We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel grat location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Ranked #48 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great hotel grat location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first hotel on our tour of China and was a nice suprise it was clean and comfortable with friendly staff,breakfasts not a lot of choice but that was because we were in China,all in all a nice start to our holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineT557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear elaineT557,
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we wereable to provide you with a memorable experience.
Thank you once again for your comments. We look for ward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    413
    145
    16
    15
See reviews for
142
174
79
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are looking for a soft bed in Beijing, or anywhere in China for that matter, you will look for a long time -- but this hotel fits the bill! Its location is great, just a little south of the city center and very walkable from the most beautiful park, Temple of Heaven. The breakfast here is "okay", a little too eastern for our taste, but it's included. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the in-room safe is very handy. It's also not far from the South BJ Train Station (but you must have the name of the hotel in Chinese for the taxi drivers) and just a short walk from the end of the No. 15 bus line (which can take you all the way across the city to the Beijing Zoo for just 1 RMB!) The staff spoke English well and we had no problems with our room. We booked multiple rooms through the ihg.com website and there were no problems with our reservation. As with most hotels in BJ, we had to pay extra to have a third person in one of the rooms, but that room turned out to be a very spacious, corner room. The wi-fi worked fine in most of our rooms; it was spotty in one of the rooms in the back corner of the building. Overall, the hotel was very similar to HI Express in the USA, and after living in China for a couple of years, it has been a comfortable respite.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 8th/top floor and there is no traffic noise like some of the lower floors; &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Alice B,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see the service and facilities were all satisfactory.
Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed overand beyond our guest expectations.
Thank you once again, we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro mla, philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

pros: iv stayed in this hotel 2x and im staying again this oct. good simple buffet breakfast. value for money. modern. clean. has supermarket abt 5 min away. front desk speaks good english, very near temple of heaven (but not walkable... actually walkable but far)

cons: far from the center (about 6km away), no good restaurants in the area (there are abt 3-4 fastfoods)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear avigan,
Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us tomonitor our standards.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we lookforward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed with family for the 2 nights we were in Beijing and was an average experience. Rooms are clean and of reasonable size with wifi offered at no extra cost. Staff were helpful considering the language barrier but they tried their best to offer information on things like restaurant options and best ways to get around the city. We checking in late evening and ended up loading up the luggage ourselves.

Breakfast consisted of a good spread with a couple of "continental" options for the foreigners. While it seemed a bit out of the way from the city center, it's right next to the massive temple of heaven park which was quite a surprising find. Spent a good four hours there after initially intending to only deck in and out.

By the looks of it, lots of tour groups and business travellers seem to frequent the hotel. Reasonably priced and a decent experience overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoop V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Anoop V,
Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us tomonitor our standards.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we lookforward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hi We are a mature couple and our experience of this hotel was terrible. Staff could not speak English and where most unhelpful. It would be classed in Australia as one star There was no room service or staff to help with luggage we had to transport our luggage ourselves The room was noisy right next to Lift and there was no fridge in room Air conditioner only worked now and again.. Breakfast was terrible do not cater for the none Asian traveler. We stayed three nights and ate in their great room first night for dinner. They were pricey and the food was disgusting. Outside restaurants were much better and cheaper. WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN NOR WOULD I RECOMMEND IT.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maureen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear maureen s,
It is our great pleasure and honor to welcome you to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. Your opinion and feedback is extremely important to us, as it will help us to further enhance and shape our service in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was a great little place to stay, staff were friendly, well priced, convenient. The rooms were very comfortable and well maintained. Breakfast was included in the price and a good mix of western and Chinese.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Ru H,
Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us tomonitor our standards.
Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed overand beyond our guest expectations.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we lookforward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have had a lovely 5day stay here,the room is very clean and has lovely fresh towels and linen.I have two complaints ,the desk staff are not overly friendly especially the girls it seemed like a bother when i asked some advice,their English is not great but that is no excuse for making a guest feel like a pain.Secondly I feel that breakfast could have a few Western additions I found that there was very little hot food that I could eat and the eggs were boiled till they were blue!! Apart from that we could not fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear May G,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see the location, service and facilities were all satisfactory.
Thank you once again for your comments. We look for ward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#44 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#71 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven

Property: Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Address: No.36 Nanwei Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100050, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. The hotel is strategically located in Beijing historic downtown, in the neighborhood of the Temple of Heaven Park and 10 minutes drive to the Tiannenmen Square, Forbidden City, National Grand Theater,WangfuJing Pedestrian and Qianmen Ancient Shopping Street. The hotel features 316 well appointed guest rooms functionally equipped with a 32 inch LCD television set, satellite and 35 cable channels including CNN, HBO, Phoenix and in-room safe.Guests are entitled free to wireless high-speed internet connection in-room or at any public area within the hotel and complimentary use of computers in the business center. More so, free breakfast is included. Other hotel facilities include a meeting room, unique concept Great Room F&B outlet, self-service laundry and ticketing vending machine. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven is a wise choice for business and leisure travelers alike who desire a new level of comfort at prices that make them smile from ear to ear.Hotel Address and Direction:--No.36 Nanwei Road, Xuanwu District, 100050 Beijing, P.R.C--Located at the Nanwei Road, on the opposite site of Tiantan Park West gate and 700m s drive West from the Tianqiao Department Store.From Beijng Capital Airport to HotelTake the airport transfer bus to Xi Dan or Fang Zhuang stop and get a cab to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing