We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel Near Temple of Heaven, Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Ranked #52 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We checked in to the hotel as arranged by the travel agent. The hotel does live up to its internationally known brand name - Holiday Inn. Express denotes a lower scale accommodation. However, we did not feel any significant difference with the standard Holiday Inn.

The hotel is located near Temple of Heaven but it is quite inconvenient unless you are willing to take taxis to your destinations. The nearest subway - Taoranting Station is about 20 minutes away on foot. If you do reach the station, then you can reach many destinations in Beijing by cheap rail. Unlike many previous comments by others on the difficulty to get taxis to and from the hotel, I found it very easy to get one. Just stand by the main Nanwei Road side and wave to taxis passing by (Plenty of them). If they are empty, they will stop by. Tell him the destination and confirm that he is willing to use meter. Then get in and you are on your way to your destinations. My trip from Beijing airport to the hotel costed around RMB130 due to heavy traffic upon arrival. Trip to Happy Valley costed RMB38. You can also get the cab to send you to Taoranting station for RM10 (Minimum charge as you get on the cab).

There are set lunch and dinner available at the first floor restaurant costing RMB35 each with rice, meat, soup and fruits. Breakfast is very simple with western and oriental choice. There are some free internet terminals available at the restaurant for guests. However, guests enjoy free internet in the room via wifi or wired broadband. That's a plus point for the hotel apart from its cleanliness and very helpful and cheerful staff. However, they do not help to call for taxis.

There is a convenient store next to the hotel and you can get almost everything basic there except fresh fruits. There are ample food shops near the hotel. No worries about food!

There is a slot-machine laundry on level 3 for the guests.

Overall, it is a good choice if you do not mind about location.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms near the lifts. Some rooms are too far off with more than 4 turns to reach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CK_Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 989 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

The hotel itself is nice, clean and comfortable once there. I didn't have time for the breakfast as I had an early train to catch. The beds are a lot more comfortable than most Chinese beds and I live in China so I've slept on many hard beds in hotels. These beds are great! The tv is great but channel selection is to be execpted in a country like China. The location to the Temple of Heaven and TianAnMen is great as is the South Railway Station. (Very Close). The only downside is that taxi's can be difficult to get, although not impossible. The location is not well known by taxi's so have a mobile phone handy so you can call the hotel or at least have the phone # for the hotel handy so the taxi driver can call them for directly. However, when my driver called, he spoke Mandarin but the front desk worker spoke a local dialect he didn't understand. There is not hotel shuttle which was disappointing. But over all, I'll probably use this hotel again, especially if I plan to travel in and out of the South Railway Station. As for proximity to Metro station, it's not close. You have to take a taxi which will cost you about 11 RMB so not too bad.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sschirmer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Reached the hotel with a taxi from the Main Train Station, getting overnight on a standing-ticket from Shanghai. The taxi driver at first got confused with the locations and got us to the Holiday Inn in the neighborhood of Tample of Heaven. When we finally got to the correct hotel we were positivelly surprised with it, as we payed less than 300 CNY per night. The rooms are the standard HIE rooms you can find in china, with the semi-transparent glassy toilets, comfy beds and flat tv screens with a variety of international channels. The breakfast is simple, but yummy - i guess it was even better than the one in Shanghai HIE. The breakfast area and the reception area is nicely furnished. There were some issues with english language at the fornt desk. There are vending machines with drinks if you get thursty at night. We tried the local restaurants, the menus are in english and everything we tried was excellent. The subway is a bit fur away, on the first day we decided to walk through the Temple of Heaven Park(there's an entrance fee), on other days we would just use the taxi to reach the purple subway line.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Clean rooms, basic hotel but has everything you could possibly need, breakfast is average but most chinese hotels its the same. Nice staff good location

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COCONNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Contrary to expectations,the hotel was very easy to locate.cost us 125 yuan from Beijing Airport.Was always easy to get a cab at the hotel but very difficult to return at night.
Reception was very friendly but impossible to communicate in English.
Room was very spacious but,though in nonsmoking section,was smelling of cigarrettes.
Room was very clean and provided with coffee maker.Flat screen tv had CNN and HBO.
Bathrooms were well provided.Two bottles of water were provided.
Breakfast was sparse but well arranged.Free wifi internet was available in the area.
Location was within a walking distance of Temple of Heaven making morning walk a pleasure.tThere were no hazzles whilst checking out.

Room Tip: I suppose all rooms will smell of cigarrete smoke
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashokbhanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Had a lovely stay here. If you want a luxury hotel then this might not be your thing but if you're after a clean, well staffed hotel with a comfortable bed and decent powerful hot shower followed by a better than average breakfast the next morning you really can't go wrong here. Location is not bad either: you are about a 15 minute walk to Taoranting metro station and from there it costs 2 yuan (about 20 pence in UK currency) to go anywhere in Beijing. Loads to see in nearby central Beijing and the people there were so friendly and welcoming to tourists. Truly recommend both this hotel in particular and Beijing in general. A great exploring holiday if you like to travel around a bit and see lots of cool new stuff and loads of ancient historic monuments.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranklyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We were booked in this hotel through a land arrangement package tour, not realizing that it was far from most tourist attractions. As such, our group we're always the first to be picked up for the tour, and the last to be backed after the tour. Going to the downtown area like Wangfujing street took us more than 30 minutes because of the location and the traffic we had to pass through. Going back to the hotel is another downside because most of the taxis didn't know the hotel's location. But talking about the rooms and service, these, I could recommend, but not the food. We had the same breakfast the 4 days that we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weng845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,630 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,469 reviews
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#129 of 6,531 in Beijing
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven

Address: No.36 Nanwei Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100050, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $71 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. The hotel is strategically located in Beijing historic downtown, in the neighborhood of the Temple of Heaven Park and 10 minutes drive to the Tiannenmen Square, Forbidden City, National Grand Theater,WangfuJing Pedestrian and Qianmen Ancient Shopping Street. The hotel features 316 well appointed guest rooms functionally equipped with a 32 inch LCD television set, satellite and 35 cable channels including CNN, HBO, Phoenix and in-room safe.Guests are entitled free to wireless high-speed internet connection in-room or at any public area within the hotel and complimentary use of computers in the business center. More so, free breakfast is included. Other hotel facilities include a meeting room, unique concept Great Room F&B outlet, self-service laundry and ticketing vending machine. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven is a wise choice for business and leisure travelers alike who desire a new level of comfort at prices that make them smile from ear to ear.Hotel Address and Direction:--No.36 Nanwei Road, Xuanwu District, 100050 Beijing, P.R.C--Located at the Nanwei Road, on the opposite site of Tiantan Park West gate and 700m s drive West from the Tianqiao Department Store.From Beijng Capital Airport to HotelTake the airport transfer bus to Xi Dan or Fang Zhuang stop and get a cab to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing