We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Beijing, but a little far from the subway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Ranked #66 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express Temple of Heaven for two nights before I joined my tour group. I chose this hotel as the price was very reasonable (US$60/night), and I wanted to be close to the Temple of Heaven as this tourist attraction was not on our tour itinerary. Firstly, the hotel is very close to the standard that one might expect of a Holiday Inn Express in the West. This is important as Chinese beds tend to be extremely hard, and their bathrooms a bit grungy. I stayed in about 7 different hotels in China (mainly 3 and 4-star) and this was the nicest. Bonuses included free and decent buffet (hot and cold) breakfast and free wireless Internet. The staff at reception are very friendly and helpful, although there are some language barriers still. There are a number of small restaurants leading from the subway station to the hotel, and many cater to locals, so you may need to be careful with your choices.

The main drawback (for me anyway) for the hotel is its proximity to the subway station. I caught the subway, and tried to follow their instructions (but since I did not know east from west, and it was dark), it is not evident which way to go. I flagged down 4 taxi before one of then knew where the hotel was. In the daytime, and once you get your bearings, it is easier to find, but still a good 10-15 minute walk from the subway station.

You get a lot of hotel for your money and it was much better than the hotelI wound up staying at with our tour group but the location would make me think twice about going back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

We cashed in hotel points to stay at this property and were not disappointed! The staff were friendly, and the property was clean and modern. My only complaints would be the location and the breakfast. We checked in after dark, and were hoping to find dinner within walking distance. We ended up picking up some Ramen, Chips Ahoy, Pringles & TsingTao at a little bodega down the street when we could not find any open restaurants. It turned into an adventure. I am not sure if there was a gym, but my husband I enjoyed running around the neighborhood in the mornings. It was a bit smoggy, but another adventure! The hotel is not the easiest to find for the taxi drivers, so I would recommend bringing your own map/guidebook. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is a great value, but would probably stay somewhere with more walking options next time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klaine17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have positive comments about the rooms, functional, neat with all basic amenities. Wifi was not working unless I step out to the corridor. Food and beverage services almost non existent except a minimal breakfast. Coaxing a taxi driver to take you to the hotel is very difficult, especially in the night. But a good place to stay for the comfort of the room but nothing else.

Room Tip: If you have arranged a car to pick you up and drop you after your sightseeing or shopping trips and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We really liked this hotel. It is a pretty easy walk from the Temple of Heaven (5-10 min) Tienamen Square (20 min) and the Forbidden City. The breakfasts were good, if sometimes a little crowded. The front desk staff were wonderful, and very helpful. I would agree with some other posts, however, that taxi drivers had trouble finding it. I would reccomend printing out a google map in Chinese and bringing it with you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WI_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and the stay was simply awesome.. We enjoyed the hospitality, cleanliness of the room, free wireless internet, free breakfast which included both Continental and Chinese style breakfast. Language is usually a major problem in Beijing for non-Chinese speaking tourists, but the guys at the reception make it easy for you. The cafe on the 2nd floor had good choices for quick snack. The location was perfect, walkable distance to the Temple of Heaven. Easy to get a taxi.. Overall, no regrets staying here..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank udaysasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

the staff were very helpful, room given was clean and very spacious with great view of temple. Breakfast was filling however it was the same fare day in day out - they have to change the variety and make the food more palatable

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Excellent value for money tourist hotel with friendly and service minded staff. Reception desk helped us hire taxi for Great Wall and reserved tickets for Capital Museum using their personal ID - very helpful and smart, young English speaking staff. Free wireless in rooms and cafeteria style restaurant. In-hotel convenience store and ATM. Got free tea/coffee vouchers for all 4 people at check-in. Breakfast is free - Asian and Western style, nothing fancy, but good strong coffee. 15 min walk from subway, but many taxis in area. Fantastic Peking Duck restaurant nearby. Rooms clean and good housekeeping, glass bathroom wall illuminates entire room if bathroom light turned on. One of our rooms smelled of smoke. Excellent experience, love this hotel! Can't go wrong at this price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 268TravelKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,716 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#57 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,547 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven

Address: No.36 Nanwei Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100050, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $65 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. The hotel is strategically located in Beijing historic downtown, in the neighborhood of the Temple of Heaven Park and 10 minutes drive to the Tiannenmen Square, Forbidden City, National Grand Theater,WangfuJing Pedestrian and Qianmen Ancient Shopping Street. The hotel features 316 well appointed guest rooms functionally equipped with a 32 inch LCD television set, satellite and 35 cable channels including CNN, HBO, Phoenix and in-room safe.Guests are entitled free to wireless high-speed internet connection in-room or at any public area within the hotel and complimentary use of computers in the business center. More so, free breakfast is included. Other hotel facilities include a meeting room, unique concept Great Room F&B outlet, self-service laundry and ticketing vending machine. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven is a wise choice for business and leisure travelers alike who desire a new level of comfort at prices that make them smile from ear to ear.Hotel Address and Direction:--No.36 Nanwei Road, Xuanwu District, 100050 Beijing, P.R.C--Located at the Nanwei Road, on the opposite site of Tiantan Park West gate and 700m s drive West from the Tianqiao Department Store.From Beijng Capital Airport to HotelTake the airport transfer bus to Xi Dan or Fang Zhuang stop and get a cab to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing