walking distance, everything else you need to drive.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeeburg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted to get your recognition to our hotel's rooms and breakfast. Your feedback regarding our hotel's the dinner buffet and a bar is important to us and has been shared with our management team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
IHG Social Listening Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2018

I stayed at this place for a night and i can say it wise to choose it only for 1 night. as it says temple of heaven, yes its located at the walking distance from the temple. that was the only thing i liked about it.

What did not work well -- i had two large suitcases and there was no one to help me to the room eventually dragged them 1 by 1 from reception to the room; as an elite member i was offered fruits and they were rotten (like few days old), entrance is small and not that well lit

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hippiankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2018

Dear hippiankur,

Thank you so much for taking the time to to write a review.We appreciate your comments as it is through this feedback that we know how we are doing and where improvement is needed. Please be assured that we will review our service chain and make appropriate courtesy for betterment whichever is possible. We sincerely hope it did not mar your experience at our hotel.ย 

Best regards,
IHG Social Listening Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

It's not easy to find a hotel within this price range in Beijing. Not to mention it includes breakfast and shuttle bus to the train station.
This hotel is close to the train station and also near a supermarket and some good restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KaneZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018

The front desk staff was very helpful upon check-in. The rooms are very similar to the photos posted by the hotel, but the rooms did have a smell of cigarette smoke. I noticed that people were smoking everywhere in the hotel, even by no smoking signs. I don't think the hotel, or any other business in Beijing, enforces this rule.

We had 4 rooms reserved for our stay, and all of the occupants noted that it was quite hot in the rooms. I asked the front desk staff about the temperature, and they immediately switched my room. However, the other room was just as hot! It never went below 28 degrees Celsius.

There were plenty of options for breakfast, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.

The hotel did seem a little out of the way, and there was some construction occurring in the front of the hotel. But, overall everything seemed to go well.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emmst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews