We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, poor food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Ranked #100 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed April 25, 2013

As mentioned by other reviewers, the staff are outstanding at this hotel. They all greet you, get to know you and go out of their way for you.
The Chinese food is quite good, but all western dishes (including breakfast) is poor and expensive. I ordered a cheese and cracker tray in the lounge, no crackers or bread. I ordered a pizza room service, and it was doughy. I got to breakfast after 9am and as previously mentioned, there wasn't much food left.
Soft beds, which can be hard to come by in China, quiet, large rooms.
I was disappointed that there is smoking allowed by the elevators.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun. We are more than happy to learn your compliments towards our staff and service, which will certainly serve as a motivator for other colleagues. However, your feedback related to breakfast and poor western food has been noted, and is presently being addressed. We continuously strive to improve our service and product quality, but unfortunately things get out of control occasionally. Look forward to welcoming you back to witness our improved efforts.

Kind regards,

Damir Raab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 469 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Chose this location due to its relative proximity to Peking University and around 5 mins walk to the nearest mrt station-Haidianhuangzhuang station on line 10 subway. The hotel lobby is spacious and grand, the staff are very friendly, helpful and patient. My room was extremely cold the first night (I subsequently discovered that the window was left open). I rang up the service counter and 3 staff (including 2 technicians) showed up promptly to help me adjust the air con setting. They even came back with a portable heater. I am very pleased with the service provided. The room and toilet are very spacious. Some points for improvement with breakfast spread though. Food needs to be replace more frequently. Overall, I am very pleased with the stay and would choose to come back here if I have business commitments in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe_Lye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Deepest gratitude for sharing your experience on this platform, and thank you for staying with us at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun. As your kind suggestions on breakfast buffet refill, I will address this issue with our Food & Beverage team. We hope to welcome you back very soon, and meanwhile wish you happy traveling.

Kind regards,

Damir Raab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights while on business. The lobby is spacious, the bar comfy and the rooms are well appointed.

The pool was fantastic, and I spent a great deal of time there. As pointed out in other TA reviews, the subway is close by, and a restaurant formerly used to receive Heads of State is just across the road.

Because you're in Haidian District, don't expect to do much shopping or sightseeing. That being said, there are plenty of taxis and the street vendor food is abundant. The problem is not the hotel, it's the city as a whole. I think of Beijing as 3 Torontos in one, that is, if you can imagine every major and non-major artery being as congested as the 401, that would describe Beijing in a nutshell!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrocker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Sincere thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun for your recent stay in Beijing and truly appreciate taking your precious time to complete Tripadvisor’s on-line posting. Haidian is certainly a vast district with Summer Palace in the West and Olympic Park in the East. Taxis are available, though as elsewhere in Beijing, difficult to get during peak time, where we therefore recommend making bookings ahead with our concierge.
We do look forward to welcoming you very soon again to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Damir Raab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that the location is not great for a tourist. It is almost a 45 minute metro ride to the Wangfujing area (Forbidden city). I had some work in this area so the location worked well. Get hotels in the Wangfujing area if you are a tourist.

I had an upgrade to the Crowne Plaza club (get the upgrade its worth it). Breakfast included (which is usually 160 rmb); 100 rmb worth of laundry everyday; free internet and access to club lounge. Club lounge serves free drinks and appetizers everyday from 5 to 7 p.m. They also have a breakfast bar for free but I did not use it.

Front desk and concierge are not fluent in english but make every effort to help you. Everyone has a smile starting from the doorman to the cleaning lady. The metro station is less than a 5 minute walk and there are 3 or 4 malls in a 10 to 15 minute walking range. My suggestions would be din tai fung (dumpling house), south beauty (sichuan style), charme (hong kong style) among others. There is also a McDonald's, Pizza Hut, sushi place among a host of other choices. The hotel has three restaurants but I did not like any of them. Moreover they are expensive compared to the options available in a walkable distance.

I would definitely stay here if i had to go back to this area. Breakfast buffet has a wide spread but the food was almost over when I got there a couple of times between 9 and 9:30 a.m. My suggestion would be get there early or order room service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank What-next78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback on this great platform and for your kind suggestions on breakfast buffet refill, which I have addressed with my kitchen management team. Besides being able to enjoy our American Breakfast Buffet from 06:30 am to 10:30 am, we offer Room Service or Club Lounge breakfast as alternative for Club Floor guests. On our journey to continuously improve guest experiences, your kind comments will go a long way help our team to delight our guests. Wishing you happy travels, and do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon again.
Sincerely,
Damir Raab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

That just sums it up. Average. Food is average. Service is average. Cleanliness is average. Rooms were probably nice as some stage but now dated.

Its all average and but not impressive.

Unless you are working in this part of town, find somewhere better for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElusiveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest, ,

Sincere thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun for your recent stay in Beijing and truly appreciate taking your precious time to post the online feedback. We know that a great hotel always endeavors to improve its service, and with this in mind we greatly appreciate your feedback.

I am truly sorry to learn about your average experience with our food, services and hygiene, which is certainly un-acceptable and does not meet our five star hotel standards. I have seriously reviewed the issues with our management team, who has taken necessary steps to ensure we offer our guests better service and circumstance in future.

Meanwhile, I do hope you will honor us with your visit soon again.

Your’s faithfully,
Damir Raab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a very pleasant and comfortable stay . I would definitely stay again. Nice Spacious and clean rooms. Good selection of breakfast. The staff were very friendly. Most of them can speak in English and this was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreyas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed there in deep cold winter and the room keep warm all the time, its great, Room is in usual crowne plaza style as expected. However, the bathroom is not in good design, the shower area is always leaking out water when finished, which made the floor slipper. On the other hand, the water is not hot enough and every time I need to ring the reception to solve the problem. The location is not too bad, 3 mins walk to the closest metro station, it is not in the central area though.
Front desk is helpful and willing to do some extra do customer, although its still no smile.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, and your recommendations on your most recent experience within Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun. I may take this opportunity to apologize for the lack of hot water and leaking in shower area over the Spring Festival period, which we have addressed with our management team. Your comments will surely be our focus for improving our cherished guests well-being and to ensure, this situation does not re-occur again. Our guest rooms have a minimum size of 45m2 and the spacious day-light bathroom are all fit with bath tubs, shower room, WC and large vanity counter. We have added wooden floor panels to a majority of the shower rooms already, for guest’s comfort and safety.
Thank you once again, and may I wish you joyful traveling.
Best regards,
Damir Raab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Zhongguancun
ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Zhongguancun
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
#440 of 6,531 in Beijing
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#72 of 6,531 in Beijing
232 reviews
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#171 of 6,531 in Beijing
187 reviews
Wudaokou
Vision Hotel
Vision Hotel
#145 of 6,531 in Beijing
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun

Address: No.106 Zhichun Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100086, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Beijing
#90 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#123 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $114 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun is surrounded by the universities and technology companies of Haidian, Beijing's intellectual and scientific hub. We're 10 minutes' drive from the Shangdi IT district and the imperial grounds of Peking University and Tsinghua University. You're 40 minutes' drive from Beijing Capital International Airport and a 3-minute stroll from Haidianhuangzhuang subway station for swift city-centre access.Our versatile meeting rooms host conferences, multimedia presentations and shimmering social events. Finalise the deal in a private dining room at Rouge Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Zhongguancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing